Dark Ages in the British Isles were a fascinating, dismal time of constant wars, in which people fought for survival. A dark age with a deep blend of cultures. The 6th and 7th centuries were a time when invaders (Saxons, Angles and Jutes) tried hard to forge their destiny in a new world with the steel of their swords, shields and spears. The ancient peoples tried to resist, while they saw their kingdoms defeated and conquered by the “barbarians”, and sorrowfully saw how their beloved world slowly disappeared off the face of the earth. But other people must not be left unmentioned, like the Picts, who have always inspired great interest. Or to the west, another island as complex as Britain: Ireland in which many people were fighting for a piece of land, their clans, livestock and supremacy. In short, it is a world we know little about, yet a magnet for history lovers: a time of war and great deeds, where few kings (almost none) died in their beds.

Review RSS Feed kanaak666 says
8 kanaak666

Oct 24th, 2011 24 people agree 3 people don't

Brytenwald is one of the best mods for MB I saw so far.

Large world, lots of factions, extreamly large amount of custom content... This is not mod that simply adds something to the MB. It totally changes the game. It 'feels' totaly different. With large amount of factions you really feel that the world is living around you. On the other hand you might suddednly losing orientation in that chaos. It might be intentional ;)

I highly recomend anyone willing to try something totally different then good old MB. You won't be disappointed.

C-zom says
8 C-zom

Sep 6th, 2011 5 people agree 3 people don't

Best mod for Warband, but be sure to follow the official thread. Moddb is always updated last ,and right now it's up to 1.37 on the official thread and is way behind at 1.34 here

Warfighter285 says
8 Warfighter285

Dec 26th, 2012 3 people agree 2 people don't

One of MB's best mods

PcDragon says
8 PcDragon

Jul 3rd, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Would love to give it 10, but due to bugs i cant... Sorry. Read my comment for further understanding

Pixel_Golem says
8 Pixel_Golem

May 30th, 2011 3 people agree 2 people don't

Really sweet, I love it. Probably the best of all the mods that I've downloaded. The only problem is it crashes sometimes, but im not going to hold it against them.

Soulshaper2 says
8 Soulshaper2

Dec 30th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

brillant game play and some solid ideas, the only problem i have with this game is the bugs, they are a handful of bugs which ruin the game from time to time but if you can ignor them for long enough you can really enjoy the game play, and it has a lot more options then before with new factions etc it is a very good game and worth playing + it will keep you entertained for hours. im sure they will iron out the bugs over time but untill then its only going to be 8, but thats still a very good score.

Germanic_Celt says
8 Germanic_Celt

Nov 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod. Great combat system especially. Definitely recommended. Only problem is that the start is slow and usually difficult. Overall the amount of effort put into the mod is amazing.

Derp12465 says
8 Derp12465

Sep 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice mod

william031 says
8 william031

Apr 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

great mod adds lots of details to the game and the roman version for this is even more awesome

Macrath85 says
8 Macrath85

Mar 20th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I see many people making the statement "Brytenwalda is the best M&B mod ever". And honestly it is hard to find fault in that statement.

This mod offers an experience that can be rivaled only by a select few mods. The experience however is one of extreme hardship and pure brutality. Brytenwalda requires patience and more importantly persistence, early game is quite difficult as it will take a very long time to familiarize with this NEW game, because that is what Brytenwalda is, an entirely NEW game that requires a new play style with a steep learning curve. Brytenwalda is a mod for the hardcore gamer looking for a challenge that very few M&B mods can offer.

i would have scored this mod 10/10 if only it had a freelancer type option that would allow you to enlist as a simple soldier in a lords army. And possibly expand upon that feature by offering a career path to follow during peace times/while lord is stationed in settlement. A career like a Tax collector for the Lord or a city guard, blacksmith, hunter, court bard ect. With objectives/quests that have to be completed.

Community Rating



603 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.