Lost Alpha is a new episode of the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series made by dezowave group for free!

Review RSS Feed KamikaZzeRu says
1 KamikaZzeRu

May 22nd, 2014 43 people agree 15 people don't

Damn, guys, I really don't know what to say. With full access to game sources, seven years of development, lots of good developers, agressive marketing everythere and users donations, you made the ultimate S.T.A.L.K.E.R disappointment EVER

First of all, it's buggy as hell. Everything what can be broken is broken, what can be spoiled is spoiled. Whom the hell are you allowed to make changes in game engine? This is awful, you've even somehow manage to broke the NPC's combat AI. It's now absolutely braindead, even in the original game it was so bad so I written myself a full-scale standalone scripted combat AI for OGSE 0693, but your is even worse than in original game. You managed to step on a rakes even in game's dangers recognition and NPC states manager, which problems are well known and documented by many dev's including myself.

Second, you heavily oversized the locations. There are absolutely nothing to do on them, yes, i know, users wanted a bigger locations, but not so big ones.

Third, the plot is awful. Illuminati in my S.T.A.L.K.E.R? You must be kidding. Who wrote the plot, an UFO freak? You don't mistaken the game you modding? It's S.T.A.L.K.E.R not DeusEx, you know.

Fourth, gameplay features are bleak. Really bleak. You really think a PC with tetris game at barmen's room can add some joy to the game? If you really wanted to do this, you must add at least a hacking minigame to this. All this things you added was interesting 4-5 years ago, not now.

Last and worst - guys, what is so special about leaked build? Are you some A+ game gevelopers or someone? We have some builds leaked then we was in process of making OGSE 0692, and just warned the users what leaked build are unfinished, unacceptable by our standarts, and by distributing and playing it they will spoil their own enjoyment from game and mod, and we wouldn't provide any technical support or feedback on this build. And then we just continued ours work. And everything went fine in result.

Brca95 says
1 Brca95

May 4th, 2014 28 people agree 9 people don't

So meny CTDs, bugs and other ****, that it's almost unplayable. Also AI is broken, and the game is unoptimized. I think that it's almost unstable as build 1935, hell, stalkersoup is more stable than this. The overall gameplay is not bad, but somehow the Zone seems dead to me and it needs a lot of work. For 7-8 years of work, I expected much more than this. I thought there will be bugs (It's Stalker) but not this game-breaking diarrhea. Looks like the game hasn't been tested at all. Some obvious bugs in main story are not removed (dunno how they missed them), and the game cannot be completed because of that, despite the Dez's statement that the game is gonna at least be completable.
All in all, I'm just waiting till summer for some more patches and fixes and hope it'll be better then, I suggest everyone else to do the same, to avoid stress because of crashes and bugs.

That_Gal says
1 That_Gal

May 8th, 2014 21 people agree 8 people don't

Lost Alpha is a very impressive map pack. Oh wait...it's supposed to be a game and not just a map pack? Oh well in that case it's nothing other than a walking simulator with lots of bugs and comically bad cutscenes.

pierreviper61 says
1 pierreviper61

May 24th, 2014 16 people agree 6 people don't

Unfortunately the result is not up to expectations ...
Beautiful maps ... but completely empty ...
Non-existence of the story ...
IA ridiculous ...
Bugs and Crash ....
Really boring ...
Unplayable ... and I think it will be unplayable ... despite the patches ...
Maybe it should be revised in the entire graphics engine ...
But perhaps in this GSA did not agree ...
Rating ... zero ...!

TH3GHOST says
1 TH3GHOST

May 23rd, 2014 9 people agree 2 people don't

FULL, Full, Full , pleinty of crashes !
Also where is the "gamedata" folder ?

Orszag says
1 Orszag

May 8th, 2014 6 people agree 3 people don't

The main reason I give a 1 for the LA, is the aggressiveness of the dev team & co. They, along with their fanboys cannot accept any kind of criticism, and see down from a Parnassus of their own.

Another funny thing is, that their main defence against any criticism is repeating the 'it's free' mantra, not counting, that they were planning to release the game in a short time for real money. The convenient 'leak' just came in time, when GSC probably refused to accept their mock of STALKER.

The lesser part consists of minor things:

- Terrible story.
- Retarded AI.
- Retarded, unskippable cutscenes.
- Terrible voice acting in most cases.
- Annoying soundscape.
- Cheap way of extending the gameplay (strolling through nothing for the 20th time).
- BUGS. Even if they try to iron out them.
- Dumbed down in many ways.

- Unbalanced.

I have to mention positive experiences too, like the extensive world, thus providing great possibilities for future modding. It's a shame, that the other aspects couldn't reach up to the game's level design.

fandub51 says
1 fandub51

Jul 25th, 2014 5 people agree 3 people don't

Bad voice acting, ****** story and bugs everywhere

sven_hassel says
1 sven_hassel

Jul 29th, 2014 6 people agree 4 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

what a **** hole

dufake says
1 dufake

May 6th, 2014 2 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

It's full of bugs and awful writings. It took seven years to deliver a unfinished alpha build. Maps are good, but all is ruined by poor quests. There are a lot of better mods out there, but not this.

solarairhead says
1 solarairhead

Dec 10th, 2014 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

I gave it a 1 because I can't run it. I can't play it. I can't get it to work. And there is absolutely no help coming from these people or anyone. I asked and waited and nothing. I was completely ignored. I am really disappointed these people can't release a game that actually work.

Community Rating

Average

8.8

1280 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.