Imagine, a Hollywood producer got his hands on the game. The result would be similar to what the Cinematic Mod is: a graphics blockbuster, redesigned to the typical game to movie adaption with an orchestral soundtrack and beautiful people everywhere.

Review RSS Feed Mxthe says
10 Mxthe

Feb 22nd, 2011 25 people agree 7 people don't

Mod stands for Modification, either it is a Single Player Story modification a Multiplayer Modification or an improvement what so ever to the original game that fills more than one category (level design, texture, sound and models).

Other wise it would be call a texture pack, map pack, model pack ect...

But to actually re-imagine, re-make and re-mix elements to give a new fresh look and feel to an already existing game is no easy task.

The models in CINEMATIC MOD are simply the best models in terms of quality and realism that there are today, with the exception of the CRYSIS games.

That one person, is actually competing with a Video Game company in terms of overall graphic quality, is simply astonishing.

You might like, or not like the actual new feel and look of CINEMATIC MOD, but either way one thing cannot be criticized, the quality of work put into this mod.

From a designer's perspective, I give it an absolute 10 !

From a gamer's perspective, I also give it a 10, simply because I personally enjoy this new feel, look and sound for Half Life 2.

I do not think it is better or worse, but simply different and fresh, to me Half Life 2 remains one of the best games ever made, but this is Cinematic Mod for Half Life 2, and it's exactly what it feels like, a Cinematic Experience.

Redfed0 says
10 Redfed0

Jan 13th, 2011 17 people agree 8 people don't

The characters are beautiful. The mapping is gorgeous. The only quarry I have are the iron sights. Could use a more COD feeling. Other than that, absolutely brilliant.

HopeLessCatE says
10 HopeLessCatE

Aug 6th, 2013 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Very good Half-Life 2 remake.

freeman2001 says
10 freeman2001

Mar 2nd, 2014 6 people agree 2 people don't

EDIT: Let me clarify, this is a GOOD REVIEW. Don't take the thing at the beginning as a bad review!

Essentially...
"DUDE THIS MOD IS TERRIBLE EVERYTHING LOOKS DIFFERENT AND STUFF!!!!!!!!!! THE WHOLE REASON IT IS SO BAD IS THAT IT IS SO GOOD!!!!!!!"
Basically, that's what all the idiots who think they rule the Internet are saying. Every SINGLE reason that a bunch of people hate it are the reasons that I love it. Just go read some of the 1/10 reviews and you'll see what I mean. Just PLEASE, the Internet has enough people flaming about how stupid and terrible things are, just like the news channel. We don't need ANY MORE of this stuff, so just stop. Also, someone seems to think that changing the game's maps to make it look better has nothing to do with "remaking HL2 with new graphics." I'm not going to tell you who, but their username initials are MF. So please, if you think the mod looks nice, clear out a nice 45 GB space on your hard disk for it, and hit download.

nashathedog says
10 nashathedog

Nov 19th, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

Outstanding work, Well done guy's, The only thing left to say is: Thankyou for making me still want to play this game in 2014. It's a masterpiece.

scopedknife says
10 scopedknife

Feb 3rd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Nice, good thing characters are optional

Cyb3r says
10 Cyb3r

Jan 25th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

one of the best mods for hl2 updating the game to current day and improving immersion

kaicooper says
10 kaicooper

Jan 19th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

how come this mod get low rating like 1 or 3/10
i know there's some fans only like the original look of the game
but comon..if u dont like another great look then just dont
judge and give low ****** rate ..

with this mod ..game becomes the best experience ever in HL2 series
its like HL3 ..i totally love it guys

try it..worth the shot

Fr33man1991 says
10 Fr33man1991

Oct 15th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

The HL2 with a new look and feel love this mod very pretty and fun to blast through

TuskenRaider says
10 TuskenRaider

Aug 4th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod has pulled the best game of 2004 and its graphics up to 2013 graphics and above! :3

Community Rating

Average

7.7

389 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.