Fight your way to the the surface as Black Mesa...

Review RSS Feed DoctorAmazing says
8 DoctorAmazing

Mar 9th, 2012 8 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

I'm surprised by all the bad votes here. I loved this mod. The mapping was even better than Valve mapping. I found it odd that there is a lot of stuff (mostly models) still left in there but never used (like the Ngrunt). I'm giving this an 8/10 because of the ending. It just cuts to black in the middle of a sewer. Wtf. Also the mod was pretty short.

Extra: I was given a special thanks :)

Urby says
8 Urby

Mar 10th, 2012 4 people agree 0 people don't

I enjoyed this mod. The areas of Black Mesa had a very classic feel to it and every room had a sense of purpose. Even the ending just felt right. No epic boss battle, the player simply slips away through an outlet pipe and vanishes from HL history. Love it.

The Cons:

- Mismatched models. Some were Low-Def, some were High-Definition and some were even Super-Definition. Personally I replaced the low poly models for a more modern look. :)

- Got lost a couple of times when it wasn't obvious that I had to back track.

SpeedyClaude says
10 SpeedyClaude

Mar 17th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Very long awaited.
I like it.

paparazziVN says
8 paparazziVN

May 29th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

It's a good half life mod with new maps and monsters, nice mapping and modelling, the puzzle is still tradition. But the ending make me disapointed

Night_Legend says
10 Night_Legend

Sep 19th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is a very Good mod for SinglePlayer

HosséAKM says
9 HosséAKM

Jun 24th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This mod is really awesome. I'm giving it a 9/10. Why? Because it has the old Half-Life feeling that many people felt when they first played the game. The mapping is just gorgeous, believable enviroment. And the difficulty is pretty fair. But it is kind of dissapointing that it's short and the ending creates so many questions, which I hope they will be answered. With that said I'm just going to say that Residual Life, just like its predecessor (Residual Point), is amazing and it's worth the time to play it.

ThatMercenarySnake says
10 ThatMercenarySnake

May 19th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Well Worth the wait

This mod is a example of excellent ideas.

You play as a cleansuit scientist who is the same one from residual point.

But this one has much more of a plot

TheUnbeholden says
10 TheUnbeholden

May 6th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is a mod that does everything it can to be memorable, the intro of you walking up in your dorm room with personal pictures and then the tram ride... it oozes quality, like everything seems as though it belongs there and there is a lively functioning facility without you having to be there.
The unique locations I haven't seen before, a convenience store and book store. A crystal analysis area... even a new enemy which completely took me by surprise in a really good way.
The combat is great, its evenly spaced out, giving us a rest in between and giving just enough ammo with scarcity for health. Its tougher than HL1 thats for sure. In general you take more damage and theres some large versions of headcrabs I remember from a different mod that spices things up. Also for HL1 mod you take on the black ops at some point.

But what really surprises me is that you meet Barney early on and you can take him with you almost to the end of the mod (and its a long mod so thats really saying something).

My only nitpicks is the lack of puzzles but I've never been a fan of them to be honest and of course the ending, which seemed somewhat abrupt. Like there could have been something more to do, like going out onto a road and breathing a relieving sigh after going through all of that or something.
I noticed lack of music for the credits which is a good way to get people not to sit through it.

Elitesse says
6 Elitesse

Aug 1st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Ah, this is so boring. Incredibly boring. Just some boring shooting in boring areas, mostly unimpressive places of Black Mesa. No scripted scenes, nothing. Just some shooting until you get to a sewer. Wow. Fun mod. Also a mix of Low Definition and High Definition models. Uh, cool.

0b1der says
9 0b1der

May 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

alright everyone here me out. this is actually a really good healthy building block to a great half-life mod. yes there are some added things not from the half-life series but for crying out loud already it's a mod. i mean who wouldn't have something cool(er) in-game. to me it will create an oddly enough experience but most will get the gig and see themselves strolling towards that path to you know ending up obsessed cause their was some good efforts in designing, creating, adding new things here and their each day. hard work pays off and I'm sorry but haters are going to hate no matter what they disapprove or not like in the game but screw them and continue your fascination right in front of out eyes and let it wrap itself around you. great job you guys! :D

Community Rating

Average

8.2

127 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.