The true method of knowledge is experiment. So, strapped to the underside of a stolen Combine helicopter, you're part of my latest scientific investigation. Objective: To infiltrate and observe this peculiar little island a few miles off shore, its heart burrowed out by our ever-loving benefactors...

Review RSS Feed TheUnbeholden says
9 TheUnbeholden

Nov 28th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Its a improvement over Half-Life 2. That in its self says alot about the mod.
Its got more of a story, its got better visuals (that has a more eerie atmosphere which HL2 should have done to its combine bases), its harder (YES!!), and it has perhaps the best level design out of the HL2 mods I've played so far. Its got beaches which I was sort of mystified by. Its got its own soundtrack, its got a actual ending that leaves you satisfied.
Its also got a long length for a mod. You know its a labor of love when its had work done on every aspect of its design. The only thing it misses is voice acting but its always a hit and miss with that sort of thing.

markic92 says
9 markic92

Mar 4th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod! I recommend!

Omnomnick says
9 Omnomnick

Jun 26th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

ValveTime Video Review available at the link below.

Youtube.com

Theevina says
9 Theevina

May 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I was harsh on this mod the first time because I don't think I understood it. Then with the Steam release I tried it again with much better results.

This game is the very definition of action, laid out over several humongous citadel-like maps with amazing complexity and detail. Every step proves to be a challenge in combat and puzzle solving, but nevertheless extremely fun and immersive.

The story is actually pretty interesting and I paid close attention to it, hiding from the enemy sometimes just to read the text.

The work is amazing, especially considering there's practically no custom textures/models/sounds to awe the player and distract them from the original Half-Life 2 atmosphere.

Overall, MINERVA is a very good gaming experience.

Parad0x_33 says
9 Parad0x_33

Feb 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very well made!

wedjeus says
9 wedjeus

Jan 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Wow ! This mod is amazing ! really professionnal job !
great story, great scripting...
I only regret that speeches appears on screen when you are in fights, and you don't always have time to read it, especially when you're not english !
but the work done on this mod is just amazing !
I loved it !

timebandit11 says
9 timebandit11

Jun 21st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best pure HL2 mods out there. Good luck with EP3!

Rus[T] says
9 Rus[T]

Jun 17th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

The Minerva series, and Someplace Else, are one of the best executed mods I have ever played. The level design of Minerva is spot on and the gameplay very fluid. The mysterious story also kept me playing. If you are going to play a HL2 mod, this one should be high on your list!

Silverbane says
9 Silverbane

Feb 15th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing.

What, you expected a detailed review? What madness has claimed you, heathen?

TheSniperFan says
9 TheSniperFan

Nov 26th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best mods I have ever played. It does it the "Half-Life-way" by having the tense fights separated by calm parts in which you can explore the impressive levels. The story, while told in a stupid way (only on-screen-texts), really dragged me in. The level design was not only beautiful, but also gave me a nice degree of freedom. Yeah, I got lost quite a few times, but that made it even better, because it was somehow realistic, as neither you nor your "partner" knew what was waiting for you down there. The fights were also quite realistic. And by realistic I mean hard (considering it is you against an army). The aesthetics of this mod are damn impressive in a "Portal 2 or BioShock-way". While not being the most detailed, they fit the scenery perfectly.
It's just a must-play-mod, nothing more!

Community Rating

Average

9.5

1253 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.