Grey’s life has been nothing but a struggle. A constant downward spiral, and it seems even reality has turned against him. Grey awakens to find that the world has gone quiet, the streets empty. You must find help. Explore the grim world Grey lives in a completely new and unique world, and find clues to his shattered past. Grey is a total conversion Half-Life 2 horror modification where the player must solve puzzles, fight to survive, and find out what is happening to the world around you. We have made a lot changes to the base Source engine and have added countless new mechanics in the mod such as the objective indicator, portable medkit, donator based extras, pickup animations, failed reloads, new picture based GUI elements and much, much more!

Review RSS Feed Seaal says
8 Seaal

Aug 25th, 2012 8 people agree 5 people don't

Graphics:

They were amazing. I felt so scared in many areas because the textures made them look so.

Mapping:

The levels were outstanding and freaky too. You guys chose some pretty good places to put the monsters.

Monsters:

They were terrifying in many ways.

Difficulty:

You guys could've made it easier. Health was so scarce. I am nearly dead all the time. Unless the game is ment to be hard, then regard what I said.

Puzzles:

Some puzzles are just amazing. The puzzle with the arrows and the number tiles was pretty cool. Though I had to write the arrows down on a paper. The only puzzle that was twisting my brain and confusing me so much was the one when you need to unweld the garage door. I spent so much time looking for something and wasting my drill battery. Then I notice it's right there on the ground.

Scares:

Almost every scare has gotten me so much. I yelled out loud almost all the time. :D

Story:

It was too confusing and I didn't know just what the heck happened in the normal ending and hard ending.

Overall: I give the mod a...

8/10

Daemon01 says
8 Daemon01

Jul 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Twas good time.

Richard_Nixon says
8 Richard_Nixon

Jun 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pretty fun, very spooky.
It wasn't always clear on what to do next. The enemies were very tough. Nice story line. Overall a good mod.

asus11 says
8 asus11

Jun 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best Scary mod out there, dont be fooled by the low score poeple are giving. Compare to other mod, Gunplay, texture, ambiance are fantastic. Monsters are creepy as hell. Played normal and hard mode in one go with no bug or glitch, coundt stop playing. I wish ther where more horror game like Gray.

On the negative side, The story is hard to understand. Sometime cutsceen
break the immersion. No easy mode, in normal the game is very hard.

Overall 8/10 Great Mod

Blazedol says
8 Blazedol

Mar 4th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

GOOD LORD.
And that's all I can say about this mod. I'm not joking, this mod is so ****** up in 3 different ways: Environment, Plot, and difficulty of the game. Now, the game isn't really bad, but... it's just messed up. The gameplay is like most single player source mods, you get 1 melee weapon, and some firearms. The programming is also very nice. The enemies seem... weird at first, but progressively get more and more disturbing. The setting... oh my god.
That's how I describe it. It's psychotic, it's disturbing, and it will leave you breathless. The plot is no different, but executed not as well. I found very little of it to be explained in the game itself, but just about all of it was explained at the end of the good ending. Speaking of which, you have to beat the game twice. Once on easy, another on hard, and I like that.
Overall, it's worth a playthrough, but that's about it. Not a whole lotta replayablity value, but it's still entertaining, and also memorable. Very, very memorable.

nicoledan says
8 nicoledan

Jan 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A much anticipated mod, I was beyond excited when this finally came out.

The story was very interesting, though I wish there was a bit more to it. It hardly subtracted from the fun I had playing this though. And the atmosphere was deliciously creepy. The only thing that really disappointed me about this was how short it was. Then again, most mods are, right?

Altogether, a fantastic mod. I definitely recommend it.

Burning-X says
8 Burning-X

Jan 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Scary, is a way to put it

TheUnbeholden says
8 TheUnbeholden

Jan 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is really good in a few ways, the most obvious is the visual and audio design. Its so creepy and grimy that it really pulls you in from the get go. Hallucination/Nightmare based games are ones I've played a few of and this one here does the horror well, being based around abstract nightmarish world where you don't get to feel safe and fight creatures that could come out of anywhere. Theres a bit of space in between enemy encounters, this I quite like. Alot of horror games creators don't realize that scares are just as in important as building upto one. It's got something new for each level, so its always keeping you on your toes.

The point I think is to provide surreal like scenes and whatever happens is supposed to be symbol or representation of your characters repressed feelings and real life situations. Being able to get that kind information out of what happens is the key to making a good story, it can be a journey of self discovery... but if you don't see any of the real world you don't have the context to make sense of whats happening and thus you won't care about your character as much.
It falls into this pitfall, you are in the real world in the beginning (or so it seems) but you don't see any people, and it goes on like this till the end. Theres about 2 times where you do go back into the real world but it once again has no people beside yourself and only gives vague hints as to what happened.
You can break boxes although some boxes don't break which is a bit jarring for a hl2 mod. The games also relentlessly difficult (eventhough you fight a small number enemies) they have quite a bit of health (even guns aren't effective) and the amount of health you find is very very scarce. Even the hospital level only has 1 medkit cabinet yet you can find ammo for all the weapons *facepalm.
Its also not very long although its not necessarily short though, I would say maybe just over a hour for me.
Higher difficulty adds new enemies & different encounters

yoble101 says
8 yoble101

Sep 12th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

very good game, and lots of jumpscares overall a well made game

The only thing is that i still dont understand what the story is about.

Cheeseball says
8 Cheeseball

Sep 5th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Short and sweet. However, I thought that the music was a little boring and repetetive at times. The story, although definitely intriguing, felt unclear. The new textures, weapons, and enemies were very impressive additions. To say the least, I was scared very often.

Community Rating

Average

8.3

678 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.