Explore the world and unravel the past. Keys tells of islands, painters, and pilots.

Review RSS Feed Dreadmask says
8 Dreadmask

Jul 3rd, 2014 4 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is great for people who like exploration/story-driven games like Dear Esther. I didn't really understand the story that well, but I felt that was the point-the developers did a good job at giving an ambiguous plot that could be translated by players to suit their own emotions and so they could find their own meanings. The music is superb and although the puzzles aren't particularly difficult, they do get the old grey matter working a little bit. I feel that the mod could benefit from voice-acting.
Overall, 8/10 for pretty water effects, a great experience and excellent score.
(P.S. the real 'keys' is still car-poral keys :D )

commander90671 says
10 commander90671

Jul 5th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It was such a interesting experience. I had NEVER played anything like that before.

brutaldeluxe says
8 brutaldeluxe

Aug 28th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's affective -- More so than a lot of the games today claim to be.

HLWATCHER says
8 HLWATCHER

Jul 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I have to recognize I’m not a big fan of artsy mods indeed. But in this one in some areas visuals just were delightful just very immersive I say. For example, the very first part on that weird island, remember me to the all time sadistic mod classic Half Quake Sunrise, and got me thinking why on earth nobody haven’t developed a Half Quake mod for source engine??????? If it may be very good.

Obviously this mod it has nothing to do with any concept of the Half Quake Saga. and here the basic gameplay is developed around puzzle solving, where the one involving a car battery is if we can say, the hardest of all in there.

Now I really didn’t get the plot or story inside the mod, and I really don’t know if it really matters. To me was just a guy facing a girl who tells him “nothing is going to be the same never again” or some heart breaking wordiness like that. So well I really never felt connected to the main plot in this mod.

So if is not the story inside the mod. Then, what makes this mod worthy in my opinion? Well, again for me the strongest point in this mod are the visuals, really make me feel like I was in a kind of strange land, the water, the island, and even the end, although I must admit I’m always gonna be the kind of gamer, who wants a full army of CMB soldiers or a bunch of Hunters coming out from that huge splendid building-structure, instead of just contemplate it’s beauty and that intense almost real blue sky.

Probably if this mod was like an arena combat style, you know, the kind of mod like the all time combat arena HL2 classic; “The Great Forever Tomorrow”, I would certainly have loved it, you know have a combat in those surreal places must be pretty cool, at least for me. But I definitely know that was not the goal in developing this mod, so I understand.

Overall it was an ok mod to me, some exploring in strong visual areas, and that’s it.

The fact it made me remember of Half Quake mod saga at least in the visual part, make me wish some cra

DrRhubarb says
6 DrRhubarb

Jul 12th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This modification was a nice little exploration experience, but it all feels like it is still in an alpha stage.

The atmosphere already got me really good, now just imagine how much better it can get when the maps would get a gigantic overhaul (think Dear Esther Mod/Full Game comparision).

The soundtrack was fantastic, the story interesting though pretty hard to understand, which isn't bad because it leaves it open to the player to experience it for himself.

Nicoreda says
10 Nicoreda

Jul 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Just 10. Wow, that awesome, I've seen some what the f***, but at least, It's what the mod I prefere this year.

medve says
7 medve

Jul 5th, 2014 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

i have seriously have no idea what was happening in the mod, but the black and white scenes and the music is freaking awsome combo.
some subtitles are quite fast, and the mod is quite short.

Lunatrox says
9 Lunatrox

Jul 26th, 2014

No review provided

theomegasir says
8 theomegasir

Jul 25th, 2014

No review provided

Artaxxz says
8 Artaxxz

Jul 11th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8

21 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.