The Maelstrom Mod introduces three new races to the Sins of a Solar Empire Universe. They are independent of the original races and have unique strengths and weaknesses. Maelstrom is available Rebellion, Diplomacy, Entrenchment and Original Sins.

Review RSS Feed GilgameshMa says
9 GilgameshMa

Jan 10th, 2011 8 people agree 2 people don't

An excellent mod, I had fun playing it. The only issue I had was the unbalance the replicas had late game, they where fun to play with early game, but when I had everything researched, they where unstoppable. It ruined the fun I had watching battles, I always won, t was like, "Ok, its like on to the next planet, oh they have a huge fleet. But, wait so do I, and my ships just wipe the other fleet, without losing one of my ships. I have the feeling like, I know I'm going to win this next fight, so why do I continue playing if I know I'm going to win, I lose the fun of the risk of an even battle.

Did I just rant???

ANTMAN117 says
9 ANTMAN117

Feb 6th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Brilliant game and a fresh mod to add to the collection for any Sins lover

Galudirithon says
9 Galudirithon

Nov 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Brilliant integration of new factions and new ships. Each faction is actually unique across the board and the original factions have a fresh feel. Some of the models could be a bit sharper but that is literally one or two and many are excellent. I think the Damocles is an unbelievably awesome unit and would play this mod for that ship alone! Outside of Star Wars mods (personal preference) I think this is the best SoaSE Rebellion mod going and I have tried quite a few.

willyTHERAVEGER says
9 willyTHERAVEGER

Jul 6th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

this mod adds a whole lot and i mean a Hole lot of diversity to the gameplay concidering the new races and not to mention the new planet types that make me.. yeah, im not gonna go there

but i have given this mod a 9/10 because i found out the hard way that it has a tendancy to just rage quit on its own and put you at the desktop and youre left asking WTF?! was that! MY GAME!! NOOO!!!.
other than that, it would have gotten a 10/10 from me

h199greg says
9 h199greg

May 19th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

balancing issues is all

Kaonis says
9 Kaonis

May 18th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best mod for SoaSE, the Trade Alliance is just fantastic!

VeniVdVici says
9 VeniVdVici

May 6th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good. There are a lot of great new features etc, but the balance could use a little help.

D3@DM4N says
9 D3@DM4N

Dec 8th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great game, while the balance issues have been announced my only issue was with the map designer and planets. I like sins because of this realism it captures, im just hoping with my Astronomy i could lend a hand to the realism of this mod.

My suggestions? Stars have different effects, black holes, white dwarfs, etc. have a gravitational pull so strong you need certain research to pass by them safely. (black holes you can research to make it so your ships can randomly jump anywhere in the solar system(s).

Volatile Stars continuously damage ships.

Pulsar and Neutron Stars Randomly destroy ships.

Magnetar Stars disable shields (or put weapons offline) if thats possible.

Ancient worlds, id like to see a little tweaking, Im not sure if your pulling this material out of imagination or if this is all lore based but its almost a flat ripoff of halo. If its lore based i wont say a word further but if this is just pulling from other sci-fi to fill space then id go back to the drawing board on this one.

A big complaint i always have in these games are Terrestrial planets (ie: venus, mercury, mars) that have moons. I know earth is the model planet, but actually its INCREDIBLY rare to have a terrestrial planet with moons. Earths moon is an anomaly, were lucky we have one, and even more lucky its not going to collide with us. Also terrestrial planets with rings are incredibly rare. An inhabited world (life, ice caps, water, etc.) with a ring is near impossible.

Legendary planets i had a feeling just looked like a harder crunchier sort of surface there too rounded and the planet just seems like a big lumpy space ball than really LEGENDARY >:D

The Dyson equipment looks too trek id aim for the similar style of the ancients style worlds. Also add Broken Dyson Spheres. (maybe add technology to have empire made ones to, like not solar system sized ones but just a planet sized one)

one last note, no Terra Nova's!! make it optional please! they pollute random maps. Than

AKICITA says
9 AKICITA

Jul 29th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

I absolutely love this Mod! Enormous gratitude to all those involved in creating this epic experience!
I have a couple of minor issues with the late game virtually unbeatable Replicators, (Pirates.... errrr, hurry n KILL 'EM QUICK!!)and endless Dreadnaughts, and its the only reason this mod doesn't get a full 10.... and beleive me, I had to be very stern with myself to not give it a 10 anyway!
I guess it all boils down to how you play. I like to use the map creator to make small to mid-sized maps, multiple random star systems w random planets/ number of planets, so that I can use the same basic map to get a wide variety of strategic approaches. Also, I like to include one of each race, setting at random hard/unfair, & have a set 9 of maps from very small to large so that I can play them in sequence... Campaign style.
HUGE props to the creators for an awesome backstory, truly interesting and unique races, and fantastic ship designs and abilities, that give us the oppurtunity to use a real variety of strategies to defeat each race.
Again, thank you so much for all of your hard work, dedication, and imagination!

(Vanilla Sins? YEESH! Haven't played the vanilla in AGES, lmao!)

LordEmpireMax says
9 LordEmpireMax

Jul 22nd, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.5

305 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.