Dark Ages in the British Isles were a fascinating, dismal time of constant wars, in which people fought for survival. A dark age with a deep blend of cultures. The 6th and 7th centuries were a time when invaders (Saxons, Angles and Jutes) tried hard to forge their destiny in a new world with the steel of their swords, shields and spears. The ancient peoples tried to resist, while they saw their kingdoms defeated and conquered by the “barbarians”, and sorrowfully saw how their beloved world slowly disappeared off the face of the earth. But other people must not be left unmentioned, like the Picts, who have always inspired great interest. Or to the west, another island as complex as Britain: Ireland in which many people were fighting for a piece of land, their clans, livestock and supremacy. In short, it is a world we know little about, yet a magnet for history lovers: a time of war and great deeds, where few kings (almost none) died in their beds.

Review RSS Feed MuteWitness says
9 MuteWitness

Sep 3rd, 2011 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

If you want a Mod for M&B, this is it. Look no further for this is all you will need. Trust me, I'm crazy.

marcus1380 says
9 marcus1380

Jul 29th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Nice/cleanest mod ive ever played, and i love the fact the you can dual any one not any one dualing you. and different dueling maps. I just dont like that i cant understand the names of the troops.

mcpacey says
9 mcpacey

Feb 19th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod keep up the good work!

grimskaal says
9 grimskaal

Jan 16th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best mods i ever played for warband.

Many new features that adds "realism" to the game, some examples are, construction of your own fortress, the religion, sea travel, sea battles, injuries, random text event, change the name of your party (with high enough renown), neutral places where there's a little adventure. The list of pros is too extensive to write tho. The AI is dramatically changes, for the best, combat is more deadly and dificult.
There are a couple of things that bother perhaps, like maybe the dena bandits are too powerful or that if you choose to be a woman everyone refers to you like a man.

Either way one of the bests mods out there for warband. Specially if you like hard mods.

CelticConor says
9 CelticConor

Nov 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Brytenwalda faithfully portrays the tumultuous Dark Ages in Britain and Ireland with a host of new features, building on the already amazing vanilla Warband. A brilliant mod that has lead the developers to joining with Taleworlds to make a DLC inspired by Brytenwalda, this great project has left a lasting legacy as one of the most inspired and favourite mods for Warband.

Vipsanius says
9 Vipsanius

Oct 28th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Complex, elaborate mod. Cavalry is not too overpowered. Armor penalties are a challenge. Gives a feel for the shield wall. I've come back to this mod with each update over the years and gained new insights into the thoughtful design and implementation.

In 1.41 can't seem to get my troops to level up - 5000 point battle and I'll win one level for troops but more for NPC's.

Luke_Portasio says
9 Luke_Portasio

Jul 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

this is a original idea, worked to perfection, with a lot of extremely good aditions to the game, making it almost a game on it's own. it's a bit chaotic, the religion makes it a lot harder, the combat is realy realistic, and all of this makes it a diferent experience that can change everytime you play it. one of the best mods i've played.

xXRafaelPlaysXx says
9 xXRafaelPlaysXx

May 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

WOW

hamzaayad says
9 hamzaayad

May 19th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

a great mod i gave it a 9/10 becuse it still has some bugs

Patrick_Winekiller says
9 Patrick_Winekiller

Jan 9th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I don't like M&B mods, except this one. Brytenwalda is not only fun, but educational as well. It has very few bugs and is very enjoyable. Every feature can be enabled or disabled as the user wishes. Highly recommended!

Community Rating

Average

9.2

586 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.