In this mod of Duke Nukem 3D, all 12 of Duke’s weapons gain experience points and upgrade as he uses them. Duke’s max health, armor, and some of his inventory items can also be upgraded. As you progress through the game, you will encounter more powerful monsters to match your increased firepower. Based on the popular Duke Plus mod, Attrition incorporates many of the same features (including advanced monster AI, bot allies, mirrored levels, damage effects, and more). Attrition comes with a large number of high quality fan made levels. In some episodes, missions are selected at random, and you must reach a certain score to unlock the boss level and finish the game. In War of Attrition mode, you face a series of challenges with "Invasion" style gameplay. Addictive with lots of replay value, Attrition showcases some of the best levels ever made for Duke 3D, adding new gameplay but keeping the essence of the original game intact

Review RSS Feed BenjaminShanklin says
10 BenjaminShanklin

Dec 15th, 2010 4 people agree 0 people don't

I can't believe this mod has a rating under 10, its incredible and really adds a simple effective system to Duke Nukem. I played through the arena-type missions and had a friggin' blast. Never has Duke Nukem or any game recently been that enjoyable. The installation is hassle free (unlike the other Duke Nukem mods) and runs efficiently well and smooth. I'll be playing this mod for months maybe even years to come.

10/10 easy...

ShadowEvoReBorn says
10 ShadowEvoReBorn

Feb 11th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The talented author, DeeperThought, worked hard and managed to produce a Mod that will ensure an insane replay value for the original Duke 3D levels as well as for the user-made levels. In this Mod, with different and better game mechanics, one can re-experience the original levels from 3DR as well as the user-made ones.

The Highscore Challenge allows the user to play virtually limitless or until the difficulty becomes too unbearable because, in this Mod, things do get tougher later on (but the player's weapons level up as well).
Even if at times it may seem very hard on the higher difficulties, you will always have something to help you out...be it a powerful and upgraded gadget, a similarly powerful weapon or weapons or even one of the precious nukes. I speak from experience since I managed to reach pretty high score numbers.
This Mod makes most of your gadgets much more useful as they are upgraded. This is a very wise move.

The War of Attrition gamemode consists of a series of arenas in which you have to defeat all enemy waves. Each wave must be tackled more or less in a different way as you storm through the arena trying to stock up on more gear. In this mode, Duke will be in possession of a potent radar that shows the location of the nearest enemy.

The Mod almost never crashed nor froze during my playthroughs. Be sure to get the latest version though(from Fissile.duke4.net ).
It works with the HRP (High Res Pack) as well as with the original graphics.

All in all, the Mod provides an addicting and interesting experience and keeps you coming back for more and more onslaught.

FistMarine says
10 FistMarine

Jan 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

In this mod, Duke receives upgrades for health, armor, weapons and inventory items. Health and Armor upgrades will permanently increase, while the weapons will get faster rate of fire and inventory items become much better than before. However to match your firepower, the monsters become tougher as well. There is also a "Death Rage" feature, where if your health hits 0, you are invulnerable for few seconds with 30 HP but next time you will hit health 0, you will die for real. Luckily there exists Death Rage restore powerups but only in WOA. There are also ROF and XP multipliers, which last for a minute and a very rare Invulnerability powerup.

Pros: The mod comes with over 100 high quality custom maps and they are randomly selected in the episode: "Random Missions". To reach the final boss map, you have to score at least 600,000 points and then a random final boss shows up.
There is also a War of Attrition arena mode episode, where monsters come in waves and you have to survive them in order to progress. It's much more enjoyable than random missions and I hope the later versions will include a Random Missions for War of Attrition episode, along with say at least 50 HQ DM maps, since there are tons of them floating around on internet.

Cons: This mod has also its own cons, I encountered glitches such as Dual Pistols' altfire using 25 bullets instead of 24 and probably more I can't remember. However this isn't the only problem, the later levels after reaching 500,000-600,000 become insanely hard and extremely frustrating of dying over and over because of those ******* Robots and evil Duke clones! I hate them so much! This happened in final map, Suburban Hive. Also when I reached final boss Alien Queen, I used my Devastators + Damage Amplifier and she died in few seconds. How come the final boss was so easy compared to those damn Robots? I think they should have their health reduced, they are overpowered as hell!

Other than that, I love this mod and I give it 10/10.

croserII says
10 croserII

Oct 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

THIS mod in my opinion surpass both duke plus and original duke 3d in all way, very entertainment and fun,vast variety of enemy and well perfect designed maps,latest version very stable, you come to point you can't stop playing,I recommend this one to all duke fan 10\10

Valherran says
10 Valherran

May 18th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This MOD feels like the new Duke Nukem 3D. All it needs is the Duke Plus features menu, and it is golden!

Keratheras says
10 Keratheras

Jan 9th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Just For the idea i give a 10, not many people actualy make a RPG-like mod for FPS games, but whereever i find them, they're simply in a word - amazing.
I was recommended by a youtube user named TheFistMarine, and i have to say the description is the perfect hook, i don't want to not play this now. For those who want to preview what the game has, watch my Let's Play Duke Nukem 3D: Attrition Mod series on youtube, at my channel; JacksonFelblade or JF-T.

I have to say that the idea of a game like this that keeps on going, is very heart-warming, nothing i hate more than to get to a high level, but to have to start over before even finishing everything, what would make the mod even better, that (if not already a feature) you would have your level files saved and loaded via files on the HD inside the same folder as the Duke Nukem 3D game files, or the Attrition files.

I sure hope you keep it up man, until it's perfect, even if it already is damn close!

micky_c says
10 micky_c

Sep 26th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

If nothing else, this mod gives you the opportunity to play some very high quality user maps. Again and again (not to mention the original maps.) The leveling system combined with the large pool of maps, which if they appear more than once, appear in a different order, thereby forcing you to utilize different strategies based on your strengths and weaknesses each time you play them. Worth at least a few playthroughs.

gamefreak42 says
7 gamefreak42

Jun 27th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't


7/10

Saladofstones says
10 Saladofstones

Dec 4th, 2010 0 people agree 0 people don't

Its a great mod that creates a great arcade game out of duke.

SwiftyMagee says
9 SwiftyMagee

Aug 4th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.7

39 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.