A deserted island... a lost man... memories of a fatal crash... a book written by a dying explorer. Dear Esther is a ghost story told using first-person gaming technologies. Rather than traditional gameplay, the focus here is on exploration, uncovering the mystery of the island, of who you are and why you are here. Fragments of story are randomly triggered by moving around the environments, making every telling unique. Features a stunning, specially commissioned soundtrack. Forget the normal rules of play; if nothing seems real here, it's because it may just be all a delusion. What is the significance of the aerial - What happened on the motorway - is the island real or imagined - who is Esther and why has she chosen to summon you here? The answers are out there, on the lost beach and the tunnels under the island. Or then again, they may just not be, after all...

Review RSS Feed Liam2477 says
8 Liam2477

Jun 9th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Definitely not a horror game but an interesting game to play.

roger8892001 says
8 roger8892001

Feb 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

epyon21 says
8 epyon21

Jul 31st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Legal :D

to-der-trenches says
8 to-der-trenches

Dec 19th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

WONDERFUL VOICE. AND THE LAND WAS SOO BEAUTIFUL i really am impressed it is just a pice of art 3D art is all this is just follow the trial and listen to this story i would shake your hand. it was just so well put together.
thank you for this mod.

dscjhbdx says
8 dscjhbdx

Oct 21st, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers


sorry

Doubletees says
8 Doubletees

Sep 2nd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Just finished my playthrough finally after wanting too for quite some time. I went into the game having my doubts on how exactly it was suppose to play out, but I am completely satisfied. I was able to immerse myself directly into the game that I cannot easily do with other games. While the story was a little confusing, it still kept me fully interested all the way through. The biggest backing up the was the outstanding voice acting. The only nit-pick complaints I could make is that it was so short, and I was really interested to read the writing on the cliffs, but could not make all of it out. Again, these are just me nit-picking things. However, I do recall seeing in GameInformer that this is going to be released as a full game, and I cannot wait to get my hands on it. Well worth giving this a try, completely different than anything else out there.

Fluffles says
8 Fluffles

Aug 7th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Good concept... the mapping is a little poor and directions are sometimes vague. Timing is also slightly off sometimes. It's interesting, and thought provoking, but only moderately fun.

AJ_Quick says
8 AJ_Quick

Feb 18th, 2011 6 people agree 6 people don't

Hey Dan

I finally got around to playing your work.

The narration was great. Stellar voice acting and writing, it really got me into the story. It genuinely seemed as though I was watching the last moments of a broken man's life, and that was quite something. However, it seemed that in your attempt to elevate narrative in games you forgot what makes a game, a game.

I was constantly being annoyed by the little things. Whenever my character entered an area where you thought I should have my light on, the light automatically turned itself on. This became almost comical, as there were times when I found myself wrestling with these "automatic" flashlight triggers, which seemed to toggle on and off as many times as I was prepared to back up and cross the trigger threshold again.

My character got stuck behind boats, barrels, and pieces of trash. I was killed when I tried swimming in water. There was no indication of which way I should go - the only way I found the correct route was by first getting killed by going outside of the map bounds, and then backtracking. I was unable to read all of the chalk text on the cliff-sides, because by the time some of it was fully visible, I was too close to read it.

As a demonstration of the power of narrative in games, I would say this mod is a success, and I look forward to purchasing the commercial version of Dear Esther when it arrives on Steam. As playable game , I believe this product has a long way to go before it can reach the standard many gamers would expect from even the most obscure adventure title.

I would love to see some engaging puzzles, a hint system, and a greater degree of control over the course of the narrative in the final version of the game. Fingers crossed you take this feedback on board and learn to couple your narrative strength with the possibilities of well considered, gratifying gameplay, because what you have here could truly evolve into a gem of adventure gaming.

ghostings says
8 ghostings

Aug 24th, 2009 0 people agree 0 people don't

Aside from the atmosphere rending glitch of the ghost at the radio tower, this game is indeed very atmospheric. I loved every inch of British isle that tredded upon.

DrRumpPhD says
8 DrRumpPhD

Mar 25th, 2011 1 person agrees 3 people don't

Great mod, good story and voice acting. The mapping could of used a bit of work, and I wish it was longer or maybe had a few puzzles .Anyways, Keep up the good work!

PS. Maybe give players a tad more direction through the mod? I was stumped sometimes not knowing where to go.

Community Rating

Average

8.7

977 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.