Grey’s life has been nothing but a struggle. A constant downward spiral, and it seems even reality has turned against him. Grey awakens to find that the world has gone quiet, the streets empty. You must find help. Explore the grim world Grey lives in a completely new and unique world, and find clues to his shattered past. Grey is a total conversion Half-Life 2 horror modification where the player must solve puzzles, fight to survive, and find out what is happening to the world around you. We have made a lot changes to the base Source engine and have added countless new mechanics in the mod such as the objective indicator, portable medkit, donator based extras, pickup animations, failed reloads, new picture based GUI elements and much, much more!

Review RSS Feed Fidchell says
6 Fidchell

Aug 25th, 2012 11 people agree 2 people don't

There's a lot to be said about the indie take on survival horror - one would be looking more toward that specific niche in the genre just to get a breath of fresh air. Even then, major corporations are struggling to present something even remotely plausible and worthy of having a place in the survival horror genre (with little success mind you).

Here, we have a new addition to the horror theme known as "Grey." What's presented in its images and videos is nothing short of intriguing to one who has a taste for the more psychological side of horror, that of the likes of Silent Hill.

The art direction of this game is quite astounding, contributing greatly toward the build-up of the atmosphere. There is blood, rust, and dirt caked over almost everything you see.

The sounds and music in the game isn't anything to complain about, but it isn't really anything memorable either. The loud sudden noises of a monster in the distance and the "ping" of the pipe as it impacts a wall is not unfitting in the slightest. The voice overs are nice too.

One thing to take note of in the game is that it's not a walk in the park. Often times you will encounter a monster that is surprisingly powerful and will take a chunk of your health with every hit. They too have a good amount of health and will take quite a few hits or bullets to put them down.

Unfortunately, Grey does not take long to complete, me having beaten it in less than an hour. There is a hardcore difficulty I may have to get around to one day, but it's a bit demotivating considering normal mode was hard enough.

Overall, Grey carries a great atmosphere, but is greatly bogged down by difficulty and disappointing brevity. It has a lot of potential, and I honestly expected more out of it, but what it offered satisfied my craving for a plausible horror experience.

Dune_Jumper says
6 Dune_Jumper

Aug 25th, 2012 6 people agree 2 people don't

I was hoping this was going to be the time of my life, but what I got was a mod I didn't even finish because it got so repetitive.
It has a lot of nice aspects though. I was just disappointing.

Silktax says
6 Silktax

Aug 25th, 2012 3 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This was a really great mod, I was pleasantly surprised with the way it was done. But it was so damn short! - Seriously if you speed ran the campaign you could complete it in 30 minutes, which is severely disappointing considering this mod had so much potential.
The scares were good and I did like the enemy designs they were pretty ******* creepy! The mapping was great and very atmospheric but the weapon sounds need some work and some custom blood decals would look a lot better in game. The challenges are great and give you some extra play time and are very fun to play through.
The unlock-able weapon actually ****** this game for me completely, it just ****** me off over any thing and screwed the experience completely.
At least give us something cool for our time spent going through this game like a flamethrower or something but god really? Of all things that.. COME ON!
6/10

CabbageMetal says
6 CabbageMetal

Feb 28th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Like many other reviewers have stated, this game starts off very strong. The opening leads you to believe that things are going to get super deep. If you're paying any attention at all you can quickly tell that the whole thing is in the characters head. It's quickly obvious for sure. The problem though is that they never really build on that at ALL unless you finish the hard mode playthrough (it unlocks after you finish normal mode). This meens to get the "true ending" you must play through twice. Personally this game would have been more like an 8 or so if the true ending was just the ending no matter what difficulty you play on. Even then the issue is still that there's just a strong opening, and then absolutely nothing really until the big info dump of an ending. Like others have said it really sucks to rag on others hard work but that's what reviews are for. Personally I'd say if you do play this, when the game is over just immediately youtube the "true ending" and count that as what you got lol.

