Imagine, a Hollywood producer got his hands on the game. The result would be similar to what the Cinematic Mod is: a graphics blockbuster, redesigned to the typical game to movie adaption with an orchestral soundtrack and beautiful people everywhere.

Review RSS Feed Mxthe says
10 Mxthe

Feb 22nd, 2011 22 people agree 7 people don't

Mod stands for Modification, either it is a Single Player Story modification a Multiplayer Modification or an improvement what so ever to the original game that fills more than one category (level design, texture, sound and models).

Other wise it would be call a texture pack, map pack, model pack ect...

But to actually re-imagine, re-make and re-mix elements to give a new fresh look and feel to an already existing game is no easy task.

The models in CINEMATIC MOD are simply the best models in terms of quality and realism that there are today, with the exception of the CRYSIS games.

That one person, is actually competing with a Video Game company in terms of overall graphic quality, is simply astonishing.

You might like, or not like the actual new feel and look of CINEMATIC MOD, but either way one thing cannot be criticized, the quality of work put into this mod.

From a designer's perspective, I give it an absolute 10 !

From a gamer's perspective, I also give it a 10, simply because I personally enjoy this new feel, look and sound for Half Life 2.

I do not think it is better or worse, but simply different and fresh, to me Half Life 2 remains one of the best games ever made, but this is Cinematic Mod for Half Life 2, and it's exactly what it feels like, a Cinematic Experience.

Redfed0 says
10 Redfed0

Jan 13th, 2011 16 people agree 8 people don't

The characters are beautiful. The mapping is gorgeous. The only quarry I have are the iron sights. Could use a more COD feeling. Other than that, absolutely brilliant.

HopeLessCatE says
10 HopeLessCatE

Aug 6th, 2013 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

Very good Half-Life 2 remake.

freeman2001 says
10 freeman2001

Mar 2nd, 2014 5 people agree 2 people don't

EDIT: Let me clarify, this is a GOOD REVIEW. Don't take the thing at the beginning as a bad review!

Essentially...
"DUDE THIS MOD IS TERRIBLE EVERYTHING LOOKS DIFFERENT AND STUFF!!!!!!!!!! THE WHOLE REASON IT IS SO BAD IS THAT IT IS SO GOOD!!!!!!!"
Basically, that's what all the idiots who think they rule the Internet are saying. Every SINGLE reason that a bunch of people hate it are the reasons that I love it. Just go read some of the 1/10 reviews and you'll see what I mean. Just PLEASE, the Internet has enough people flaming about how stupid and terrible things are, just like the news channel. We don't need ANY MORE of this stuff, so just stop. Also, someone seems to think that changing the game's maps to make it look better has nothing to do with "remaking HL2 with new graphics." I'm not going to tell you who, but their username initials are MF. So please, if you think the mod looks nice, clear out a nice 45 GB space on your hard disk for it, and hit download.

nashathedog says
10 nashathedog

Nov 19th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Outstanding work, Well done guy's, The only thing left to say is: Thankyou for making me still want to play this game in 2014. It's a masterpiece.

GAMIR_GTA says
10 GAMIR_GTA

Jun 30th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Convert Half-life 2 intro a Movie in 3D

PD: I recomend to play black mesa source, after play HL2 with cinematic mod and enyoy the HD experience, if you dont want HD models put the old ones.

Patres87 says
10 Patres87

May 17th, 2014 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Just great. The mods to characters won't be to everybody's taste, but as for the graphics quality, it doesn't get much better because there is no competition.

Fr33man1 says
10 Fr33man1

Oct 15th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

The HL2 with a new look and feel love this mod very pretty and fun to blast through

TuskenRaider says
10 TuskenRaider

Aug 4th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod has pulled the best game of 2004 and its graphics up to 2013 graphics and above! :3

ReagleEyes says
10 ReagleEyes

Jul 6th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

The high definition props and NPC models detail amount is amazing.

Effects like lens flare and bloom make things look cool.

Head shots actually instant kill, which adds realism.

NPC models and some other settings can be changed or set to Valve's default, and you have different model choices.

This is just a well worked on modification overall, and the people who don't see the point in having an HD mod can just stay away.

Community Rating

Average

7.7

379 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.