A deserted island... a lost man... memories of a fatal crash... a book written by a dying explorer. Dear Esther is a ghost story told using first-person gaming technologies. Rather than traditional gameplay, the focus here is on exploration, uncovering the mystery of the island, of who you are and why you are here. Fragments of story are randomly triggered by moving around the environments, making every telling unique. Features a stunning, specially commissioned soundtrack. Forget the normal rules of play; if nothing seems real here, it's because it may just be all a delusion. What is the significance of the aerial - What happened on the motorway - is the island real or imagined - who is Esther and why has she chosen to summon you here? The answers are out there, on the lost beach and the tunnels under the island. Or then again, they may just not be, after all...

Review RSS Feed bigboss233 says
9 bigboss233

Aug 10th, 2008 5 people agree 4 people don't

One of the most ambient mods I've ever played, in every sense of the word. There is a dreamy atmosphere prevalent throughout, providing the perfect backdrop for the complex tale that is told and carefully paced. This is definitely one of those stories where you must go through it twice to fully understand what is going on, and there is a lot appropriately left to speculation. There is no combat, but it works in favor of it's unique style. You'll find yourself exploring vast, quiet landscapes. After playing games like Fragile Dreams and Ico, I wanted to play something of similar caliber. I found it here.

DarkEther says
9 DarkEther

Nov 23rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

A dreadful fear of being totally alone on an island surrounded by nothing but water. A great experiance!

LINC says
9 LINC

Nov 21st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game is a true experience for the emotionally-inclined. The eerie atmosphere and isolation gives way for the narrator to present you some diary writings which further drive you to figure out why and what are you searching for. A long yearning for something unexplainable. After finishing this mod, I felt something was missing. Not from the game but from my own life. It made me "aware".

Penguin91134 says
9 Penguin91134

Oct 20th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I'm confused.

Homsardo says
9 Homsardo

Aug 13th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Just a beautiful game. There could have been more to it, which is why it didn't get a ten, but maybe that's also part of the glory of it... I don't know. I love it because there is no combat, there's not even really gameplay. It's just a good storytelling machine.

medickyle says
9 medickyle

Jul 21st, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

awesome mod very mysterious,the sound track is AMAZING it would be a 10/10 but i had a hard time following the story but thats just me. To sum it up
dear esther leaves the player many questions but not many answers

w00tage99 says
9 w00tage99

Feb 28th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Wonderful atmosphere.

Joxford says
9 Joxford

Feb 15th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is an amazing mod, great atmosphere and it does give you the creeps once it plays music, exploring the island is an amazing experience.

GusTheCrocodile says
9 GusTheCrocodile

Jan 25th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Some technical flaws (overly-loud or overlapping sounds, clipping issues, getting past map bounds, the unfortunate inclusion of kill triggers) didn't prevent this from being one of the most profound experiences I've been through in a game. Paring back first-person "gameplay" to its core showed just how powerful the effect of "being there" is.

Voodou says
9 Voodou

Aug 29th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Dear esther is a very different mod, not the usual FPS you see being made these days. The atmosphere of the island is strong and very ambient. It gets you thinking on why the main character is on this island and what happened to him, what is happening to him right now and what is going to happen to him throughout the island as a broken man.

As the description explains "The answers are out there, on the lost beach and the tunnels under the island. Or then again, they may just not be, after all..." I saw quite a few things on the island which i wont spoil to you but i can say they are quite interesting and leads you to where they're going.

The mod is very well made and makes you think. The narrator explains the situations easily and the mod itself is great to play and really gets you thinking.

So it gets a 9/10 from me

Community Rating

Average

8.7

975 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.