Grey’s life has been nothing but a struggle. A constant downward spiral, and it seems even reality has turned against him. Grey awakens to find that the world has gone quiet, the streets empty. You must find help. Explore the grim world Grey lives in a completely new and unique world, and find clues to his shattered past. Grey is a total conversion Half-Life 2 horror modification where the player must solve puzzles, fight to survive, and find out what is happening to the world around you. We have made a lot changes to the base Source engine and have added countless new mechanics in the mod such as the objective indicator, portable medkit, donator based extras, pickup animations, failed reloads, new picture based GUI elements and much, much more!

Review RSS Feed Seth1466 says
4 Seth1466

Aug 25th, 2012 19 people agree 6 people don't

I've been watching this mod for almost a year, and I can't tell you how disappointed I was with it. The game starts out pretty scary, but ends up getting very dull after the first few maps. Everything that is supposed to scare you is usually a jumpscare. (Something coming out of nowhere making a very loud sound.) The maps were all good a so. Some of the enemies were very laughable. The plot was confusing and hard to get into. Enemies are too tough and ammo/health is VERY limited.

Overall, I rate it 4/10, because it got too bland too quick and stopped being scary.

ThrillerProd says
4 ThrillerProd

Aug 29th, 2012 4 people agree 0 people don't

So, I download it, and tested it, here my opinion :

Story : I'm french, so i didn't understand everything, but the hero need more interaction, seriously, he see a dead body, no reaction. He's teleported in strange place, he say juste once 'WTF' and, it's all, after that, all are normal like puppet monster or zombie : normal, i see them everyday.

Originality : We cleary see the mod is inspired by classic horror game like silent hill, so no really originality.

Graphics : Best point I think, Nice overhaul models, nice animations, good mapping, nice textures (little low res for me ^^) no really thing to say about that. Hud are really nice too.

Programming : Very nice, no thing to say.

Sound Design : Fire weapon is flat.. Ambiance sound need to be improve, i haven't been scared once time.

Gameplay : The worst part ever ! Seriously, have you give the mod to tester ? Because it's really extremly harcore ! Ennemi can kill you in 6-10 hits, not a problem if they can't touch you before you touch them ! But when you have low health, were are the health recover ? some food who give you 5 pv ? pills : 0 pv (i don't understand that) ? Compare to the damage take by monster it's just hilarous ! Another thing : Autosave. No way, you need to add more autosave, you die so many times and you need to redone all the map, youpi !

I think i say everythink, I hope you take in consideration this and not buried it (OpForce2 like).

Hope you release an Hot Fix.

(Sorry for my bad english)

DrRhubarb says
4 DrRhubarb

Aug 26th, 2012 8 people agree 5 people don't

When I first saw images/screenshots of GREY, I really knew that this will be something I would wait for and play on its release date.

Good things first:
It has a very nice art design, the levels are are creepy and really creative.
Stig's Voiceacting for GREY is stunning, he sounds believable. Other voice actors also do a great job.
The monster designs really reminded me of the good ol' Silent Hill days. Great job there.
The challenges are a nice addition and something not really seen that often.

But that already is all good I have to write down here.

Overall, the mod felt very unstatisfying.
The level/puzzle design was very confusing most of the times, I'm thankful that I accidently clicked some notes I would have never even noticed on my journey.

The balancing is also a huge downpoint. The weapons feel like they burst out air and you can't really tell big differences between all weapon types.

Another point that kept bugging me was the main character that had to comment every little thing, sure this is a nice thing to add, but why doesn't he comments on the first monster he meets or on other creepy/f**ked up **** that happens?

I see the direction you were trying to go there, but in the end it was all a pretty big letdown.

EDIT: I brought myself together to finish the HARD Mode, so here is what I have to say:

The Hard Mode is definately overall the way better campaign, now the normal looks even more ****** than before.
The scares were better, the mood more frightening and the puzzles more creative.
The ending was definately more satisfying, but not really that awesome either.
Most stuff you already kinda expected, but wouldn't give a **** about, hence the main game builds no connection between the player and the character.

Knights says
4 Knights

Aug 27th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

It had good atmosphere with good art direction, but there was a lot of boring level design with the interiors. A lot of boring long tight hallways, and too much with the vents. The game started off way too slow and finding keys wasn't what I was looking forward to doing a lot. I raged a lot having practically no ammo and a pipe that did nothing as I died a lot. Good stuff with the custom content and effects but just ok, very silent hill like but with no good story to go with it...

DemolitionSteve says
4 DemolitionSteve

Sep 30th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The good:

First 10 minutes were appropriately ominous, and did in fact seem genuinely scary.

The sound was good and the overall atmosphere was gritty. Some of the puzzles were pretty interesting.

Animations were pretty solid, especially on the guns.

Interesting enemy types

The bad:

Enemies took way too many of the already super limited bullets, I was often forced to quicksave at every enemy so I could swing my creskinned crowbar, jump back, repeat

Some enemies were just obnoxious as ****, and their only purpose seemed to be to eat away your usually low-health. Like those walk-on-all-fours doll baby things, it was damn near impossible to kill one without it getting at least a hit off you. I think I can speak for everyone here when I say:


The pistol hardly did jack ****, the SMG took a lot to kill one enemy. The cinder-block-on-a-stick thing wasn't even worth using because while winding it up, you were basically guaranteed to get overrun anyway. I don't recall even finding shotgun ammo, but SMG ammo was more plentiful than boxes of shells? wut?

It felt like half the game I was crawling through vents or helplessly smashing tons of look-alike doors to see if they'd open.

Health was non-existent, and most importantly, so was the story.

Seriously, to have a *good* horror game, the player has to have incentive, or a narrative/plot. Okay, so...Grey has some hallucination and now everyone's gone and/or turned into monsters? He still thinks going home or to the hospital is going to yield positive results in a world that apparently turned into a ghost town in a single day.

He was either severely autistic or had severe ADD. He would say how he should get home, but after murdering undead floating knife-wielding creatures, he has no comments? What in the actual ****?

Game was way too short for something in development for years.

AvagantamosTEON says
4 AvagantamosTEON

Nov 14th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I had high hopes for this mod and in my opinion the long wait didn't live up to my expectations.


-Voice acting is well done
-Good art design overall
-Changes to Hardmode making the re-play somewhat different
-Awesome enemy design
-The introduction was fantastic and very well done


-Health pickups were pretty much non-existent and the melee weapons were pretty much useless (I don't mind limited health but this was ridiculous)
-The enemies do WAY to much damage to even consider melee combat
-Soundtrack wasn't the greatest
-The long wait time made the end product seem lacking
-Not long enough even with the changes in Hardmode
-Scares were cliche and I was expecting better
-The amazing introduction to the mod makes the rest of the game feel stale and cliche where as the opening was so gripping and intense

Grey is basically another version of Cry of Fear with less story, less scares, horribly balanced combat and no where near as long I'm quite sad to be giving this mod a low score as I had high hopes for this one.

BonkGuy says
4 BonkGuy

Feb 6th, 2013

No review provided

Lemming77 says
4 Lemming77

Sep 21st, 2012

No review provided

TheTourist says
4 TheTourist

Sep 11th, 2012

No review provided

Armageddon104 says
4 Armageddon104

Sep 3rd, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating



684 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.