Estranged, the story of a lone fisherman, stranded on a mysterious island during a violent storm. Explore rich environments and meet the curious inhabitants of the island as you find a way back to the mainland.

Review RSS Feed hemebond says
6 hemebond

Sep 21st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very nice mod.

Seth1466 says
6 Seth1466

Aug 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

*SPOILERS*

Going into Estranged, I was expecting quite a bit because of all the positive reviews and impressive looking media. Overall, I was not impressed, but i was not necessarily disappointed.

Mapping started strong in the beginning. The outside environments were lush and realistic looking, and the inside areas were filled with appropriate furniture, but later on the outside areas seemed too open and empty, and the inside areas looked like bare rooms with a few scattered props. Maps were also lacking ambiance at times which threw out the atmosphere. There also seemed to be a lack of zombies which got rid of the entire "Infested Island" feel.

Sound and music were very well done. Sounds seemed fitting, and the music sounded superb. Like I said earlier, it would have been nice to hear some more ambient sounds. Voice Acting needs some improvement. Everyone sounds similar and talk almost like robots.

Story wise, it seems like everything that happens is really rushed. The guy in the beginning was acting like he really wanted company, but he sends you off alone almost immediately. At one point your on a train and not three minutes later you're on foot again.

Overall, I'll rate it a 6/10.
(I realize this is in alpha, and I hope to see it improve in future updates!)

KooBlu says
6 KooBlu

Jun 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A fun title, but it's over too quickly (Alpha 5). The zombie animations are clunky, and it doesn't help that every one looks the same. Needs more than 2 weapons in the game as well to make it a serious contender to other HL-2 single player games. I like the atmosphere and story though, and I also like that each segment is playable in about 15-30 minutes. Fleshing out the story, increasing the number and variety of enemies (from 1 to more), adding new weapons, and more levels will improve the game.

ThrillerProd says
6 ThrillerProd

Sep 18th, 2013 1 person agrees 3 people don't

So, I finished it. (Act 1 of course)

It's a big deception.
The first map was really cool, with a nice ambiance. After we are inside. And a lot of inside are empty, square, hl1-like, it's ugly. You need to add more details, more logical issues. You played very well with the env_projected_texture and lighting, but it's not enough. There is potential but no application.
The second thing is the gameplay. Boring. Even if you tried to do something good, the fight are slow, without any interest. Try to make them more dynamic, with better effect and sensation of firing (particles !)
The third is the history, no originality for the moment. Let wait to see.

You've added so many really nice shaders which you have exclusivity but they are not at there best rendering.

HTML/CSS menu are really nice ! I'm really happy to see them.

I'm sorry to give you only a 6, I like the intention, motivation and application but the final result isn't the best.

I hope you read this review and change a lot of thing !

I'm happy to play HL2 Mod, but I really like enjoy them.

(Sorry for my english)

botman1982 says
6 botman1982

Jun 4th, 2014

No review provided

ViolentValentine says
6 ViolentValentine

Jan 19th, 2014

No review provided

x5566asd says
6 x5566asd

Jan 17th, 2014

No review provided

LuvinToPlay says
6 LuvinToPlay

Jun 21st, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.9

398 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.