The Edain Mod aims to take you deeper into Middle-Earth than ever before and create a game worthy of Tolkien's books and Peter Jackson's movies. In our quest for lore accuracy, visual quality and deeper gameplay, we overhauled every aspect of the original game to craft a new, immersive Lord of the Rings experience. Discover the new factions of Lothlorien and Rohan, field new units and heroes for each of the existing factions, enjoy a visual style closer to the movies and unleash the power of the One Ring with individual Ring heroes for every factions. Light or Shadow, Defender or Conqueror... the choice is yours.

RSS feed Cirion92 says
8 Cirion92

Feb 18th, 2013 6 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod certainly takes you deeper into Middle Earth. More maps are included and there are new fractions: Arnor, Rohan, Imladris, Lothlorien. Also the already existing fractions of Dwarves, Isengart, Mordor, Gondor and Angmar are improved!

But ofcouse in every fair review there should be suggestions for improvement. First of all, to reach more people with this incredible mod the makers should really make an English version. Of this, the makers are very much aware and it should be a number one priority for the next update. Secondly, there are a few bugs in the new campaign, (which follows the war of the dwarves): the Mirkwoord and Dunland map for instance. These missions cannot be completed without the help of fixes that can be found on the Edain mod forum but they can’t however get rid of all the problems. This means that the campaign cannot be completed.

Overall this mod deserves a fair 8!

maverik99vc says
8 maverik99vc

Jan 16th, 2013 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Awesome mod, the only but bad problem is deutch language. PLEASE WE WANT AN ENGLISH TRANSLATION!!

DerMajor says
8 DerMajor

Aug 30th, 2010 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Well in my oponion this mod is hard to rate, it made many mistakes and had a long time without real balance-testing and simply added units and systems without caring much for the multiplayer. Sometimes a Hero got new Skins 2 Versions in a Row while some Units and heros (like Dunlendings and the men of Rhudaur) still have their vanilla skins...

On the other hand are many of their skins great and there are many good systems.

Some other guy had the opinion that "every Ringhero should be as strong as Sauron" which is completely stupid in my opnion, Sauron was the Lord of the Rings, it was HIS Ring, so i doubt that the Ring would give anybody as much power as to Sauron, every Ringhero should be use and powerful in it's own way, Elrong e.g. is pretty useful, he can reset the cooldown timer of every ability of a hero so you can use that ability again. He also spoke about Stronger powers... Spellbook powers? Nearly all of them were overpowered and the Late-Game was normaly like that: Player A attacks Player B hits the 25 Spell A'S army is dead, he has to build up again, b attacks a uses his 25 Spell... and so on

Benjiizz says
8 Benjiizz

Aug 14th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's great but I'd give it a 10 when it was in English.

Rayuson says
8 Rayuson

Oct 24th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Overall, really great mod. Nothing is perfect, but maybe one day this mod will be. The ET gives us constant updates, such as; fixing bugs , adding new factions, maps etc. Awesome work, thank you. :)

ugluk128 says
8 ugluk128

Apr 10th, 2015 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

based on 4.0
It's really good, the textures are amazing, and it's very well done Really good mod, My issue is I kinda miss the 3.8.1 style of open build anywhere you like :) but still good, Just miss the 3.8.1 playstyle

Badger-Brock says
8 Badger-Brock

Jan 8th, 2014 2 people agree 2 people don't

I actually give this an 8.7/10 this is really high for me. If the team keeps going the way it is going--this will be the only mod that I will ever rate 10/10 but that is if they stick mostly with the books and draw some from the movies. I really like the new resource/building ideas for 4.0 would like to see them eliminate the upgrade icon, I feel it is useless and just another thing to keep track of. If all buildings go up automatically--this will make AI more challenging, the game more fun, and you can watch battles with the AI's with more interest. Thanks for putting this together, I know you will do well!

nicrlaitheking says
8 nicrlaitheking

Jun 15th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

i hate german/ deutch so please translate it to english soon. otherwise a good mod

darkbind23 says
8 darkbind23

Nov 8th, 2015

No review provided

Morwereth says
8 Morwereth

Sep 4th, 2015

No review provided

Community Rating



1002 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.