In Nightmare House 2 you wake up inside an abandoned hospital with no understanding of how you came to be there, only a vague memory of the girl from Nightmare House haunts you. Soon it will be difficult to determine between a dream and reality. How long will it take you to realize that escape is not an option?

Review RSS Feed Lon-nah says
7 Lon-nah

Nov 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The game it-self showed some good design and perception to design, but the narrative of the production is loose... at best. Showing nothing but typical, simplistic and very common scare tactics through environment design, it really sucked the atmosphere out of the 'quite-good' level design. The ending was abrupt and put a real cap on the series, but summing things-up in a such a dull way is just redundant.

Design is, like I said, okay, but then when you examine the logistics; like how the models are all community submissions (Not a problem, just badly fitting choices) and such, denses it-all-out.

7/10 for the well made environments, good voice acting and rather well-made implementations, like the dummies.

jimmynunchucks says
7 jimmynunchucks

May 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very awesome mod! Extremely well designed. Great story and characters, my favorite was the squad leader that you run into about a third of the way through the game, he was badass!

1 of the criticisms I have was that NH2 seemed to copy some events from Silent Hill 3, but that's only during 1 part during the mod.

Aside from that the game was pretty spooky at times, a quality that I value in my games.

kellyX says
7 kellyX

Mar 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

scary

LpSamuelm says
7 LpSamuelm

Apr 10th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Nightmare House 2 is quite good for a mod. I haven't played many mods myself, so don't take my word for it - it's probably best to try out yourself.

The story is quite clich├ęd, with a few original spice-ups, but that's completely okay because it still manages to engross you by being very atmospheric, with ambient music and noises that build tension. The mod isn't terribly hard, and will probably take you ~2 hours to complete, but for the price of $0 it's great value!

The only thing Nightmare House 2 is severly lacking in is voice acting. The voices that actually exist in the game are pretty terribly made, with voice actors all too apparently faking emotions and sounding like they've got something stuck in their throats. This derails the whole immersion a bit, but not too much.

If you've got a few hours to spare, you aren't incredibly sensitive to jumpscares and you own Half-Life 2: Episode 2, I recommend you give this a go and see if you like it!

Smiley_Riley says
7 Smiley_Riley

Jun 25th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

The exaggerated headbobbing and constant flashing lights is what kills this mod for me; I can't play for over 5 minutes without getting extremely sick...

BlazeHedgehog says
7 BlazeHedgehog

Aug 24th, 2010 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

The original Nightmare House was an unexpected treat, for me. Set in a claustrophobic, filthy little house in the woods, I found myself genuinely spooked by the events that took place inside. You really got a sense of oppression in its cramped walls - without much space to move around, you often found yourself uncomfortably close to whatever horrible monsters you had to battle. The final message of Nightmare House as one completed was one of hopelessness. You cannot escape. You cannot win.

Rather than end it there and let that chilling message stand on its own, Nightmare House 2 would rather use it to tell us a story. It also wants to try and scare us in doing so, but doesn't do the best job.

The opening remastered edition of NH1 now deals in cliche ghost girls with too much eyeshadow. Dopey bullet time sequences are apparently meant to heighten the fright factor, but instead end up telegraphing scares too blatantly - much like F.E.A.R., the game they're borrowed from. The rest of the NH1 remake quickly sets the tone for what's to follow: you better be afraid of deep bass stingers and unpredictable objects leaping out at you, because that's pretty much where the scares in Nightmare House 2 begin and end.

NH2 properly opens in a hospital, where we're forced to endure blood-stained ramshackle rooms, and lumbering zombies. Spring-loaded boogey men attempt to shock us, but only manage to do so in fleeting doses. Occasionally, NH2 happens on something genuinely scary - there are some really creative mapping tricks employed to screw with your head. But mainly, it's the creators yelling "Gotcha!" every time you jump at one of their funhouse scares.

That's not to say it isn't fun, however. There's a surprising amount of variety to be had in Nightmare House 2, and even if it's not really very scary, there's plenty of action and puzzle solving to keep you occupied until the credits roll. In the end, it may be more Resident Evil than Silent Hill, but who's complaining?

Sondre says
7 Sondre

Nov 24th, 2010 1 person agrees 8 people don't

Great mod, but the ending is absolutely horrible in my opinion. I could explain further, but then I would spoil the end for everyone ;D

Overall I like the horror elements. Some of the effects is just great. However, at some points it can get very boring and repetitive (tossing flares around ventilation shafts isn't very fun after 30 minutes). As well as some resemblance to F.E.A.R. and Condemned is not avoidable. The hallway where the roof turns to blood like in FEAR and the mannequin scenes (Condemned) is a little to alike the mentioned games. The level design has not evolved anything from NH1, where the corridors often feels the same. I miss the variation in gameplay, but I can blame Valve's Source Engine for that.

Overall a good mod, however with minor flaws, I could easily recommend to my friends.

SilentEcho1247 says
7 SilentEcho1247

May 29th, 2014

No review provided

Srakazdupy says
7 Srakazdupy

Jan 15th, 2014

No review provided

OffyGhost says
7 OffyGhost

Jun 18th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.5

1649 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.