Grey’s life has been nothing but a struggle. A constant downward spiral, and it seems even reality has turned against him. Grey awakens to find that the world has gone quiet, the streets empty. You must find help. Explore the grim world Grey lives in a completely new and unique world, and find clues to his shattered past. Grey is a total conversion Half-Life 2 horror modification where the player must solve puzzles, fight to survive, and find out what is happening to the world around you. We have made a lot changes to the base Source engine and have added countless new mechanics in the mod such as the objective indicator, portable medkit, donator based extras, pickup animations, failed reloads, new picture based GUI elements and much, much more!

Review RSS Feed Minuit says
7 Minuit

Aug 25th, 2012 51 people agree 16 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The good:
Nice textures and art design
Great weapon sounds
Good programming
Really liked the light puzzle at the end
Fun to search for Anita's dolls (I think I found 7 or 8)
Great voice acting for Grey's character
Nice weapon animation and modelling (except for the animation on the stone-stick melee thing)

The bad:
Music was a little bad overall but some tracks were nice
Melee weapons were useless
Some monster sounds weren't too good
Confusing map design
Maps were WAY too dark (particularly the forest)
The boss was not fun and too hard
Health was way too scarce
The puzzle finding the keypad number in the hospital is ridiculous! There are no subtle hints to guide you to where it might be
I had some errors that CoF also had: Got a completely white screen at one point, the textures became ****** up after a while and the mod crashed after the stats screen

The ugly:
The balancing. It was literally the worst balanced mod/game I have ever played. The monsters were too strong, health items were too rare and didn't give enough health when you did find them and the melee weapons were of no use.

CuervoSp says
7 CuervoSp

Aug 25th, 2012 7 people agree 2 people don't

This mod has a great points and also bad points. The atmosphere is really cool and some textures and models, but the gameplay was a bit bad and boring.

dufake says
7 dufake

Sep 1st, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

First, I had played Nightmare House series and Cry of Fear before, so I will make a little comparison between these horror mods.
Grey has two story modes to complete.

Normal mode has nothing interesting to say. This is just a dumbed down version of the hardcore campaign.
I really want to skip the whole part if I could.
There are few good puzzles around, but there are also a lot of nonsense periods.
A path will always open behind you without any clues or sounds.
It's a very frustrating experience.

The Hardcore mode has a better design in every way, and you don't make the same mistakes again.
That's the spirit behind the Grey.
I am very interesting to play mistake series after I played Grey.

Grey has great props, weapon models and animations.
Levels are very beautiful too, but it feels more like NH2 than CoF.

The combat isn't fun because there are a lot of monsters are scripted.
Most of them guards a specific position.

The Hints tell you to search the side rooms and escape from the monsters.
That's not totally true in this case.
Most of them are staying in a tiny alley or a room.
You have to fight them back without a choice.
The rewards are usually useless in the hardcore mode.
Prepare to crash a hunderd of empty boxes and find a few batteries.

Ammo placements isn't wise too. I saved the ammo and I have no chance to fire a single shot of my submachine gun.
The game just ends without a climax.

I love the art drection, but Grey fails to deliever a charming gameplay.
It's definitly worth a pay or donation for its art design.
However, Grey has no surprises like NH2 or CoF will give you.
Grey is a very polished work, but you will want more from it.

zck2020 says
7 zck2020

Aug 27th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Really disturbing, although the graphics look a little cheap it does it's job: Scare the hell out of you.

mediochrea says
7 mediochrea

Aug 27th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Quite pleasing visual style, exciting storyline, although a bit slow in the beginning, believable voice acting. The praise ends here. Now for the bad bits: too much relies on jumpscares, which is the easiest and the least creative way to scare the player, and which should just ******* die already.
Additionally, the enemies are absurdly overpowered: crazy fast and healthy, they pop out from around the dark corners (again, jumpscares) and finish you in a couple fast blows. This can and does build up a fair share of frustration, and if you keep dying in a horror game, all the atmosphere and suspense is lost. Level design as well is incomprehensible in places, with you "using" every object on the map, trying to understand what the **** are you supposed to do, and finally swearing and shaking head at the weird and illogical solution.
In conclusion, I want to say that despite all the downsides, I enjoyed the mod a lot. But it could've been done so much better.

