Call of Pripyat: Redux is the premiere realism/difficulty modification for the latest game in the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series. Version 1.0 (released) brings numerous enhancements and tweaks to the game while retaining its original charm, but making the Zone a much more difficult place to survive. Version 2.0 (in development) will build upon the success of v1.0 and bring a huge range of improvements over its predecessor, including new missions, NPCs, script systems and even levels.

Review RSS Feed HoopleHead says
8 HoopleHead

Sep 17th, 2010 6 people agree 0 people don't

Redux is one of the most promising mods out there for Call of Pripyat. If you are a STALKER fan who loves mods that make the Zone feel as harsh and unforgiving as one would expect then you can stop reading now and hit the download link, this mod gets the job done.

The HUD is very minimal but gives all the info you need while increasing immersion. One problem I have is the glow around the status icons which make many of them look like indistinguishable blobs. You will get used to it but sharper icons would have been better IMO.

The weather is eerie and dark most of the time, if it's not raining there will many times be a thick fog across the Zone. To me the weather is perfect. I believe this mod uses Atmosfear 2.1 or at least parts of it, so it looks damn good.

Weapons perform as then should, nice and realistic. Any enemy that's not wearing an Exoskeleton can be taken down with a few well placed shots. Just remember to keep you head down too. There is much more diversity with the weapons STALKERs carry, which is great when you can get an SVD early on but it is odd to see bandist with RPG-7s so early in the game.

I felt in the earlier versions of Redux the mutants were quite imbalanced, but with the 1.05b patch it is much better. Blind dogs are fast, deadly, and deadly annoying but they now go down quickly with the right firepower. My biggest gripe with the mod has to do with the mutant groups. There have been times when I've been attacked by Flesh, Boars, Blind Dogs, and Pseudo-Dogs all at once and many times you will see packs of Flesh and Pseudo-Dogs roaming together. This just doesn't sit right with me, Pseudo-Dogs should be hunting Flesh not hanging out with them.

One big thing that should be mentioned is that the Upgrade system is gone. I wish that the mod author had put a better system in place before scrapping it. You can find more Unique weapons which kind of makes up for it.

In conclusion great atmosphere, great shooting, great mod.

mklowsky12 says
10 mklowsky12

Dec 23rd, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

i think this is the best mod for cop out there and i am a big fan. one i think should be added is the ability to go back to the prypiat under ground to go between yanov and prypiat instead of payed 10,000. also it would b fun to explore.

Voltek says
10 Voltek

Oct 31st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

One of the best mods for CoP

Dr.-Mantis-Toboggan says
10 Dr.-Mantis-Toboggan

Oct 29th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Awesome.

LordMalacath says
10 LordMalacath

Jan 27th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

One of the mods other than MISERY that I would like to try out.

saho_stalker says
10 saho_stalker

Jan 21st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I think you have spells to do something around multiplayer survival CooP modification :)

SQ5000 says
10 SQ5000

Jan 20th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Suport is perfect every patch is good and fix all prlms thx for the mod 10 points and i hoppe Redux v2.0 is all so good when is released

Brca95 says
10 Brca95

Sep 28th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

With all those features and new levels this is surely going to be one of the best Call of Pripyat mods out there.

Szabtom says
10 Szabtom

Dec 28th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

If you like to struggle for survival and immerse yourself in a post-apocalyptic environment, then this is the mod for you. I love it, 10/10!

CA-BAL says
10 CA-BAL

Mar 31st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Let me just say, when I first downloaded this mod I was suspicious. How can a mod promise so much and actually deliver? I brought my checklist with promised features with me. I hovered my mouse cursor over the "S.T.A.L.K.E.R - Call of Pripyat" icon on my desktop. I was anxious for what I was about to bring myself into.

I double clicked.

That was just the beginning. I got to the main menu, and started a new game. I selected the Redux difficulty (not like I had a choice), and suddenly a weight was off of my shoulders. I did it. I was now loading.

I was put headfirst into the game, stumbling about with damaged armour and a pistol. The immersion was intense. I checked that off my list. Off in the distance, I notice something. Something approaching me, alarmingly fast. I crouch behind a tree stump, draw my pistol, and prepare for the worst.

A maelstrom of dogs had surrounded me. I fruitlessly fired my pistol around me, hoping at least one stray bullet would hit a dog. I checked "dogs" off my list.

Of course it didn't. I was greeted with ominous red text, saying "The Zone has claimed another life".

I hit space, and was greeted with my desktop. Interested in what the crash log was, I pasted it into notepad.

Those who are squeamish, please avert your eyes, as this may set something off in your brain.

"stack trace:"

The most important feature, and the final thing on my list. I checked it off, and immediately set off for the moddb page to write a 10/10 review. I would rate 11/10, but it's just not possible.

Redux delivers on all of its promises: immersion, dogs, and "stack trace:".

This is truly the best mod of your lifetime.

Community Rating

Average

9

192 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.