GoldenEye: Source is a total conversion modification of Half-Life 2. It is a fan made recreation, released for free, with only one goal in mind; to bring the memories and experiences from the original GoldenEye64 back to life using Source Technology. We want you to look at this mod and remember the first best multiplayer first-person shooter ever made. We are doing our best to bring in the opinions of the community to create a game that everyone is going to enjoy. But, we are not here to recreate the game exactly how it was in GE64, a lot of things have changed since they first designed that game, mainly in technology and gamers experiences. We are here to take the game even further but at the same time provide a lot of those fun elements that hardcore GE64 fans will enjoy. We've got experienced team members all across the board, from professional level, to amateurs looking to make it into the business working hard to make this dream a reality.

Review RSS Feed SolidFake says
9 SolidFake

Dec 28th, 2010 7 people agree 0 people don't

Goldeneye Source offers simple and good old classic deathmatch action.
No complicate new mechanics, no specific movement possibilities with which you can outmanoveur your enemy, no adjustable or unlockable weapons, pure Deathmatch.
Players who like the n64 goldeneye or games like Timesplitters will love this one!
Only things that might be not the best for this mod are that making out if the guy you just've seen is on your team or not, and that the simplicity can also be a bit boring, as the player with the better weapon wins nearly all the time.

Nothing for cod kiddies, but for good ol deathmatch lovers or people who want to just play and have fun should definitely try it out!

1gunslinger says
9 1gunslinger

Aug 22nd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

A very good recreation of the multiplayer of Golden Eye which is a very good game.

Mighty_Guy says
9 Mighty_Guy

Jul 25th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Goldeneye Source is simple, yet good fun

parhana says
9 parhana

Jul 5th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

It's GoldenEye on Source OMG :D

kidx says
9 kidx

Jun 17th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

I am not giving GE:S 10/10 because of an issue and we know its the LTK hit reg minus this issue you have a very awesome mod. I am downloading it right now to play it on our clan server. Allot of people say i don't play it but they are wrong back in 3.9 i had a server that was always full 32/32 and i must say this was the most fun i had ever playing a mod for source. In the future i would love to see the source issues fixed like hit reg but other than that great mod thanks guys.

30NIGHTCRAWLER30 says
9 30NIGHTCRAWLER30

Mar 15th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Feels just like back than on the Nintendo 64, just amazing. I miss the story mode of the good old days, and a Pierce Brosnan skin. The James Bond doesn't look anything like Pierce Brosnan. It would be cooler to have a Pierce Brosnan face, instead of a random bond face. I don't know why there is no storymode, and I think it would be cool to have one (since the storymode is the one I enjoyed the most). If GoldenEye: Source did have a story mode that had the exact same levels as in the Nintendo 64 version, I would have easily give this mod a 10/10. I am still very happy with it, I hope that they keep updating it and make story line sometime in the future, and most importantly that it stays free. 9/10.

DavidUnlocked says
9 DavidUnlocked

Dec 29th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

Goldeneye Source is a perfect example of what a mod should strive to be. Fun. It had an idea, went for it and achieved something that is closer to the n64 game then the Nintendo Wii Re-Release multiplayer wise.

Overall I think that if you're the type of person who just wants to pop in for 5 minutes or 5 hours to play a game with your friends online, this is the type of mod you need in your library.

MrNonProfit says
9 MrNonProfit

Dec 17th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

Having been spoiled by such graphics intensive games as Crysis, I really thought I'd be turned off by the relatively simple graphics this mod has. However, I just realized how much fun simple multiplay fps could be! I remember all of this gameplay way back when with the N64...now I can take a rest from the standard FPSs and be nostalgic!

AD_79 says
9 AD_79

Nov 16th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

An outstanding mod that did what I didn't think was possible: To revive the spirit of classic multiplayer shooters. And as a person who really enjoyed the original, I can safely say that this is an improvement in every aspect.

The gameplay hasn't changed much, which is good. The only real change is the fact that you can use an actual mouse to look around, which was not really possible on the N64. All the classic maps are back, including my personal favourite (Facility), with updated textures and models. The Goldeneye weapons return as well, giving a great deal of variety and allowing players to find their own winning strategies. And if you're a person who doesn't care much for online play, there is offline play with bots.

Despite the bot AI being a little stupid at times and there's no crosshair unless you press shift, I don't really see any problems with this mod. Great job, modders!

spikeymikey0196 says
9 spikeymikey0196

May 2nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Hands down one of the best mods for Half life 2 :3 i would actually go as far as to pay for this.. keep up the amazing work ^_^

ps: Throwing knives would complete this, that and maybe create a campaign mode or something? :D what i'd give to see the old single player revived in this mod

Community Rating

Average

8.9

976 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.