Gekokujo is a mod for Mount and Blade Warband set in the Sengoku period of Japan. The name is a term often translated as "the low-ranked taking over from the high" and was chosen because it was a running theme during that era: Oda Nobunaga descended from a clan of deputies to the nominal governor of their province, but the Oda usurped them and toppled their neighbors; Toyotomi Hideyoshi began his career as a cook and sandal bearer and ended up the ruler of Japan; Tokugawa Ieyasu was an upstart who probably fabricated a claim of descent from the Minamoto clan--the only ones allowed to be granted the title of Shogun. As a player of Gekokujo, you will start from nothing and attempt to gain control of the entire country, making the title fitting.

Review RSS Feed Derwydd_Ieuanc says
9 Derwydd_Ieuanc

Sep 20th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

FINALLY a samurai mod for Warband! This is a cool depiction of Sengoku period of feudal Japan, the mod balances realism and gameplay nicely without making "too" many concessions in historical accuracy. There are only a few rough edges to be smoothed out and details to be added that could make this mod an easy 10/10

I love playing this mod and I get the feeling (I hope) there's more to come :)

spazmodog says
9 spazmodog

Sep 2nd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Fantastic mod.
Brilliant map, great soundtrack, fantastic units weapons and very visualy appealing.
ive only been playing for a few days and already im hooked.
this is a very well put together mod

Facyber says
9 Facyber

May 24th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

There are some error that poping out "lord_get_home_center", would be great if see more head armor with diffirent colors, expect that everything is great. AI works fine, weapons there are so many of them, castles...they are simple amazing. Keep it going people.

.Shiki says
9 .Shiki

Jun 22nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod ! one thing i noticed is the abundance of red armors used by 70-80% of the clan troops ingame.

gtabigfan34 says
9 gtabigfan34

Jun 13th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I really liked the game at first but then wnen i read about japanese history and then that make me feel lil' strange :/ You gotta put traditional japanese music not anime rocks and change the loading screens,oh and change that anime girl with something like this Wwwdelivery.superstock.com but all above that the game is great!

edliu111 says
9 edliu111

Jan 27th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Outstanding Mod! Very Detailed Graphics, captures the samurai theme very well. I love how so many other great mods are integrated into this mod as well. This is personally my favorite Mount and Blade Warband Mod. Almost flawless with two minor pet peeves/ The Battle Music can get on your nerves, but it isn't too much trouble to just turn off music and play your own (In fact, I took the music from Gekokujo-Shogun Edition and replaced the original's music and I liked it a lot better). Also, some of the No Dachi's handles look like their handles are way too long.

SSJSpaceWaffle says
9 SSJSpaceWaffle

Dec 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing mod with clear effort and well polished. I do recommend adding more benefits to marriage like kids that can be raised to be soldiers, generals, or mercenaries. I also think more weapons should be added. Not like western ones, a bigger variety of japanese weapons of the time.

godie3 says
9 godie3

Sep 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

good

redhawky55 says
9 redhawky55

Aug 29th, 2014

No review provided

dateryu says
9 dateryu

Aug 4th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.5

217 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.