Imagine, a Hollywood producer got his hands on the game. The result would be similar to what the Cinematic Mod is: a graphics blockbuster, redesigned to the typical game to movie adaption with an orchestral soundtrack and beautiful people everywhere.

Review RSS Feed medve says
9 medve

Jan 16th, 2013 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

every girl has time to wear a proper makeup in the middle of the combine war

Av3ris says
9 Av3ris

May 4th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

After playing Hl2 around 15 times (including CM8 & 10) it was definitely worth playing it again with CM12. The effort put into making every scene look as beautiful as it does right now must have been extraordinary. Most HD-Mods simply concentrate on making some HD-Textures, but in CM12 you get new shaders, models, environment props and completely redesigned 3d-skyboxes, too. Just judging by the amount of content created this could have been a completely new game. Performance has been improved significantly in comparison to CM10 on my PC (hardware specs haven't changed) and I also love the Dynamic Music System, which sometimes makes me feel like I'm Batman :D However, thanks Fakefactory for providing this old experience in a new fancy coat for us.

Doctor.Minigun.FoX says
9 Doctor.Minigun.FoX

Dec 31st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Visually stunning with fantastic anamorphic lense flare effects found in games such as Battlefield 4 as well as a dark ambience evoking a STALKER like feel. Most of the male and combine models are great as are the weapon models. It also runs at 100fps + on my I5 3470 650GTX TI 8gb pc and also loads much faster then most mods of this size found in other games. The mod is also very easy to install and has several customizable features, such as Enabling the orchestral score that this mod has to offer or disabling Sweet.

The only reason I do not rate this a full 10/10 are a few bugbears I have, which include:

1) Altering the core gameplay (I.e: Movement speed, Slower Crowbar and a realistic sprint animation). I feel these detract from the fast paced nature of Half life 2 and serve only as a hindrance other then anything else.

2) (THESE ARE OPTIONAL) The female HD models, especially Alex Vance look like a bunch of barbie doll latino prostitutes out of an Anime.While the actual work on the models is fantastic, they are a jarring contrast to the dystopian world the author has conceived. Also The Pulse rifle is just an MP5 with a holo sight on it.

3) There are a few minor bugs such as blood not appearing, obstructions caused from alterations in the level and the occasional texture glitch.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this to any HL2 fan regardless of these grievances as they are probably fixable with some sort of cfg file, and the HD Models are optional anyway.

(Notes: This mod is enormousness, 9.6gb compressed 36.8gb uncompressed, but given the ridiculous texture quality, I would say its well worth it)

PwrUsr says
9 PwrUsr

May 24th, 2011 3 people agree 3 people don't

Wow. Just, wow. This is Half-Life the way it should have been. Extremely high quality, brings the series up to graphics standards I bet you never through the Source engine could deliver.

Oh and BTW, I've already commented on this, but I don't want to hear your ******** complaining; if you don't like the music, or the models, or the fact that there aren't enough models, or whatever the fock else then don't download it and don't waste your time bitching about it. Seriously, once you've produced something better then, and only then will you have the right to coplain. Until then the mod is not only FREE but optional, so STFU. Thank you and have a nice day!

DrWayNe says
9 DrWayNe

Oct 6th, 2013

No review provided

xfckup says
9 xfckup

Sep 25th, 2013

No review provided

sunkenin says
9 sunkenin

Sep 12th, 2013

No review provided

humourprince says
9 humourprince

Jun 23rd, 2013

No review provided

Dr.Medic says
9 Dr.Medic

May 7th, 2013

No review provided

12BotG says
9 12BotG

Feb 4th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.7

378 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.