Heart of Evil: Napalm Edition (HOE: NE) is a remake of the old mod Heart of Evil, a Vietnam themed war/survival horror FPS. The HOE NE Team hopes to help you relive that experience, or for those of you who haven't played it, a chance to try something new. They put a lot of work into the original concept and we want to it endure, for that reason we have updated the mod as best we can with graphics and gameplay.

Review RSS Feed TheZealot says
1 TheZealot

Aug 28th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

An attempt at improving a good mod gone horribly, horribly wrong. Buggy as hell 1/10 would not play again.

thedfv says
3 thedfv

Jul 1st, 2012 5 people agree 2 people don't

Terrible, just terrible. The unspeakable glitches and bugs in this game, especially with the patch, just makes this unplayable! What ****** me off the most, is the music! It's annoying, and the game refuses to turn it off, even if I do it manually in the options! I had to mute my speakers to even play this without going crazy! The controls are very clunky and bad. Bad default settings and strafing. Don't get me started on the strafing, it's insane and unbearable to become used too. Couldn't seem to disable it either, otherwise from using ALT, which is just too hard when trying to fight the enemies! The Graphics and Improvements are great though, i really liked them. But sadly, I don't play a game for the graphics, just the gameplay! This remake took out some of the most important rides in the game, such as truck rides, Huey ride, and some others. Hardly any of it there! I admire the courage to do many of the voices for the characters too, but in my opinion, I hated them! It was annoying, and would have been a lot better if they had stuck with the originals or at least tweaked it a little. So that's pretty much it, all of this is just new models, some improvements on level designs, and pretty much just graphical differences. I really don't see how this is any better from the original. I give it a 3/10 for all of the below... And i would advise newcomers to stay away from this and just play the original.

Dr.Scientist says
10 Dr.Scientist

Jan 26th, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Exelent re-make of the classic one, both are awesome.

poshgaloo says
9 poshgaloo

Jun 17th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Still great. But i prefer the original. Like the old saying good graphics doesn't make a better game.

Qwertyus says
10 Qwertyus

Apr 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great remake for classic TC. Except some problems of initial game, other things are excellent.

poisonheadcrab says
4 poisonheadcrab

Feb 13th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Heart of Evil: Napalm Edition, man what a missed opportunity here. This mod brings little improvements to the original and ruins the rest. The models are great and I do like how some of the maze areas were made slightly less difficult. Some improvements were made to the level design and new custom textures were made to replace some the stock half-life textures that the original mod used. But the improvements end there. First off, the new voice work for Barney, the two officers at the beginning, and Kilmore were just terrible. They tried so hard to be funny they became irritating and the original voice work for them was good, there was just no need to replace them. The original mod was rather dark, and kind of creepy, in spirit of Apocalypse now (the film the mod is based around). This version seeks to dismantle that with stupid gay and **** jokes that really felt out of place. Huge sections of the ending were cut out, including the confrontation with Kurts and the epilogue was heavily altered. The new epilogue is just bad, the original wasn't the greatest ending either but it was miles better than Napalm Edition.

Conclusion:
I'd only get this for the models, they are pretty nice looking. The V weapon models for the snark & tripmine however do not work right with the original so those can't be used. But the rest are fine. The models are the best part about this mod, except for the stupid cone heads that replace the aliens. This mod could have been a great revamping of a classic, but instead it just misses the mark.

HopeEstheim says
8 HopeEstheim

Jan 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Just like PARANOIA, it's cool.

Elitesse says
8 Elitesse

Aug 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I love the graphics, but i prefer the original Heart of Evil.

REGISTERGODDAMNIT says
9 REGISTERGODDAMNIT

Sep 5th, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't

so far im really liking this game, i havent come across any bugs and there is a few funny things in this game, the only thing i hate is the AI sidekick, its hard to get him to follow you, you have to stay near him which turns me off this game a bit but still GOOD JOB :D

Parad0x_33 says
10 Parad0x_33

Jun 25th, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't

AWESOME!!!

Community Rating

Average

7.6

157 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.