Cthulhu is a single-player modification for Half-Life. It contains 65 maps, 21 new monsters and 14 new weapons. Aeons ago, Earth was ruled by The Great Old Ones, beings so alien and terrible that merely seeing them would drive most people mad. Before man's ancestors climbed down from the trees, these being were defeated in a war with The Elder Gods. But their alien nature meant that they could not be slain in any way that we would understand, so they were imprisoned. And so they wait, patient and potent until the stars are right and they shall walk forth once again and wipe mankind from the face of the Earth. You play Ranulf Stafford, an occult investigator in Arkham in the year 1928. Drawn into a nightmare chain of events, you find yourself the only thing standing between mankind and the return of Cthulhu, one of the most dreadful of The Great Old Ones.

Review RSS Feed -=Zombine3D=- says
9 -=Zombine3D=-

Aug 23rd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

I have to say that this is a very good mod. The story is engaging and kept me playing. But the only thing that made me sad was the fact that the mele weapons you use deal barely any damage and the enemies kill you in two hits.
the story and environment compensates for it

Elnakadiaz says
9 Elnakadiaz

Feb 27th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Best mod. No words to describe-

Raffael says
9 Raffael

Jun 16th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Quite nicely combines few Lovecraft stories. I would love to see it remade on HL2 engine, but the Cthulhu2 project is dead. Still this one is a must for Lovecraft fans.

WalterREBoRN says
9 WalterREBoRN

Dec 10th, 2010 0 people agree 0 people don't

I love this mod, it focuses on the gunplay more than the actual half life did, and thats a shame as Half-life's gunplay could have been less generic. This mod isn't as good as it could have been, but it's still a *VERY* Good mod, definately worth your time.

phipe says
9 phipe

May 30th, 2008 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is one of the few for Half-life that I, as with They Hunger, come back to replay every few years. It is a fun mod and just as challenging as the first time I played it in 2005.

The maps are all different from each other and plucked from the works of Lovecraft. That makes it interesting for any first-time player to make progress, and a delight for some long-time Lovecraft fans to see what´s comming up next. On the other hand, the story is a thick Mythos spanning several novels and short stories all crammed into a Saving The World scenario, with noone but Cthulhu himself as the villain. Works decently for anyone unfamiliar with Lovecraft, but might leave fans with stirred opinions.

During the course of the mod you have to rely on several different tactics as your arsenal expands - it starts with a sword and a revolver, and the Run & Gunning doesn´t truly begin until the later half of the mod. Additional difficulty is gained if the player ignores the spellbooks. At least try them once! The mod was created with them in mind.

What´s really negative however, is the ugliness. The White robed wizards, Nightgaunts and Ghouls spring to mind immediately - they resemble retarded flying G-men and Gollum. Many of the weapon models interfere with the player models arms in strange ways. The mod also suffer from repeated textures and models from original Half-life, which make the underground maps very dull and the worst parts of the mod. You might recognise many enemies as being obvious HL1-zombies when they aren´t supposed to be, you know, Hl1-zombies.

The mod is difficult at times which is okey, but some maps remain purely frustrating. For example; The underground maze in The Ghouls Lair is still a chore to navigate, even after several replays. Whenever I get to this part I take it like a (smart) man and noclip through all of it instead of draining the fun.

Needless to say, it is flawed, yet I still like it. Play on easy, noclip if necessary, use the spellbook

recipeforhate says
9 recipeforhate

Jan 29th, 2014

No review provided

DIMONRAGE says
9 DIMONRAGE

Jan 5th, 2014

No review provided

OffyGhost says
9 OffyGhost

Sep 13th, 2013

No review provided

Northewinde says
9 Northewinde

Sep 1st, 2013

No review provided

Super_Hell_Knight says
9 Super_Hell_Knight

Aug 15th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8

82 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.