The game that was meant to be. As the 2001 trailer showed us. Released. Check download sections, ladies!

Review RSS Feed micky_c says
10 micky_c

Apr 30th, 2013 9 people agree 0 people don't

This was amazing! The first level starts off a bit slow, and besides the new art and a few references played like an ordinary Duke 3D level (although the view from the top of the lady killer is stunning) and there's good atmosphere.

After you get the bike, there's a bit of a turning point and gameplay starts becoming more ambitious and interesting, plus all the references, both in-your-face and the smaller ones, and the obvious/exact replicas as well as ideas/locations etc which are only loosely based on the old trailers.

Is it DNF? No, but (besides the start maybe) there is not a single boring moment in the entire thing, and you'll have a huge grin every time you come across something from the trailers (especially when it's gameplay related and not just a visual thing). It definitely has a DNF feel, but some parts have it more than others.

Soon after you start, it grabs you like a vice and it won't let go until you finish. 100% Recommended! Go download now.

McKraken says
10 McKraken

Apr 30th, 2013 4 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

One of the most amazing mods ever created for Duke3D. An awesome experience which must be played to make it justice.

Kukov says
10 Kukov

Apr 30th, 2013 5 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

A very nice mod for Duke Nukem 3D, easy to install, very nice graphics (especially some "light" effects, and the sprites of the new enemies that blend in nicely).

Most of the things you saw in the 2001 trailer and screenshots of that time of Duke Nukem Forever are here (even the donkey), although, I guess due to limitation of the Build engine, some of the interactivity of the environment is missing. The developers have tried to implement various things like vending machines, keypads but where not 100% successful ect... The weapons are true to Duke Nukem Forever 2001 trailer which is good, there some new enemies and a boss. The puzzles are well thought particularly in the mine level. Duke Nukem says some new things, from other games including the actual Duke Nukem Forever (2011). Finally there are some voiced dialogs, where the voice is taken directly from the 2001 trailer.

Unfortunately the ending was sudden with the game ending at Hoover Dam. There are some thing from the 1998 version of the game, such as the truck which you have to lift to get to an exit, the falling rock in the mines (where it did not work properly but still), but generally there are things that I'd like to see such as Bombshell, the helipad, Dr Proton etc...

Even so, I would still recommend it because it is a extremely well made mod, that brings back memories and provides us with a vision of how the game could have been.

P.S. The actual game (2011) was pretty good and I'd also recommend it, but it had many bugs (especially the DLC), the humor and dialogs where not very good (there were some very good moments but generally)... (I'll stop here because I am not reviewing the other game.) Most fun I had for free in a some time.

DCEL says
10 DCEL

May 7th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

I had more fun in the first 10 minutes of this mod then in all of duke nukem forever 2011

The_Commander says
10 The_Commander

Dec 2nd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Has to be played, enough said.

DavoX says
10 DavoX

Nov 27th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's been a long time since I've waited for the original Duke Nukem Forever and it never came... Until Gambini and Mikko recreated it for Duke3d!!

This mod will give you a smile from ear to ear right from the start until the very last level.

It's action packed, has lots of references, it's extremely fun!

For a bonus watch the 2001 trailer before playing to get all the references!

Also remember that there's a DLC now for this mod, containing a map from Micky C and 2 maps from me ;)

Have fun and download this now!!

TheGamerGare says
10 TheGamerGare

Aug 31st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Not one of the most impressive mods, but definitely one of the most wanted mods. My only problem with the game is with how short it is. The mod is even shorter than the Duke Nukem 3D expansion packs. And the amazing DLC doesn't do much to make it longer. Another minor quibble is with the DLC ending. I don't mind re-using the same field kick cut-scene, but the "Duke Nukem 3D" screen at the end really should've been changed or even removed. But you really can't complain about this because it is in fact a mod. Not 3D realms making another build engine game, even though it does in fact look like it. I had a few double takes where I had to remember I was in fact playing a mod. It really is that well done. New levels, new 3D item pick ups, new drive-able motorcycle, new boss, new enemies and mini boss reskins of some of the classic ones and new weapons (even if they're just re-skins.) If you for some reason HAVEN'T played the game, I would recommend downloading the DLC and running DLC.bat and playing the main "Forever" episode through it to have the new shotgun throughout the whole mod. I absolutely love this mod and my main problem (the mod length) can easily be fixed with another update. Which hopefully we'll eventually get.

Orzie says
10 Orzie

May 31st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A long time anticipated modification, which has fulfilled the expectations. The amount of new features and the good old spirit of the game at the same time give this brilliant work 10 of 10. What is also important, the community feedback keeps the mod alive which fact certainly brings optimism. It was also good and nostalgic to see obviously familiar NAM and Blood concepts which have been carefully put to the game with a proper pixel art treatment.

Now on to some notes I made while playing, probably kinda subjective, but I would still like to feature them in this review [s]no one would read anyway[/s].

- The boss sprite is new, which is definitely an advantage over all other Duke mods, but its exterior looks damn familiar (Mancubus from Doom + Octabrain from Duke). I wish the boss had a little bit more graphics of its own, but who cares. This mod is awesome nevertheless.

- EDF soldiers seem pretty inactive, while I doubt it was not possible to code them to be shooting aliens for a little. Even in NAM there were soldiers who could shoot if ordered to, at least in multiplayer.

- The pig monster created from the Shrinking dude looks too much like a shrinking dude, but I guess it's a feature. In fact, it also looks really thrilling and gruesome, but 2 shotgun shots is enough for it to calm down while I expected at least 5.

- And yeah - too less levels! WE WANT ******' MORE!

Thanks for blah blah blah attention.

Silmarill_SK says
10 Silmarill_SK

May 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

THIS is the Duke Nukem Forever that fans always wanted!

DemonKnight666 says
10 DemonKnight666

May 2nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Duke Nukem has been redeemed to his former glory

Hail to the King Baby!

Community Rating

Average

9.6

169 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.