Imagine, a Hollywood producer got his hands on the game. The result would be similar to what the Cinematic Mod is: a graphics blockbuster, redesigned to the typical game to movie adaption with an orchestral soundtrack and beautiful people everywhere.

Review RSS Feed medve says
9 medve

Jan 16th, 2013 6 people agree 1 person doesn't

every girl has time to wear a proper makeup in the middle of the combine war

MushroomCloudGaming says
9 MushroomCloudGaming

Dec 31st, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Visually stunning with fantastic anamorphic lense flare effects found in games such as Battlefield 4 as well as a dark ambience evoking a STALKER like feel. Most of the male and combine models are great as are the weapon models. It also runs at 100fps + on my I5 3470 650GTX TI 8gb pc and also loads much faster then most mods of this size found in other games. The mod is also very easy to install and has several customizable features, such as Enabling the orchestral score that this mod has to offer or disabling Sweet.

The only reason I do not rate this a full 10/10 are a few bugbears I have, which include:

1) Altering the core gameplay (I.e: Movement speed, Slower Crowbar and a realistic sprint animation). I feel these detract from the fast paced nature of Half life 2 and serve only as a hindrance other then anything else.

2) (THESE ARE OPTIONAL) The female HD models, especially Alex Vance look like a bunch of barbie doll latino prostitutes out of an Anime.While the actual work on the models is fantastic, they are a jarring contrast to the dystopian world the author has conceived. Also The Pulse rifle is just an MP5 with a holo sight on it.

3) There are a few minor bugs such as blood not appearing, obstructions caused from alterations in the level and the occasional texture glitch.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this to any HL2 fan regardless of these grievances as they are probably fixable with some sort of cfg file, and the HD Models are optional anyway.

(Notes: This mod is enormousness, 9.6gb compressed 36.8gb uncompressed, but given the ridiculous texture quality, I would say its well worth it)

DahrRu says
9 DahrRu

Aug 7th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Here I will talk about the advantages and possible for someone disadvantages of Cinematic Mod. What let's begin. Cinematic Mod 12 - this is a remake of the game Half-Life 2 and its episodes from the German team FakeFactory changing the graphics component of the game, adding a modern graphics for games sample of 2004. It does not change the storyline, the developers added to the world of Half-Life greater gray tones and details, but the main advantage of not graphics, and game of light and shadows, as with their help, they always manage to make **** - candy, it all looks so elegant that you can put Cinematic Mod in one line with Battlefield in detail, although maybe I am exaggerating. It is visible that the guys really tried and their efforts were not in vain. Many do not like this mod and for good reason: the fact that in addition to playing the mod folder can be found thing called Character Pimper, he changes the skin of the characters in the game. You can choose other models of combines, insurgents or other characters, but for Alyx there is a separate "shelf", which from the frantic number of skins to choose any for every situation in the game where we meet with her and the reason Butthead are these skins and indeed on some skins at Alyx and in the truth face like a monkey *** that can not hurt, but there are pretty good, nice models, the gameplay is also suffered changes for example now have the option of targeting from sight for the RMB, Alt ERN fire now on MMB. One of the things that pleased me is improved artificial intelligence, now you will not be able just to kick out the work on a bullet-impenetrable rebels, now they are same mortals like normal people, and in addition to that, harvesters now working as a real spetsnaz! To me personally this mod like, though some things upset me but I, I can put this fashion assessment 9/10, because all he really stands.

Av3ris says
9 Av3ris

May 4th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

After playing Hl2 around 15 times (including CM8 & 10) it was definitely worth playing it again with CM12. The effort put into making every scene look as beautiful as it does right now must have been extraordinary. Most HD-Mods simply concentrate on making some HD-Textures, but in CM12 you get new shaders, models, environment props and completely redesigned 3d-skyboxes, too. Just judging by the amount of content created this could have been a completely new game. Performance has been improved significantly in comparison to CM10 on my PC (hardware specs haven't changed) and I also love the Dynamic Music System, which sometimes makes me feel like I'm Batman :D However, thanks Fakefactory for providing this old experience in a new fancy coat for us.

PwrUsr says
9 PwrUsr

May 24th, 2011 4 people agree 3 people don't

Wow. Just, wow. This is Half-Life the way it should have been. Extremely high quality, brings the series up to graphics standards I bet you never through the Source engine could deliver.

Oh and BTW, I've already commented on this, but I don't want to hear your ******** complaining; if you don't like the music, or the models, or the fact that there aren't enough models, or whatever the fock else then don't download it and don't waste your time bitching about it. Seriously, once you've produced something better then, and only then will you have the right to coplain. Until then the mod is not only FREE but optional, so STFU. Thank you and have a nice day!

FoxxyBoy says
9 FoxxyBoy

Dec 3rd, 2014

No review provided

DrWayNe says
9 DrWayNe

Oct 6th, 2013

No review provided

xfckup says
9 xfckup

Sep 25th, 2013

No review provided

sunkenin says
9 sunkenin

Sep 12th, 2013

No review provided

humourprince says
9 humourprince

Jun 23rd, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.7

379 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.