Res1 says
7 Res1

Aug 25th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

It's pretty good and atmospheric at some points but the scares weren't really that scary. Plus the storyline got a bit dry at points and it annoyed me how the character wouldn't comment about anything that was going on. Only very rarely would he say stuff like "This is ****** up" The mod well done overall though and I hope any future mods by you guys improve upon what you've done here.

Radu_IceMan says
7 Radu_IceMan

Aug 25th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I downloaded the mod on the first day it was released. Having tracked it for a few years, I was thrilled to finally play it.

The intro was pretty suffocating and unnerving, which made me question the overall experience, but after that brief moment, it began to build some suspense and create a dark atmosphere through it's lack of enemies or any type of characters. That state lasted long enough to get the player used to the environment and prepare him for the first enemy encounter. That is one thing I did not like and I believe it could have been done better.

Another aspect I didn't enjoy is the overall level design. The world is built chaotically and is often unclear where to head. I understand you want to put emphasis on exploration, but when the player loses direction it's bad. Using the light a lot more often to guide him through the level would have been an excellent choice.

Thirdly, the hand animation when opening the doors. That must have been the most annoying thing aside the poor ambient sounds and some pitch black areas.

Overall, the mod wasn't that bad, but wasn't very good either. There are a lot of areas that can be improved upon, the story especially. However, one thing you managed to get right is the enemies, which are downright scary.

I rated the mod a 7 because I think it has a lot of potential.

ghostings says
7 ghostings

Nov 28th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

(-)Negatives:

Enemies: I get the impression that enemies are strong in damage and in health to promote the option of running away from them. Except for one problem, you cant. Corridors are tight and enemies follow you at high speeds for every mile of the way. So we are forced to contend with restarting the level or saving after every baddie dead. NO GO.

Normal ending: Disgustingly brief and unresolved. I know its supposed to encourage playing the hard mode for the better ending, but to be honest it really pushed me to uninstall the game, and I did. I only reinstalled it to show it off to my friends.

(+)Positives:

Alternate modes: Though most people wouldn't bother touching the hard mode after the disappointment of the normal ending, I decided to power through it anyways. The changes make the scares fresh and the ending for hard mode worth it.

Atmosphere: The music and environment really pull together a hostile and terrifying environment. I get a lot of AoM:DC vibes sometimes to with breaking every box for ammo, having flashlight batteries, dog and slasher enemies. Nostalgic.

That randomly spawning enemy: Static enemy positions really take the teeth out of a horror game, so this mod decides to randomly spawn an enemy behind you. Really keeps you on your toes.

Overall:
IF you're patient and forgiving, this mod is actually pretty impactful, but that can be said for any other mod. What sets this mod apart though is the effort that goes into the environment and the atmosphere. I even wondered for a second if I should continue playing such a violent game.

Malphegore says
7 Malphegore

Oct 26th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

The mod in general was pretty good. It managed to deliver some chills to me and made me jump several times. Along witht this I would like to give an applaud for nice models of the creatures/ enemiesm, but also the art design of the mod as whole. The weapons had great sounds, their models and animations were pretty well done. Voice acting was great for the main character.

But on the other hand it had some flaws. First opne would be the length of the mod, since I think that it may have been slightly longer. The sound at certain mooments was fine, but on other occassions it was killing my ears, since it made this horrible sound. Then the difficulty of the mod, at the moment I'm talking about hard, where the enemies would kill you in just few hits.

Suprisingly unlike other people I didn't have a problem with scarce amount of healthpacks, I usually found occassionally and it also adds in to this an effect that you need to value your 'life' way more so you try to be more catious and carefull in order to survive.

Jojosan says
7 Jojosan

Sep 28th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Textures, sounds and design ist totally from scratch. The programming ist very good. The scary atmosphere at the beginning goes down at the middle of the mod, because to much puzzles. But the main criticism ist the high level of difficulty. Health ist way to rare and the monsters were way too strong. It was frustrating and demotivating to die so many times. Please release a patch to fix the balancing. Overall it's still good with a lot of work. 7/10

Community Rating

Average

8.3

678 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.