Grey’s life has been nothing but a struggle. A constant downward spiral, and it seems even reality has turned against him. Grey awakens to find that the world has gone quiet, the streets empty. You must find help. Explore the grim world Grey lives in a completely new and unique world, and find clues to his shattered past. Grey is a total conversion Half-Life 2 horror modification where the player must solve puzzles, fight to survive, and find out what is happening to the world around you. We have made a lot changes to the base Source engine and have added countless new mechanics in the mod such as the objective indicator, portable medkit, donator based extras, pickup animations, failed reloads, new picture based GUI elements and much, much more!

Review RSS Feed Comr4de says
9 Comr4de

Sep 4th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

Albeit short Grey provides Silent Hill inspired environments that gives off the restless and horrific vibe you'd expect. Although I had wished I would had been told there was iron-sights you can opt to use it ends up being quite redundant due to the fact the monsters are quite fast.

While the ingame videos are nice, I felt that they tore away from the focus of first person horror -- not in the sense that I can see my character in the environment but the fact that it stopped gameplay for a few seconds in order for me to see my character doing something, which should had only been done just in really important bits - rather than what could had been an awesome scare (I am referring to the ghost like encounters across a hallway) subtle scares like this are far more effective when a player encounters them himself, although I do understand it's hard to do when to trigger them ; I would probably use something in the lines of what Valve had done with doves in order to get the players attention, only in your situation it could be dust, your black myst or several other methods to capture the players attention to these scares instead of stopping gameplay. There were excellent other methods that gave great scares however, and even though most felt like jump scares it was still well done.

I felt there was a lot of redundancy however. The excessive amounts of melee weapons is also nice but none of them were comparable to the pipe, leaving them redundant for the player to use.

I addition I also found; and this may pertain on normal mode at least, that batteries are not only plentiful but I never truly ran out of flashlight power. It did keep me on edge hoping I wouldn't run out but it was something that I never encountered.

Overall it's a great mod, wished it was a bit longer since it was indeed very enjoyable and definitely worth your time, even with my own criticism, to give it a shot!

Excellent work guys!

evantheuseless says
9 evantheuseless

Sep 3rd, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

Definitely one of my favorite singleplayer source mods.

Gameplay:
While there have been many complaints about scarcity of health/weakness of weapons, having played Cry of Fear I was expecting some difficulty with this, and STALKER taught me to have my quicksave at the right moment. However, I felt like the melee battles should have been done... differently. I did the whole step forward, swing, and step back. It didn't feel like I was fighting, but rather I was exploiting. I always love a hard mode that does more than just change balance, and this mod does an excellent job at changing what I expected. However, I felt as if there was too little explained in the normal mode. Challenges were pretty neat too, though having to reload each time, especially on those timed/short ones, was a pain.

Visuals:
It's very good looking for a source mod, and the use of new textures was a good thing, as I don't enjoy looking at the same plaster wall in so many different settings. The enemy models, while some were ridiculous, were well done, especially that human-sized puppet. That wagon one made more sense when everything was over.

Sound:
The new sounds, while some enemy ones are hokey, are still new. It was strange but also neat to hear DragonmasterNor again, reprising a similar role.

Misc:
C'mon, was the pony thing necessary? I thought I'd be rewarded for completing the challenges, not punished. I get that it's an "easteregg" but it's just unnecessary and out of place. I understand that you might like it, but don't push it on me, especially for completing the game to the fullest.

Overall:
An excellent mod and one of the best singleplayer source mods. I'd highly recommend this to any horror buff, or just someone seeking a challenge.

Wolfer255 says
9 Wolfer255

Aug 31st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This was one of my highly anticipated mods and I had high hopes for it. Some of it came through in the end and some of it didn't.

Grey is a great horror mod a bit in the style of condemned: criminal origins. The maps in this game are excellent, no complains on that end.

The horror element in the game is very much present, with lots of disturbing images, shifting rooms and creepy events. It really gives itself something more mysterious and illusive rather then for example using the feeling of paranoia or claustrophobia like in Cry of Fear.

The only real scares in the game however are the jump scares. Which are only there because the enemies tend to scream loud in your face when you turn around the corner.

The enemies are often too ridiculous, some just look silly some are just far-fetched and some are just annoying.

The combat in the game is terrible, and that is an understatement. Enemies deal way to much damage, health is never easy to find when you need it. Your firearms are like nerfguns and your melee weapons are like hitting an enemy with a piece of styrofoam.

I can imagine a lot of people having problem with a particular boss battle, I know I did. Don't worry you'll know it when you see it. Quicksave is your buddy here, but do it at the right moment.

