Contra is a freeware modification for Command and Conquer Generals: Zero Hour real-time strategy game. It's a big project started in 2004. It adds many new units as well as numerous new upgrades, new general's powers and buildings. It also adds new sounds, maps, bug fixes, enhanced graphics, and other effects, as well as three new generals. There are lots of people playing in multiplayer.

Review RSS Feed Ahrimansiah says
8 Ahrimansiah

Dec 16th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

alot of units and different way to use them! i love it

Capo_Del_Porco says
8 Capo_Del_Porco

Mar 30th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

The content is creative and well-designed, but it definitely takes away much of the semblance to the original Zero Hour.

What bothers me the most is that this mod took away something so fundamental as selling most buildings. It really removes several tactical options (like selling a building before it is captured) and forces the player to make permanent decisions about their base layout early in the game. While more realistic, I don't feel that realism is a dominant theme of this mod. That's not that realism is good or bad; the mod just seems to go towards both ends of the spectrum.

Also, the AI has some significant bugs, and oftentimes crashes will end an otherwise enthralling round (which, gameplay-wise, ultimately reduces to either an early rush or a tech rush depending on the length of the game).

Nuke73at9 says
8 Nuke73at9

Jan 1st, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

So the mod was pretty fun and all, but needs more improvement than i thought of. Now in worldbuilder, you have access to get the boss generals. in skirmish, Eh..., not being mean, but it is missing the action. The other problem is the supply. Ok, the price of supplies, is TOO MUCH! literally, 1,000,000 dollars in challenge! it wouldn't be a challenge, if the price of the supplies is too high! just make it moderate, like at least 50,000 or less. Maps, the toughest of my decision. Now the maps are ok, not saying they are terrible, but needs more, and needs the techs more. That means, we need new Tech buildings, and awesome maps. Units, i guess it mostly ok, but, if you wanna reach to 10 or maybe, world record, we need Naval units, tech Units, Or extra Units, like having a down bar to reach the units. Generals super weapon, some generals needs their own superweapon. General Assault of GLA, should have a super weapon, like an artillery barrage. Sound and Texture, Needs sounds, not the low quality sound, but High quality, like an actual machine gun, Texture fits in great. That is all

Airking1 says
8 Airking1

Jan 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Changing the voice for China and GLA ruins it for me, id prefer original+addons voices, then some of the maps are too small and need enlarging, the extra supplies limitation takes a bit off, but Generals challenge is fun and so is multiplay

56711Llama says
8 56711Llama

Jun 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Ahhh Contra... Such an amazing mod. I am forced to give this an 8, because I'm a new member. I would definitely give this a 9.5 though. It adds many cool units and also adds 3 new generals. It makes each general awesome, giving each one a different personality and taste. I would certainly recommend this amazing mod.

Kerv says
8 Kerv

Apr 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Contra is great, but needs more variety.

bassie10 says
8 bassie10

Oct 27th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

its a good mod but i want (and a lot of other people ) medium and easy back

Comr4de says
8 Comr4de

Sep 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

To this day many of my friends have played Contra, and still it retains the wacky nature it once and still does.

Very fun and enjoyable! Give it a shot!

BagaturKhan says
8 BagaturKhan

Aug 12th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

not bad, not bad =D

kssmayass says
8 kssmayass

Apr 29th, 2015

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.2

391 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.