Eastern Front is a free mod for Company of Heroes. Following the ethos of mimicking a Relic Entertainment expansion pack, Eastern Front has succeeded in adding two full new factions, the Soviet Red Army and the German Ostheer, packed with unique and exciting units to the existing armies - a feat never before achieved in the Company of Heroes world.

Review RSS Feed jaime95 says
8 jaime95

Feb 6th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Good expansion pack . When it's completely done , i will put a higher mark.

Velancious says
8 Velancious

Apr 18th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Good mod, but the Soviet faction is not for me. It's right now nerfed against the Germans, who can easily destroy them. I believe the main problem is that the units are overpriced. 50 munitions (under one doctrine choice) to upgrade a Conscript squad with a few extra rifles they are horrible with anyway?

I'm fine with the Conscripts being as weak as they are, but even when I'm playing as Wehrmacht or Panzer Elite I can literally CRUSH all their infantry easily just by spamming Volks or Grenadiers. With a little micro, their Conscripts will miss the molotovs and it will be gg when they keep throwing away the remaining munitions.

However, it is a good, solid mod that had a lot of work put into it. For this, I respect the team who made it. My only recommendations would be to buff the Soviets a little bit and buff the Jagdtiger (it's practically shittier than the Jagdpanther in every way except health even though it's got an amazing cannon). Its damage should be higher.

Can't wait for the Ostheer. I might even change my opinion of the mod alone if the Ostheer are added.

TheReviewer says
8 TheReviewer

May 5th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Company of Heroes: The Eastern Front ****: The Sun Rises in the East.

Company of heroes eastern front looks to add the Russian theater of World War II to CoH and it has done this in fine style. Boasting two new factions The Red army and the German Eastern Army, effort has been made to playing both sides a unique experience. The Red Army features new doctrines which allow the player to pulverize their enemy with heavy ordnance, crush them under the treads of armored behemoths or overwhelm the enemy with superior numbers.

Graphically, the units are extremely well made and fit in well with the art made by Relic. Red Army infantry however can sometimes look a little bit lacking when in terms of action animations (such as laying barbed wire) but this hardly detracts from game-play. Other factions have also received new units and clear effort has been made in ensuring that they blend in smoothly with their existing counterparts.

The new maps provided are also extremely well made taking the player from the ruins of Stalingrad to the gates of Berlin. The maps are intuitive and show extreme creativity although the AI sometimes suffer from path-finding issues.

Balance is something that has also been taken into careful consideration to ensure that the sides are not overpowered. The Red Army does sit a little further to the powerful end of the spectrum, but an experienced Reich player will be able to adjust himself accordingly. The AI is also well done, ranging from casual to very challenging but as said before does occasionally suffer hiccoughs with path-finding on some maps.

Overall however, Eastern Front is a very well made mod that reflects a lot of hard work and dedication by it's creators. Much work has been put into ensuing balanced sides and while there is a bit of work to be done, this is by all means one of the best mods that exist for Company of Heroes.

GeneralG says
8 GeneralG

May 27th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is a very good mod but it does have some problems. This is proberly because it is not finished yet.

doom44 says
8 doom44

Apr 26th, 2011 3 people agree 2 people don't

Eastern Front adds an entirely new faction. That is something new and a huge accomplishment! I always wanted a Soviet team in COH. Also, they managed to balance it out evenly with the other factions so they are not sUper ULTRA-PWNAGE 1337 AWESOMENOSS unstoppable, but then again, they are not too weak. This was pretty good. However, the mod keeps alot of the original elements. Even the original penetration system. Some new, realistic eastern front skins for the Germans would have been nice too. Plus I send in two T-34s, a SU-100 and a JS-2 to the german base. A panzer and a panther take out the JS-2, the SU and damages the T-34s. They retreat but get killed off by a stug. I think the Soviet tanks should get a buff, but all-in-all, its a good mod that will please many people.

{HEROIC}Elite says
8 {HEROIC}Elite

Mar 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Decent Company Of Heroes mod, the best that adds Russia as a playable faction. Unfortunately I thought the best version of this mod was the combination of EF and NHC. The next of this dual-mod has not been released yet but hopefully the teams will work together to get a combiner for v2.700. Good job team!

PurpleGaga27 says
8 PurpleGaga27

Nov 20th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

A good mod involving a fifth faction (as the Soviets) and some new maps but does not contain a SP campaign specifically for that faction.

DaggerClassStudio says
8 DaggerClassStudio

Mar 20th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

This modification adds the stunning might of the Russian Empire in the game of Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts, bringing a great multiplayer and skirmish game play with unlimited command points and great locations such as Berlin at the Brandenburg gate.
Played as the might of Russia to take over Berlin and this modification was a fairly good add-on experience to the world of game.

Graphics (8.9/10)
Gameplay (7.4/10)
Narrative Story Telling: 6/10)
Maps: (8.6/10)
Skins (9.1/10)
Entertainment (8.4/10)
Modder's Efforts (8.5/10)
Technical (6/10)

Overall result: 8.3/10 = 83% on DaggerClassStudio's Game Mod Rating
= An Good Mod Game

~Christopher Carlisle James

Darth_Lopez says
8 Darth_Lopez

Jan 17th, 2011 2 people agree 2 people don't

Good but at the time of my vote the mod feels...half done.

WaffleAndy says
8 WaffleAndy

Dec 12th, 2010 2 people agree 4 people don't

The Russians had ALOT of new things and stuff. The maps sometimes crash on us. The Americans and British had new tanks...but their color was all brown which was quite strange...overall, cool mod ;P

Community Rating

Average

9.2

1537 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.