CSS SCI FI 3: Hardwired is a single-player mod for Source featuring 42 unique, goal-driven missions set in forests, farms, factories and islands. CSS SCI FI includes an interactive mission hub and full configuration utility which players can use to enable different styles of gameplay. Missions are goal-oriented and non-linear, meaning that each can be played and replayed using many different options and tactics.

Review RSS Feed TheRedSpy says
9 TheRedSpy

Jul 27th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Pros:
I really liked it altogether.
SMOD weapons were cool addition.
Crazy epic gibbing effects.
It actually seemed like there was a storyline to it with the maps.

Cons:
NPC allies are pretty retarded.
No custom voiceovers.
No actual storyline.

Get workin' on Hardwired 2 for god's sake!

Natey9 says
9 Natey9

Jun 13th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is a rare mod. Most everything is well-executed, and they somehow managed to create a unique, fun, re-playable, and challenging environment from what just seems like a bunch of weapons, npcs, and objectives.

What I personally like about the game is the overall customization factor. There's options for AI accuracy, AI intensity, gore, screen overlays, HUD settings, crosshair, etc. This means that whatever type of game you prefer, eg: extreme realism or dedicated Half-Life 2 styled gameplay, you can have it.

GAMEPLAY - 10/10
This game's gameplay is fun to say the least. It plops you down in a CS:S map, gives you an objective, and leaves you to your own devices to achieve it. You can do whatever necessary to accomplish your goal. The AI in this game is also unpredictable, so the Combine never try to do it the same way twice.

PRESENTATION - 8/10
Not much to say here, honestly. When I heard custom weapon models, I WAS hoping for more than 4 models. The overall presentation is nice. Personally I like the ambient touch. You go into each level completely silent and peaceful, so you just feel like you're really getting into a tense battle. Custom enemy skins are well done, but the Ace Combine could be a bit more detailed. All in all, well done.

Overall, incredibly fun game with a lot of re-playability, but not your thing if you'd prefer something with more story, which this game is lacking hugely on. Personally, I don't mind. 9/10.

TimeCrab says
10 TimeCrab

May 27th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Full of innovative challenges, and lots of replay value. On top of all that, it runs like a charm. Excellent mod!

DavetheZombieSlayer says
9 DavetheZombieSlayer

Apr 30th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

CSS SCI FI 3: Hardwired is a fantastic mod, but it has things that hold it back from being a perfect mod.

Presentation:
Overall the presentation is good, even with the source engine being as old as it is. I liked having the extreme gore and just watching the little things that make the graphics pop out. Some things in the presentation weren't very fantasitc in my opinion though. I wasn't a big fan of the gib models, the ragdoll faces, and the super combine. Seriously, just a black combine with red traser gets all that power?I also very much liked the way you could change your presentation the way you wanted. High gore seriosly kicks ***.

Gameplay:
This is overall the place where the game shines. You get lots of completely different maps with mission objectives and such.
These missions seem to have their own feel to them and make the expeirence very well paced. I wasn't a big fan of how vehicles were played out. Though, the APC seriously kicks ***, it fails to have enough of mission with them. I'd like to point out the lack of game modes aswell. It seems like a curse for mods. You ether get only multiplayer or only singleplayer. Having some sort of coop would be awesome.

Conclusion:
I would recommend this to any fan of single player shooters. I overall enjoyed it.
I gave is a 9/10.

MeisterTimbles says
10 MeisterTimbles

Mar 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The customization in the game is outstanding: as long as you have a list of console commands and the ability to write .cfg's for the engine to follow, you can customize every single aspect of the game. The difficulty curve is wonderfully balanced, and will make you have to think smart and tactfully on the last levels. The exploration to find secrets is the icing on the cake, and the missions are fun as Rayman Origins is colorful. I find the mod wonderful, my second favorite mod ever out there. Anyone who enjoys shooters and customization would most definitely love this.

JCDenton2000 says
10 JCDenton2000

Jul 23rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I think it was fun, however I believe that the last 3.02 update may have broken the Hopwire, because:

In the first campaign on the map de_prodigy when in the airvents after destroying objective A, I took a right. I found a Hopwire grenade, so I picked it up. there was no v_hands model for this particular one, and the game locked up. The hud also disappeared as well as the ability to switch weapons. I restarted and it did it again on the same part. Restarted again and skipped it and then after dstroying Objective B and climbing up the ladder it bugged up. it may have just been the map, or perhaps the hopwire grenade was broken in the 3.02 update. I will confirm one of these. Other than that, a great full length game!

to-der-trenches says
10 to-der-trenches

Mar 4th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

WOAHHHH

EnnemyOfficer says
8 EnnemyOfficer

Jan 17th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

If there was a standard of high quality mod, it's obviously this one would be conform.

Briggsman says
10 Briggsman

Nov 28th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome mod, and its challenging, and well thought out too!

andrewmaster0 says
10 andrewmaster0

Nov 25th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

AMAZINGGGGGGGGGG
hoping for this team to make another mod again:D

Community Rating

Average

9.3

300 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.