Residual Point is a single player mod for Half-Life.

Review RSS Feed gamefreak42 says
10 gamefreak42

Apr 25th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

playing as a cleam suit scientist is something i've always wanted to do...and now this mod has just been graded...by me

Luigibros51 says
10 Luigibros51

Feb 8th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is just one of the best half life mod I have ever play! The mapping is just excellent, the difficulty is good (exept in Xen, it's a bit too hard), the new NPC are awesome!

10/10, this mod will stay in my memory!

TheMutant says
10 TheMutant

Oct 15th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great mod! excellent graphics, good and varied play/combat. Familiar enemies but new ones too. Kept me occupied for many hours.
One skin was messed up but found the fix on the web and did get stuck (couldn't move) a couple of times and had to kill myself
Overall, great effort, kudos to the design team

m3luck3ycharms says
10 m3luck3ycharms

Feb 9th, 2012 3 people agree 2 people don't

This is easily the best half-Life mod I've played. Everything goes well together. Hope to see more projects from you

Dr.T says
7 Dr.T

Mar 8th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

The mod starts great (1st third) but after an hour I got a bit bored. Repeating level design crowns it. The mod has its moments but way too many headcrabs and should have been shorter overall imo. Still pretty solid achievement.

poshgaloo says
10 poshgaloo

Jun 11th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Fun mod.

XEN99 says
10 XEN99

Mar 24th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

1 AWESOME

Captain_Hell_Knight says
10 Captain_Hell_Knight

Jan 25th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

good mod

TheUnbeholden says
7 TheUnbeholden

Nov 28th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

It has perhaps the longest (and most dangerous) training mission I've seen :D. Must have been a beta version map that wasn't used and so instead used for "training".

The mod itself is also very long. But while it has some good level design, in its first half... things start to change after you reach the pumping stations. From then on (including the surface levels) its pretty mediocre, random open couryards with some boxes fighting large groups of either headcrabs or grunts.
It gets pretty hard, which might be a good thing for some people but I found it to get pretty frustrating.
Like the introduction of a different low res Islave that can take twice as much damage, and a bigger reddish headcrab that takes alot of damage and moves faster. It seems like the mod was rigged to make it harder... so medium difficulty is actually pretty hard.

There are nitpicks to like some sections pretty much being copy pasted from Blue Shift, HL1, Opposing Force. Though I can only think of about 4 instances so that's not a big deal.
But the repeated voice acting from the previous games gets annoying, some custom voice acting would have helped this mod greatly.

It lacks a storyline or any scripted sequences so it gets stale.
The lack of a ending is the most disappointing thing about it. For such a long mod its a shame to see the creator sort of give up on it.

Elitesse says
6 Elitesse

Aug 1st, 2014 1 person agrees 2 people don't

Boring. Very boring. No memorable scripted scenes, nothing. Unimpressive locations. The mapping is okay. I hated the new, stronger headcrabs. Meh.

Community Rating

Average

8.4

83 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.