MachineForPigs says
6 MachineForPigs

Oct 25th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good textures
Good art design
Good enemy sounds
Good voice acting

Boss wasn't very fun
Enemy designs were lacking
Uninteresting plot
Not very unique music
Very unbalanced: Enemies were way too strong and health was scarce

The game takes a while to get going and it never really gains momentum or hits it's stride. The game builds up tension during the beginning but when you encounter the first enemy that tension isn't payed off.

Dredile says
6 Dredile

Sep 30th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Link to our Video Review. Youtube.com

The story was pretty lackluster at best, I found it to be pretty generic. That said I felt like I have already played games with the same general story in a way. (going insane etc)
Also the game-play wasn't balanced very well. Enemies would be put in places where literally you would turn a corner and be killed. There wasn't very much ammo or health packs either. Because of this the game started to become more frustrating rather then scary. Lets just say I really enjoyed the game BEFORE monsters started showing up. :P The visuals were very very good, the developer created a great atmosphere for the player to relish in.

All in all the mod was pretty average, I had waited for a while for this mod to come out but it didn't really deliver. But I understand a lot of people like the mod, I just couldn't get into it.

Again if you want to watch our video review of the mod check out this link. :) Youtube.com

Thanks!

duck354 says
6 duck354

Sep 4th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

it was pretty good, the mapping was nice and the gameplay was cool, although killing things with full clips was annoying. and it was very short too, overall, it was enjoyable while it lasted.

Kreekakon says
6 Kreekakon

Sep 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Gameplay: This should probably fall into two segments: Combat, and Puzzles.

The combat in short...it has too many weapons, given the length of the mod you will be unable to utilize them all successfully. The guns are okay in this aspect, and you should be able to find uses for them always, although you'll be using the pistol the most due to its abundance of ammo. The melee weapons however are way too many. The Sledge hammer is useless, and once you get the knife, I doubt you'll be using any other melee weapon.

Now onto the puzzles: I actually enjoyed them quite a lot. There aren't that many, but all have their solutions hidden subtlety in places which aren't extremely hard to find if you try. Best part is they will make you feel like a genius when you solve them, which is what I think puzzles should always have implanted in some form.

Horror Aspect: I have to say the opening segment of the mod is one of the creepiest things I've ever played for some time. It set up as a great taster for what might have followed. After the game starts the front half will start to build-up more, and more as you figure out something is wrong with your world; I thought this was done well too, even if it did have jumpscares (Which were effective ones BTW).

However after the mod passed its halfway point...I don't know. the sense of tension was all, but gone. There weren't even any mildly disturbing moments anymore. I can't help, but feel the developers just rushed out the ending segment without putting much thought to it. To make matters worse, the plot, and buildup was never resolved, at least not in my book. Which brings us to the next part.

Plot: Oh man, oh god, oh man. I don't even know where to start with the plot of this mod. It is obviously the greatest con in the entire mod. I did not find the story gripping. Motivation was very weak throughout.

For the entire first half of the story, you have no idea what you are doing. You aren't even given a basic premise to go on about.

Dragonlord says
6 Dragonlord

Aug 27th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

The idea of the mod is all nice and dandy but a few things are a big problem. The biggest problem is the difficulty. Enemies do ~25% damage a hit... you do next to no damage per hit and health items are next to non-existent. After a couple of maps it is impossible to continue with next to no HP left. Furthermore the mapping is kinda bland: corridors... corridors... and yet again corridors. CryOfFear shows how a good level design works. With this mod though after some way into it you just have no will to continue as it is simply not fun like CoF had been just annoying. With better balancing and more interesting mapping I would give this a better mark but they it stands right now 6 is the best I can give.

Diolator says
6 Diolator

Aug 26th, 2012 4 people agree 4 people don't

Poor level design, boring puzzles.

Community Rating

Average

8.3

679 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.