The story I thought was pretty good, you have a good voice actor and actress who tell most of the story, and notes that will tell the rest.

Most puzzles were fairly easy, some solutions might be a little to hard to find, though I didn't have much trouble.

The weapons in the game look great, however some sound a bit flat. The voice acting however is top notch. Music isn't very special, just seems like crackling noises and cheap music most of the time.

It's not as good as I hoped it would be, I hoped it would be another one of those masterpieces like Cry of Fear, Afraid of Monsters and Nightmare House 2. The game has some serious issues, but it's still very good with a lot of work that went into it. 8.5/10

Odeghy says
9 Odeghy

Aug 31st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is really creepy! From the first moment and to whenever I stopped! I could only get as far as finding the torch. The atmosphere just made it feel like I was playing Penumbra and Slender. I'm not sure if I can play it anymore. Just too damn scary! :D

z/tp says
9 z/tp

Jul 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I played through this three times.
It scared me beyond anything, even though I knew the monsters.
But I simply forgot some of them.
The weapons look really good, I liked the failing reload animation and the shivering of Greys hands.
The monsters were very unique and had nightmarish movements and sounds to offer.
Also, what was up with these black cobweb things?
The mod had a very dirty and disgusting, yet spine-chilling look to it and the links to Mistake -1 were prceless.
The only negative point is that the enemies dealed way too much damage.
Thus, hard mode was unplayable for me, also because of the useless knife weapon you got in the kitchen in the bar.

Mr.Grindor says
9 Mr.Grindor

Jun 28th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pros:
-Immersion is almost instant
-Great atmosphere
-Maps are really detailed
-Supplies must be searched instead of hoping to find them everywhere (more immersion)
-Replay Value with the Hardcore Difficulty, Bonus map and Challenge maps
-Had fun searching for Anita's dolls
-Enemies are scary at moments
-Great voice acting (DragonNOR did it once more)
-Failed reload at moments
-No inventory (more immersion and atmosphere)

Cons:
-Really hard for unexperienced players
-Maps were extremely dark even with the max bright on
-Most of the enemies appear with a scream, which is scary at first but gets annoying in time.
-Melee weapons are more useful for breaking boxes rather than killing enemies
-Takes you almost a full handugn clip to kill an enemy in Hardcore difficulty, preventing you from saving ammo for future encounters
-The game can be confusing at moments as to where to go and what to do
-Pick-up animation gets boring in time, but this is just me

Middle:
-Game balance is awful. You find more enemies than weapons, ammo or health, but at the same time it makes you fells really scared and prepared for whatever is to come. I enjoyed it, but it frustrated me at the same time.

mathnath46000 says
9 mathnath46000

Jun 13th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Scary INTRO !
Scary GAME !
You don't want to play it ?
Go see PewDiePie !!!!

FrostyBlue says
9 FrostyBlue

Apr 24th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

scarier than COF but shorter.

IHadFunOnce says
9 IHadFunOnce

Mar 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

****'s tight, yo...

HLWATCHER says
9 HLWATCHER

Dec 18th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Ok I finished GREY at last, well indeed i end it about a week ago, and took me more than 4 hrs to beat it, so is a long mod.

I think this is a great mod for SOURCE engine because is very in the psycho-horror line like Cry of Fear, indeed it's clear CoF put a big and heavy influence in the Grey Project, which could be a good or bad point of reference.

CoF set good story plots and really inmersive environments and atmospheres, which we can obviously see here in Grey, the locations for the develop of the story are also very similar to CoF, a house, a subway station, a hospital, and lonly and freaking scary dark alley-streets, the monsters and delussions also are cool in greey and remember me the ones in CoF.

Now, the bad thing about Grey heavy influenced by CoF and maybe Afraid of monsters, is that they want to emulate the superb-replayability of the mod itself!, which i think is just really freaked up, i mean Grey gives you a really boring and low ending if you play it on "Normal", and the cooler and entretaining-revealing ending if you try it on "Hardcore", that's just annoying, i mean i don't even think in replay the whole mod in order to unblock features or get the cooler ending, is really stupid, stupid to relate the gameplay skill to the plot itself. I make my state clear, I am not a RE-PLAY GAMER!!

Also the super confusing and hard *** to kill boss is not even at the end of the mod. Is kind of in the middle of it! so that's maybe the main reason for i would never replay this mod, also thinking in the hardcore skill. If they put odd mini-challenges, different endings and collectable items in the mod, i really don't care why that would make a better mod, i just see the revealing endings and the mini-challenges on youtube...

Now the best part of grey is that is a horror classic for Source engine,this could be fit perfect into the real horror story teller world, overall is a cool mod to have a good entretain time.

Community Rating

Average

8.3

681 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.