Dissolution is a science fiction, single-player mod for Half-Life 2 that mixes adventure and action game-play. Set in the year 2089, in a universe dominated by a mega corporate entity, Xterrier, the player awakes in a hidden lab to the voice of the mysterious Wilson. Guided by Wilson, the player must make their way through the ravaged Xterrier 581c colony, making use of any and all resources they can get their hands on in order to survive, all the while attempting to piece together the events leading to the colony's collapse and their own identity.

Review RSS Feed DarkRaidor says
9 DarkRaidor

Feb 6th, 2011 4 people agree 3 people don't

great concept

SelfishDragon says
9 SelfishDragon

Jan 13th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I really enjoyed this mod. It gave a great story experience and the universe it's set in really sparks a lot of interest. Although the combat felt repetitive to me, I really enjoyed the crows that you find a long the way, gave me quite a scare the first time I came across one.

I hope to see more works like this in the future.

slenderkiller124 says
9 slenderkiller124

Sep 29th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

really good not bad fighting but when there is there are alot of people the take out

zombieBacteria says
9 zombieBacteria

Feb 9th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod! I personally thought it was good, but has a LOT of unreleased potential. I would love to see whoever made this remake it, but take it to the next level. I would love it if this was remade for retail.

Plot: Yeah, this is where it excels. The plot wasn't particularly original if you're educated, but it is still pretty good. The best thing for me is that I WANTED to find the audio logs, unlike most games that have them. Also, I strongly credit how/when/why the information is given to the player.

Gameplay: It's alright. Doesn't excel here, but it doesn't fail either. It has a decent amount of keycard finding but it doesn't detract because that just forces you to explore the brilliant world. Only complaint is that the enemies are VERY overpowerd. It should not take 10 bullets to kill 1 person with no armor.

Level design: The design was very believable, unlike so many others. I loved that the company name Xterrier is everywhere. The layout, however, was not believable in any way. 'Nuff said.

zonbie says
9 zonbie

Feb 6th, 2011 6 people agree 6 people don't

The architecture hearkens back to the days of the original Quake. However, this is offset by including a great deal of dynamic lighting, awesome sound and music, and some tough action sequences. The whole thing feels inspired by Bioshock or (to a lesser degree) Dead Space. I truly enjoyed the horror elements and the unique new enemy to fight (not spoiled here). I think the horror elements could have been greatly expanded upon; if only the mapping had been more unique and expansive, the mod team could have built some breathtaking horror-inducing set pieces.

The mod is very difficult because citizens are naturally more aggressive than Combine soldiers, so play this one on Easy mode, even if you are used to playing on Hard mode. I was very thankful that the shotgun is fully automatic.

Teh-Critic says
9 Teh-Critic

Feb 6th, 2011 3 people agree 3 people don't

While playing, I noticed that the levels were somewhat destoryed and a errie music following. I thought I would be playing another failed Horror Mod for HL2. After dealing with the crazed maniacs, I had to go down a hall way to turn the power on. Seeing another one, I thought they where gonna come at me, then a glow came about. I continued down the hall to a busted down and another walk past futher in the area. Then I got a serious creeping on my back and I stopped. If the goal was to scare the **** out of someone, it did for me. The weapons could be refined a bit, otherwise, great mod. Best for F.E.A.R Fans.

Haunter360 says
9 Haunter360

May 8th, 2012

No review provided

4ScoreSlappy says
9 4ScoreSlappy

Mar 24th, 2012

No review provided

piotro007 says
9 piotro007

Feb 11th, 2012

No review provided

S1lv3r_Wolf says
9 S1lv3r_Wolf

Dec 4th, 2011

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.4

206 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.