Empires, the award winning Half-Life 2 mod, combines the best of the first person shooter and real-time strategy genres. Fight as either the Northern Faction, remnants of the fallen nation of Jekotia, or as the imperial Brenodi Empire. Empires features:

Review RSS Feed petemyster says
10 petemyster

Nov 11th, 2007 14 people agree 2 people don't

Empires mod is my favourite mod of all time. With a seamless combination of fps and rts, its definitly something that you should try out. It has always been highly rated, coming in the top 10 of moddb's mod of the year awards with the 2.0 release.

Since then there have been numerous additions and balances to make the gameplay refreshing while also updating the graphics.

Empires is a mod you should not pass up!

zombieOnion says
10 zombieOnion

Nov 4th, 2010 12 people agree 2 people don't

The mod is not very good looking, but is fun to play.
Lots of cool tricks, lots of stuff to become good at.
Don't get scared away by the community though.

Trickster says
10 Trickster

Nov 15th, 2010 10 people agree 1 person doesn't

I first came to Empires in January 2008. At first, I was a bit put off. It didn't look that fantastic, and I was never that sure what to do. But I had a friend who already played the mod, so I stuck with it to keep him company. Nearly 3 years later I'm still here, and can say without a doubt this is the best game I've ever played.

Empires is an RTS/FPS, but lets make this clear. 1 person on each team is in RTS "mode", the rest are in FPS. You fight over refinery points in a variety of vehicles, which also have a variety of armaments which can be added to them, as well as different engines and armour, all based off what your commander researches. It's unlike any other game for the simple scale of what you're playing. With games as large as 32v32, things can get incredibly hectic.

The infantry combat at first seems quite simplistic, as there isn't a huge variety of weaponry. But as you get further into playing the game, the sheer scale of the tactics you can use due to the engineer wall emplacements that he can drop, tank support, squad powers, and so much more, you realise just how different it is to every other game, and how much fun it can be. With Jeeps, APCs, Armoured Fighting Vehicles, Regular tanks, Heavy tanks and Artillery tanks, there's so much variety. And that's not to mention that some day, there may well be aircraft in this game, which are being added as we speak (Although don't expect them that soon).

There are problems, don't get me wrong. The game isn't the most intuitive for new players, and that's possibly the biggest drawback. A tutorial map is under development at the moment to fix just that. The GUI can be a bit complex, and there are still the odd bugs, many of which have been present for a long, long time. On top of that, it isn't the most pretty game you'll play, although every release updates the graphics of the game that little bit more.

But above all, the amount of teamwork in Empires is what sets it apart from every other game. Ever.

bgriffin says
10 bgriffin

Nov 5th, 2010 6 people agree 1 person doesn't

Awesome mod that combines FPS/RTS. 4 Classes: enginner, rifleman, granadier and scout. You can play as any of them or also as a commander. Each class requires some practice to master. Learning curve is steep though but once you learn it, it becomes extremely addictive.

a-z-k says
10 a-z-k

Nov 15th, 2010 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

If you like cooperative team play you need to download this game, right now.

It is true there is a steep learning curve but if you read the FAQ, get in a squad and listen to the more experienced players then you will find the community to be broadly supportive.

Easy to enjoy and hard to master, I love the depth of gameplay that simply isn't available in any other multiplayer game period.

w00kie says
10 w00kie

Dec 3rd, 2010 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod is awesome

FailOverLoad says
10 FailOverLoad

Nov 15th, 2010 5 people agree 2 people don't

Best mod ever.

CyberKiller3000 says
10 CyberKiller3000

Nov 15th, 2010 5 people agree 2 people don't

Quite simply, one of the best mods ever made.

TrepValk says
10 TrepValk

Dec 16th, 2010 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Best Source mod out there, if you haven't tried it what is wrong with you!

But please read the manual before you start playing

Spitfire916 says
10 Spitfire916

Nov 29th, 2010 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

In my opinion, i've never seen a game quite like this. Your commander is playing his own RTS game where his soldiers are real people, whilst the men on the battlefield get all the thrills of any FPS game.

The hybrid of FPS and RTS go together flawlessly, truly an outstanding game. I've been playing for almost a year and no battle no matter how experienced nor noobie you are has ever been the same.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

868 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.