Life’s End is a Half-Life 1 mod I released in 2005. I’ve made this page for it now because some one else tried to take credit for my creation, and I want it clear that I am the guy behind it. Thanks to all those who stood up for me! Life’s End was my first release and quite a learning experience. It looks a little crude, and I’ve improved a hundredfold since then, but I’m still immensely proud of it ;-) In Life’s End you play as Luther Johnson, late to work on what will be the worst day of your life - because Luther works at Black Mesa. And it’s the day Gordon Freeman’s experiment goes wrong… You’ll visit new and familiar areas of Black Mesa, and go far beyond.

RSS feed Wolfer255 says
10 Wolfer255

Aug 26th, 2012 6 people agree 0 people don't

It's always nice to see a perfect mod out there. And this is one of them.
There is absolutely nothing wrong with it.

The game has its own new character, set during the incident at black mesa. It's fun to see G-Man and Gordon Freeman pop-up in the story once in a while. And the story has a nice twist in the end.

The fighting is nice and balanced. The maps are easy to navigate and not too big and maze-like. The puzzles are simple and not to difficult (usually it's just a 'go fetch this' quest).

The game has some hilarious moments, caused by "gas-induced hallucinations", a wonderful parody on Star Trek and a good sense of humor overall.

The game is a bit on the short side, maybe 3-4 hours. But I feel it's the perfect length for this mod, if it were longer it would've dragged itself on with more random locations. If it were shorter the story would have been wrapped up to fast.

The AI works great, well as great as it can get with half life, there's still the one or two AI resets but it's not much of a problem.

Overall this mod works perfectly in what it does, it's still a simple expansion to the half-life universe and not some complicated overhaul which is bound to give problems.

But for what it is, this mod is an excellent choice to play if you want more of half-life, a good campaign or just a good laugh. 10/10 no doubt.

briggswag says
10 briggswag

Feb 15th, 2012 5 people agree 0 people don't

Lengthy and has excellent mapping

I_am_skum says
10 I_am_skum

Jan 9th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Utterly fantastic in every way. I have played at least a hundred other HL1 mods and, in IMO, this is the best one by far. Can't wait for the sequel.

DarkShift says
10 DarkShift

Aug 22nd, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Insane mod.

DT says
10 DT

Aug 12th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

This was the first mod I've ever played, and the best one I've played. This is just simply amazing, everything about it. It's very original and contains a lot of humor. I love it and would recommend it to anybody that plays Half-Life. The idea of Luther Johnson is very creative. The storyline is well executed in this mod. It's just an overall awesome mod. Play it NOW.

poshgaloo says
10 poshgaloo

Jun 1st, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing mod! One of the very first mods that i played.
Amazing moments! (Not gonna spoil)
Funny moments!
Great level design!
Overall, a great mod!

Alberto309 says
10 Alberto309

May 28th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod! I have downloaded it every time I change my computer! :P

Keep it up! :D

Captain_Hell_Knight says
10 Captain_Hell_Knight

Aug 14th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very well-made mod, I say.


Oct 6th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Out of all the mods I've played For Half-Life and it's expansions..Many I still play to this day, One of them is Life's End.

In Life's End, You play as a scientist named Luther Johnson who is lazy and very unexcited about work. After being fired, The Black Mesa Incident happens and you must escape from the research complex.

Life's End brings some concepts never seen in mods before like Halucination Scenes, Plot twists, Collectable Items, and scripted executions
(from Half-Life Uplink).

The mapping is absolutely stunning and it makes the mod feel alive, The Mod also introduces new kinds of terrain like Multi-story buildings and New unseen parts of the Black Mesa Research Complex.

BombAstic234 says
10 BombAstic234

Apr 14th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

A perfect mod to be honest. It's long, unlike most mods, and has quite the creativity :) That's what makes this mod shine upon the rest. Can't wait for that Sequel tho :P A 10/10 from me.

Community Rating



152 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.