Centralia is a first-person horror-puzzle game. Our focus is on the artistic side of the game so we have aimed to leave almost none of Valve’s original textures or models in our game. We'll also be adding lots of custom sounds. Some small changes will be made to the source code of the engine but this will remain largely unchanged owing to its complexity. Jim Fletcher is a curious, young, local journalist looking to make a name for himself by landing an exciting story on the ever-burning Centralia. He will travel from his town to Centralia, where a coal mine fire has been burning for half a century. The town has been abandoned for decades, leaving the eerie shell of a community behind. What will Jim uncover on his quest to make that all important good story? Developed by Andrew Furniss & Oliver Davies.

Review RSS Feed TheMutant says
5 TheMutant

Jan 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very short.. a good start..
REAL plus? It starts with no changes to gameinfo.txt or other hacks

flippedoutkyrii says
5 flippedoutkyrii

Mar 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very short, while very well detailed in the beggining.

However, the level design gets rather clunky once you descend into the mines.

But, I am looking forward to future installments, and I hope they are much longer :)

Gambini says
5 Gambini

Oct 19th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

The Good: -Good introductional video. It got me excited
- Everything is custom content and not ripped off from anywhere.

The Bad:
- Too short
-Subpar level design
-No action
-Overused scares
-TERRIBLE performance problems thanks to small texture scales, which also show horrible repetition patterns.
-Way too obvious voice hints.
-Models geometry is alright but they are badly textured and have huge spikes in lod transitions.

If this was an experimental mod by a couple of game development students, then: Keep trying, but remember that huge amount of polygons and huge texture resolutions can´t compete good modelling and good texturing.

Grim115 says
5 Grim115

Aug 4th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

nice concept, poor execution

DragonNOR says
5 DragonNOR

Jul 16th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

A cool and interesting idea for a story, but sadly it wasn't really well executed.

The atmosphere while out in the open was very nice, but then as you start moving around you can practically count the texture squares as they tile down the hillside.

The whole motivation for the character to investigate the mines is never really established, other than being curious and being a journalist, which in itself isn't inherently a carte blanche to seek death.

Include some more backstory like; He wanted to do a story on the mines and why it lit up (maybe sensing some conspiracy). He has to break in alone because he has already tried the official channels and the authorities don't want him to go near that place.

Voiceover was somewhat mediocre. The technical quality of the clips were nice as there was no static or buzz, but there was no acting or character there at all. Give the man some life and personality so that people can start caring about what will happen to the man.

Lastly, for the next installment, pretty please make it so that you can turn off the headbobbing. I felt borderline nauseous already before reaching the first bridge.

Good luck with your next installment, you have a good story and there were moments of very tense atmosphere :)

CuervoSp says
5 CuervoSp

Jun 24th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I really like the idea but there are a lot of bug to fix and the sound is horrible in my opinion. Another bad point is that this takes ten minutes to be finished or less. Will see the second part.

ProCrazyKracker says
5 ProCrazyKracker

Jun 14th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

too short

Starvation says
5 Starvation

Jun 11th, 2013

No review provided

MrSefe says
5 MrSefe

Sep 27th, 2012

No review provided

5blackwolf5 says
5 5blackwolf5

Aug 3rd, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

6.8

107 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.