Fight your way to the the surface as Black Mesa...

Review RSS Feed DoctorAmazing says
8 DoctorAmazing

Mar 9th, 2012 9 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

I'm surprised by all the bad votes here. I loved this mod. The mapping was even better than Valve mapping. I found it odd that there is a lot of stuff (mostly models) still left in there but never used (like the Ngrunt). I'm giving this an 8/10 because of the ending. It just cuts to black in the middle of a sewer. Wtf. Also the mod was pretty short.

Extra: I was given a special thanks :)

Urby says
8 Urby

Mar 10th, 2012 6 people agree 0 people don't

I enjoyed this mod. The areas of Black Mesa had a very classic feel to it and every room had a sense of purpose. Even the ending just felt right. No epic boss battle, the player simply slips away through an outlet pipe and vanishes from HL history. Love it.

The Cons:

- Mismatched models. Some were Low-Def, some were High-Definition and some were even Super-Definition. Personally I replaced the low poly models for a more modern look. :)

- Got lost a couple of times when it wasn't obvious that I had to back track.

SpeedyClaude says
10 SpeedyClaude

Mar 17th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Very long awaited.
I like it.

paparazziVN says
8 paparazziVN

May 29th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

It's a good half life mod with new maps and monsters, nice mapping and modelling, the puzzle is still tradition. But the ending make me disapointed

TheUnbeholden says
10 TheUnbeholden

May 6th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

This is a mod that does everything it can to be memorable, the intro of you walking up in your dorm room with personal pictures and then the tram ride... it oozes quality, like everything seems as though it belongs there and there is a lively functioning facility without you having to be there.
The unique locations I haven't seen before, a convenience store and book store. A crystal analysis area... even a new enemy which completely took me by surprise in a really good way.
The combat is great, its evenly spaced out, giving us a rest in between and giving just enough ammo with scarcity for health. Its tougher than HL1 thats for sure. In general you take more damage and theres some large versions of headcrabs I remember from a different mod that spices things up. Also for HL1 mod you take on the black ops at some point.

But what really surprises me is that you meet Barney early on and you can take him with you almost to the end of the mod (and its a long mod so thats really saying something).

My only nitpicks is the lack of puzzles but I've never been a fan of them to be honest and of course the ending, which seemed somewhat abrupt. Like there could have been something more to do, like going out onto a road and breathing a relieving sigh after going through all of that or something.
I noticed lack of music for the credits which is a good way to get people not to sit through it.

Necromancer_Neoh says
7 Necromancer_Neoh

Jun 7th, 2015 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The story is kinda of fun but a bit mess, almost stuck at every place. But this mod is just good, it should deserve a 7.

Night_Legend says
10 Night_Legend

Sep 19th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is a very Good mod for SinglePlayer

HosséAKM says
9 HosséAKM

Jun 24th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This mod is really awesome. I'm giving it a 9/10. Why? Because it has the old Half-Life feeling that many people felt when they first played the game. The mapping is just gorgeous, believable enviroment. And the difficulty is pretty fair. But it is kind of dissapointing that it's short and the ending creates so many questions, which I hope they will be answered. With that said I'm just going to say that Residual Life, just like its predecessor (Residual Point), is amazing and it's worth the time to play it.

ThatMercenarySnake says
10 ThatMercenarySnake

May 19th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Well Worth the wait

This mod is a example of excellent ideas.

You play as a cleansuit scientist who is the same one from residual point.

But this one has much more of a plot

snark567 says
10 snark567

May 22nd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Everything was awesome! There were moments where I felt tension and amazement as if I was playing half-life for the first time. This really could have been an expansion and I would have definitely paid for it. My only problem is that the scientist models are kind of messed up. For instance the kliner scientist has messed up glasses textures and the others seem to have their face a bit messed up on the side.

Community Rating

Average

8.2

137 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.