Lambda Wars (formerly Half-Life 2: Wars) brings the struggle between the human resistance and their Combine overlords to a multiplayer real-time strategy setting. The Lambda Wars beta only requires Alien Swarm installed to play. It features 3 multiplayer game modes: Sandbox, Annihilation and Overrun, showcasing the Rebels and Combine playable factions and a full-fledged RTS interface and HUD. There is also a singleplayer tutorial and a handful of singleplayer missions.

Review RSS Feed Stuntcrab says
9 Stuntcrab

Dec 10th, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

Its a great mod, the entire mod is perfect, its like its own game. I can't imagine how you ever did this.

Firesprayer says
9 Firesprayer

Nov 27th, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

Good game overall, can use touch ups but since it is in a very old beta phase. I can't judge much.

captainsimo says
9 captainsimo

Mar 26th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Pretty good game! :)

JK4ever says
9 JK4ever

Jun 9th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Excellent concept for a mod and pretty well succesful. Half-life as a RTS game, who wouldn't love to try that?

StrangerDanger says
9 StrangerDanger

Aug 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Played Beta 2.3.6 The game has come a long way. The units control very well. The abilities are really cool and are authentic to Half Life. The units are fun to use, the resource system is not too bad either.

Reborn:X says
9 Reborn:X

May 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Long time ago I wanted to play this mod but it required EP2 and I couldn't be bothered to buy it just for one mod. So here is my review now:

Lambda Wars turns the HL2 into something completely and terribly new, an fully fledged RTS game and it does it just right. There are plenty of maps for a starter, the SP part of the mod is dead, there's only 1 functional SP map that is more of a test than a mission and there's 1 map named "sp_radio" that appears to be heavily unfinished. The gameplay is solid apart from some bugs and spelling mistakes. Both the Combine Overwatch forces and the general rebels factions and well done but IMO are too much artifically balanced. The Combine recieves all the hardware and manpower it did in the SP story of Half-Life 2. You have the infamous Metropolice aswell as the Strider combat vehicles. Overall nearly all of the units are taken from the game and redone in the RTS fashion. The structures looks are solid and believeable especially the rebels.

What bothers me is how Lambda Wars somewhat fails to grip the story, the functions and the purpose of the war featured in HL2. The Combine ground forces are named "Combine Occupation Force" which is kind of silly. "Combine Overwatch" would be a lot better in their terminology. Metropolice and incorrectly labeled as light infantry even though the unit description states before they are volunteer police-like units. Light infantry is something different if you are looking at through the military eyes. The texts in the game could have more drama and the Combine could be portrayed as more souless and defiant as it was in HL2. Overall, this is a solid RTS mod that is somewhat stale is the background story. I wish the Combine APC would appear later on perhaps as a transport vehicle, if possible.

Looking forward to the next update and hoping they will be a taunting feature so a player could play some iconic Overwatch PA sounds during matches.

ataefeakgunlu says
9 ataefeakgunlu

Dec 7th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

I think this mod will be great

The_Psycho says
9 The_Psycho

Nov 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great game, but there isn't any server online.

shadowseeker21 says
9 shadowseeker21

Sep 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A very good mod. But the HL2EP2 content should be packaged with it.

You can pack the Episode 2 content legally, as it does not trigger anything with the VAC, nor' does it allow you to illegally play HL2EP2 or its conterparts Episode one and Half-Life 2.

dachi12 says
9 dachi12

Aug 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I rate this 9 because when you click on soldier he says: "Hey,doc" "Doctor Freeman"

Community Rating

Average

9.3

1166 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.