You are an administration assistant working for a courier company called 'Parcel Passages' in their High-rise headquarters office building. One night you discover terrorists have entered the building and are working their way up to your location, you then begin a desperate race to stop the terrorists and save the other employees before it is too late Night at the office will feature:- - Many individual characters, newly modelled and skinned - A constantly expanding storyline - Multiple routes to follow - New weapons - Detailed environments - 3 game endings - Bonus Material Night at the office is now available to download.

Review RSS Feed DaveW says
10 DaveW

Feb 5th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod, I thought the constant health mechanic was interesting.

Max76 says
10 Max76

Jan 2nd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Very good , thrilling and immersive even though it's in the Goldsource engine . Everyone should try it !

gaston995 says
10 gaston995

Jul 8th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

I played this mod a long time ago, and it was great, despite of the old engine or graphics, i'm thinking about downloading it again. :D

Dredile says
10 Dredile

Jul 4th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Enjoyable mod :) really love the pacing and tense mood that it gives off. I just wish it was longer :D

amazingcomedy says
9 amazingcomedy

Jun 20th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A good mod. Good story, great mapping, and voice acting that's so bad, it's good ;).
I'd love to make a Source version of this.

X-LAyer2 says
8 X-LAyer2

May 1st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

One of the very first mods I ever played, good times.

VenomousBeetle says
8 VenomousBeetle

Apr 26th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A legitimate and fun mod, good story. 3 different endings.

Elitesse says
9 Elitesse

Oct 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice mod, full of new interesting ideas for a fresh gameplay experience! I liked the mapping and the theme of this mod, you are working in a big city (the skybox is great, full of skyscrapers everywhere) and you must defend yourself during a terrorist attack while working during night. The mod has lots of interesting characters to play with, including a friendly security guard that will help you in your adventure. You have a new type of flashlight, now it's an hand-held device, not the old Half-Life flashlight. You must select it from your inventory and then press the "fire" button to turn it on. A fire axe is your new melee weapon, one pistol taken from dead security guards and you have two new firearms stolen from the hands of terrorists. You can pick up items from the floor like radios or keys! The mod includes two different endings and I really liked the extras, especially the police report. At the end, you can also watch the news at the television about the bombing of the building! The mod has realistic damage, you don't have any medkit and because of this you must try to take as little damage as possible. You can sneak behind enemies, and your weapons don't have ironsights, you must try to aim and fire in short bursts because the weapons can get an high recoil if you spray everywhere. The new ammo management system is also different, You get a few bullets from your dead enemies, not full clips like in Half-Life anymore. You can find 22 bullets on an enemy, of only 2 bullets. Ammo management is also important. Voice acting was a little funny but it does the job. My only complaint are the badly modeled characters, they look weird and not very realistic. But overall, this is a very nice mod, play it!

Morelianos_attacks says
4 Morelianos_attacks

Jul 20th, 2014 0 people agree 3 people don't

The well made mod's menu raised my expectations. However, when I started to play the mod (if you really want to understand story, it's better start with the training room), reality was completely different. Modelling is crappy, as much for people as for weapons. Some of them are not original, but if they are they look horrible.

Although are original and some of them are worse than another, they don't reach a decent level. Gameplay also isn't exceptional, because in many parts there is a high chance that you can't continue the playing without cheats. In some way, mod force you to follow a specific path, but you realize that when you screwed it up several times before (if you aren't too curious, this may not be a problem).

Voice acting is lousy. Sometimes budget for making mods can be a problem, but this is no excuse for this homemade voices. At times I couldn't understand what they said because of the accent or because was not well modulated. I'm sure you'll agree that terrorists voices don't scare or remind a tense situation. They are just plain bad.

Story wasn't really solid. You engage it just for pure coincidence if you understand everything they say, but even when that occurs, voice acting ruins every potential of making the story thrilling.

However, not everything is horrible. Although is very short, the artificial way of making it long with a 16-floor building to explore as you please gives it the enough length. At times, terrorists spawns surprised more that once, which was really scary. Also, AI is not really terrible, specially in hard difficulty.

In sum, Night at the Office is a barely decent mod if you want to kill time, but I wouldn't pick it as a must-play mod in HL because it lacks many things to be a decent mod.

occupier says
10 occupier

Jun 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

There are different routes and endings. Also it ofers enough playtime. AI has problems but it doesnt effect game experience.

Community Rating

Average

8.3

97 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.