Dissolution is a science fiction, single-player mod for Half-Life 2 that mixes adventure and action game-play. Set in the year 2089, in a universe dominated by a mega corporate entity, Xterrier, the player awakes in a hidden lab to the voice of the mysterious Wilson. Guided by Wilson, the player must make their way through the ravaged Xterrier 581c colony, making use of any and all resources they can get their hands on in order to survive, all the while attempting to piece together the events leading to the colony's collapse and their own identity.

Review RSS Feed dessertmonkeyjk says
7 dessertmonkeyjk

Feb 10th, 2011 5 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

Quite a good attempt for most of the designed layed onto one man's shoulders. The story was good but I did get lost here and there. One's thing for sure though is that when I heared the logs about Goldman's memory being erased by William and me waking up with no clue what is going on made me subicious.

There are a few things that bother me though such as the way NPCs were used in massive mobs attacking the player. This might of worked if you had a buddy but just hammering one guy that can be easily killed after a few gunshots just makes me panic when I see a simple civilian. There was a point that I had to fight off 8-10 guys with 35 health on Easy... maybe it's just me. At least the telepathic crow felt right because I just whipped my shotgun out immediatly and blew it's head off when I felt its presence. That's how scared I was of that thing.

Speaking of crows, the first time you enter the crow infested labs with all the crazy illusions worked really well. I'm curious though why there wasn't any other areas with crows that had similar illusions. Then again, that would give away the unexpected feeling when going around the corner and there's one right there.

The environment felt really packed and somewhat artificial (yes, man-made structures I get but the rock walls in the train tunnels... could be more rounder on the corners using subdivide) but there was some exploration which somewhat helped overlook it. Too bad I couldn't shoot out the windows to get into a locked room.

The music/ambience seemed to be missing in a lot of places and where there was music it could of been looped... which I'm not sure its that easy to do with Hammer but I'm learning.

Overall, a fairly good mod that can give you a few good scares now and again. Just don't expect the locals to play nicely with you since they love to rush you.

xxx.xxx.xxx says
7 xxx.xxx.xxx

Feb 19th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Dissolution is a linear fun action/exploration game wherein you
have to find your way out of a spaceship/station designed to shelter
the remaining humans from an catastropic world-war.
The game is simple and fun, though the missions can get repetetive and the
PDA's wich you find aren't really usefull (only for story).
The enemy's dont have many different weapons but thats ok, it will remind you
of System Shock 2 with less backtracking.
Overall decend and full of voice-acting wich is nice.

Easy to install and have fun.
download here: Moddb.com

rikuthefox says
7 rikuthefox

Jul 14th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

one of the more underrated mods for half life 2,a step up from all of the other one's this guy has made.

Pokrzywnik says
7 Pokrzywnik

Feb 10th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I really like this mod, had good time with it. The game has an interesting storyline, told in a System Shock way fashion (gamers saying that's like in Bioshock have got short memory, SS 2 was realesed 8 years before Bioshock and it's called Bioshock's spiritual predecessor I strongly recommend playing it if you haven't:)) good athmosphere with a few unsettling moments and great music which emphasise the mood. The graphics and mapping were also nice and i appreciate the amount of work, that have been put into them, especially for a one man project. Unfortunatelly the game has also a few flaws. I don't like the combat and I think it could have been done better. The amount of enemesis rushing at time is to big, I'd prefer enemies appearing more often but in smaller groups. Now there are moments that there isn't anything going on for few minutes and then, a swarm enemies attacks you. The enemies are also too hard to kill, I changed the difficulty from the default one to medium, because i thought that it would be too easy, but that was a mistike. The game can get really hard because of tough enemies and swarm attacks and unfortunatelly I had to use godmode for few fights (what a shame:P) And also the crows are small and hard to notice, when the first one showed up i was wondering for few minutes what's going on and what should I do before I finally saw him. But despite that - great mod, had good time with it and I'm really impressed that it is a one man project:) Congrats:)

agent00kevin says
7 agent00kevin

Dec 15th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

This Mod is very well put together. It has an intriguing story and some decent action. There are some things that could have been done better, but overall it didnt detract too much from the experience. I was going to bump the rating to an 8 for the fact that one person did this Mod, but then again it still should be subject to the same standards I would hold for any other Mod.

With that said, making a Mod all alone is a monumental task and I cant express the amount of respect and admiration I have for 8472.

RC2891 says
7 RC2891

Jul 17th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Meh, it's alright. Could of done with a lot of polishing and better enemies.

flippedoutkyrii says
7 flippedoutkyrii

Jun 11th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Not as bad as some put it out to be.

Yes, the story was meh, to put it bluntly. The Characters had no motivations and the script could have used a serious rewrite.

But this was a mod created by a modder who has come far from his previous releases, a modder who did much of the work on his own and above all, a modder who tried to create something on his spare time. And for that, I can't help but give him props for giving me (And us) an entertaining campaign to run through for a couple of hours on a (Then) snowed-in Saturday after shoveling 500 pounds of slush off the drive-way.

Above all else, great level design and custom features can help a mod stand above others, but a fun mod with entertaining gameplay is top-billing for me.

I've played all your previous releases 8472, and I look forward to playing more :)

Hayst says
7 Hayst

Jun 1st, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

A fun mod with a pretty good story but everything else is meh.

TheSniperFan says
7 TheSniperFan

Apr 27th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

7 out of 10 possible points for this mod are a bit much if I think about it.
Gameplay is too linear, graphics are lame, weapons unbalanced and the mod is way too short.
So why do I give this mod 7 points? Easy, because the story is not only nice itself, but is also told in a pretty nice way.
Would I recommend it? I don't know, because this mod is one special flavour of mods. Some will like it, some won't.
Personally, I liked it and that's why I give it such a high score, despite its many flaws.

S!C says
7 S!C

Apr 23rd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Although fights are boring and often unfair, and the map design is somewhat lacking, this mod shines through its atmosphere and story. While the story itself could easily be the plot of a B-Movie it is how this story is told and how much background info can be found throughout the mod that creates a densley packed atmosphere.

Community Rating

Average

7.4

208 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.