Dark Ages in British Isles are fascinating, a dismal warlike time, in which people fight for survive. A dark age with deep blend of cultures. 6th and 7th centuries were a time when invaders (Saxons, Angles and Jutes) tried hard their destiny in a new world with the steel of their swords, shields and spears. Ancient people tried to resist, while they saw how their kingdoms are defeated and conquest by those “barbarians”, sorrowfully saw how his belowed world slowly disappeared off the face of the earth. Couldn't forget to talk about the Picts also, who have always inspire great interest. Or about West, other island, as complex as Britain, Ireland in which many people were fighting for a piece land, their clans, livestock and supremacy. In short, it is a world we know a little, but that it is like a magnet for history lovers: a time of war and great deeds, where few (almost none) kings died in his bed.

Review RSS Feed kanaak666 says
8 kanaak666

Oct 24th, 2011 19 people agree 1 person doesn't

Brytenwald is one of the best mods for MB I saw so far.

Large world, lots of factions, extreamly large amount of custom content... This is not mod that simply adds something to the MB. It totally changes the game. It 'feels' totaly different. With large amount of factions you really feel that the world is living around you. On the other hand you might suddednly losing orientation in that chaos. It might be intentional ;)

I highly recomend anyone willing to try something totally different then good old MB. You won't be disappointed.

C-zom says
8 C-zom

Sep 6th, 2011 5 people agree 2 people don't

Best mod for Warband, but be sure to follow the official thread. Moddb is always updated last ,and right now it's up to 1.37 on the official thread and is way behind at 1.34 here

PcDragon says
8 PcDragon

Jul 3rd, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Would love to give it 10, but due to bugs i cant... Sorry. Read my comment for further understanding

Warfighter285 says
8 Warfighter285

Dec 26th, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

One of MB's best mods

Pixel_Golem says
8 Pixel_Golem

May 30th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Really sweet, I love it. Probably the best of all the mods that I've downloaded. The only problem is it crashes sometimes, but im not going to hold it against them.

Soulshaper2 says
8 Soulshaper2

Dec 30th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

brillant game play and some solid ideas, the only problem i have with this game is the bugs, they are a handful of bugs which ruin the game from time to time but if you can ignor them for long enough you can really enjoy the game play, and it has a lot more options then before with new factions etc it is a very good game and worth playing + it will keep you entertained for hours. im sure they will iron out the bugs over time but untill then its only going to be 8, but thats still a very good score.

Derp12465 says
8 Derp12465

Sep 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice mod

william031 says
8 william031

Apr 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

great mod adds lots of details to the game and the roman version for this is even more awesome

Macrath85 says
8 Macrath85

Mar 20th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I see many people making the statement "Brytenwalda is the best M&B mod ever". And honestly it is hard to find fault in that statement.

This mod offers an experience that can be rivaled only by a select few mods. The experience however is one of extreme hardship and pure brutality. Brytenwalda requires patience and more importantly persistence, early game is quite difficult as it will take a very long time to familiarize with this NEW game, because that is what Brytenwalda is, an entirely NEW game that requires a new play style with a steep learning curve. Brytenwalda is a mod for the hardcore gamer looking for a challenge that very few M&B mods can offer.

i would have scored this mod 10/10 if only it had a freelancer type option that would allow you to enlist as a simple soldier in a lords army. And possibly expand upon that feature by offering a career path to follow during peace times/while lord is stationed in settlement. A career like a Tax collector for the Lord or a city guard, blacksmith, hunter, court bard ect. With objectives/quests that have to be completed.

Brickfilmer says
8 Brickfilmer

Mar 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is an excellent mod that I would highly recommend to any experienced MB:W player. The immersion is great the map is superb and the amount of custom content is unbelievable. It's like an entirely new game. I would rate it higher except it is very,very hard. The game is so hard in fact that I cheated and made my character super human with infinite money and I still couldn't win most of the battles. There is also a strange glitch in the Naval Warfare section where if one ship collides with another warriors on the ship that took the impact will spontaneously go flying in random directions making naval warfare almost impossible. Other than those hiccups great work I hope to see more updates in the Future!

Community Rating

Average

9.2

535 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.