A deserted island... a lost man... memories of a fatal crash... a book written by a dying explorer. Dear Esther is a ghost story told using first-person gaming technologies. Rather than traditional gameplay, the focus here is on exploration, uncovering the mystery of the island, of who you are and why you are here. Fragments of story are randomly triggered by moving around the environments, making every telling unique. Features a stunning, specially commissioned soundtrack. Forget the normal rules of play; if nothing seems real here, it's because it may just be all a delusion. What is the significance of the aerial - What happened on the motorway - is the island real or imagined - who is Esther and why has she chosen to summon you here? The answers are out there, on the lost beach and the tunnels under the island. Or then again, they may just not be, after all...

Review RSS Feed KarthXLR says
1 KarthXLR

Sep 15th, 2012 5 people agree 2 people don't

A pretentious pool of word porn that sets itself on the shelf of "art-house" games. Only one problem. A game requires gameplay. The written dialogue is very good, but this is a plot with no obstacles, no antagonist; There's just nothing to it.

Just because a game is art doesn't mean it's not allowed to be fun as well.

DemoMan89 says
1 DemoMan89

Jul 22nd, 2012 6 people agree 3 people don't

1/10 No deathmatch mode.

wwaca says
1 wwaca

Jan 12th, 2013 4 people agree 2 people don't

****.

cahal89 says
1 cahal89

Sep 24th, 2012 5 people agree 3 people don't

Little more than an art project, nearly fell asleep playing this "mod". Player moves slower than a snail and nothing happens, nothing at all. Just make this "mod" a movie for the "player" to watch rather than trying to make it playable.

axiomaticstatic says
1 axiomaticstatic

Dec 18th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This is only a game in the loosest sense of the word. After listening to all the hype I tried it out and it wasn't long before I uninstalled it. I heard Dear Esther called a Walking Simulator and that is a good name for it...

Israphelo says
1 Israphelo

Jun 8th, 2013 2 people agree 2 people don't

a great big explore tends to get its explorers very lost or confused, along with stuck and bored of listening to somebody talk while moving as fast as a snail.

Ceroki says
1 Ceroki

May 29th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

Blah

StegoSigma says
1 StegoSigma

May 9th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

I see so many people talking about a great story and I just think... What great story? You walk around on a dank island following chalk drawings while listening to what can only be assumed is random sentences chosen from 10 pages ripped out at random from some bland book.

This mod sucked when I played it, and I can't expect the new version to be any better, unless in fact they give you more than a bunch of irrelevant sentences about stupid **** you have no idea about.

Awesome_lol says
1 Awesome_lol

Apr 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

:|.....

capsule56 says
1 capsule56

Feb 16th, 2012 4 people agree 6 people don't

I wasn't a game. It was an interactive audio book.

Community Rating

Average

8.7

976 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.