Prepare to see the most disturbing, sadistic and morbid manifestation of violence that you ever seen in your life. This is the definitive gameplay enhancement mod for the GZDoom and Zandronum engines. Warning: After you see it, it cannot be unseen!

Review RSS Feed sabin1981 says
9 sabin1981

Feb 12th, 2015 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Honestly, there's nothing I could say that hasn't already been said. The mod is nothing less than a work of art, a gory dripping red work of art painted in blood and guts and viscera, but a work of art no less.

It's fun, it's immensely cathartic and hugely satisfying to play and what makes it more enjoyable is that the developers even managed to retain the feel of Doom regardless, the gibs and the new body-destruction system *looks* and *feels* like Doom. It's deliciously moreish and I highly recommend it to anyone --- just don't forget to combine with the glorious PSXDoom sounds and music for an epic Doom retelling :)

diaboliquin says
9 diaboliquin

Dec 21st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Keep the good work. Awesome mod.

Zone_Lexus_50 says
9 Zone_Lexus_50

May 30th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

THIS IS THE MOST INTENSE, GORY, BRUTAL, DEMONIC AND INSANE MODIFICATION OF DOOM I HAVE EVER SEEN AND PLAYED IN MY ENTIRE ******* LIFE. IF THIS WENT OUT BACK IN THE 90'S THE VIDEO GAME INDUSTRIES WOULD HAVE BEEN COMPLETELY DOMINATED AND TEABAGGED by Id software. Needless to say, it would have also been DESTROYED!!! XD

Seriously, I have never felt so exciting when I saw the changes of what you made, especially adding the add-ons for the mod such as a new visor HUD for Doomguy, as well as new sound effects for both objects, action and from the zombies. Also, let us not forget the capability of RIPPING AND TEARING THE ******* **** OUTTA THOSE POOR BASTARDS WITH YOUR BEAR HANDS!!! XD

The hordes of hell are a lot more in number, more than you can count in DooM 3, which I definitely like due to the fact that you have the urge to spend up all your ammunition of every weapon for them demons without thinking twice. That is what I like.

I also like adding on the mod's music remixes of the classic DooM soundtrack. It feels more hardcore, more awesome, more BRUTAL, and more crazy. Makes you wanna pump your muscles and start off the slaughtering and saving mankind. In other words, this game just got more MANLIER in all manners.

But I must warn all of you reading this before playing it. This mod is not, and I repeat, not for the faint-hearted, a.k.a. a non-hardcore gamer. And like every people say, once you go in, you ain't coming out of it.

The only flaw I see is that the chainsaw shooting bullets? Put that one out, plz! Also, I see not music tracks have been remixed, such as those from TNT Evilution and the Plutonia Experiment.

Other than, BEST MOD EVER!! Well done, Sgt_Mark_IV.

williamqueen says
9 williamqueen

May 27th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Mazing level of details, perfect merge between 3d and 2d, more AAA games should have this kind of feel while playing, it's real different, it's been a great while of time since I play a game like this one, I'm definitely going do show this to my brother, game is all he's been doin lately, can't say it's bad ;)

rewards says
9 rewards

May 7th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

******* amazing update to a 23 year old game. Modernizes the game in many ways that aren't the same as the bland COD's that you get every year. It also helps with all the gore guts and everything.

StavrosSk says
9 StavrosSk

May 3rd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing gore and particle visual effects. The player's and enemies' projectiles look much more deadly. This is almost how the default game should be. The greatest part is that it can be combined with custom maps or other mods for even greater gameplay experience.

DougMayovsky says
9 DougMayovsky

May 2nd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

As a person who came to this mod rather late, I had high expectations, for surely such a well renowned mod had to be good. Thankfully, I wasn't disappointed.

The controls are tight, the guns are gratifying as Hell to discharge into groups of screaming demonic sprites, and its a welcome update to the granddaddy of FPS. Its what I love about the older generation of shooters, but pleasantly modernized.

Can't wait for v.20 to be released!

dxrchon says
9 dxrchon

Feb 22nd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is the Very BEST eldar Doom modification of ALL Time from any User Ever invented that has Single Handedly SAVED the Entire pre-Doom3series ! ; , *

JAsmine-ja2 says
9 JAsmine-ja2

Nov 20th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I really love this mod. It adds so many good features to the game. Playing DooM or DooM II really does feel like it did back in the good old days. I just have to say that the creator deserves my respect for achieving this feeling in a mod.

So, why just 9/10?

Well there are some (minor) things that don't feel like they're really perfect in their current state.
- The voice acting when saving a marine or flashing the finger at monster is of significantly lower quality compared to the rest of the mod.

Furthermore, there seem to be some balancing issues.

- Some weapons feel not 100% balanced (maybe 95% ;)
- The assault rifle feels a tad too efficient (maybe lower damage, rof or accuracy?)
- There seems to be little to no use in using the super shotgun. The regular shotgun is way better (much faster and almost equally powerful)
- The minigun shreds through pinkies like through butter (maybe increase recoil or lower damage?)
- The rocket launcher seems rather weak (maybe increase damage or splash?)

- Some enemies feel a bit unbalanced
- Lost Souls feel slightly too strong (maybe decrease hp or attack speed?)
- Barons Of Hell feel slightly too strong, too (maybe decrease hp?)

All these balancing issues are minor and just IMO.
All balancing issues experienced during Black Metal difficulty.

JetBlackAngst says
9 JetBlackAngst

Nov 5th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Brutal Doom is a modification created by a Brazilian Sergeant Mark IV. The said modification embraces the idea of morbid fascination. Brutal Doom contains more blood, more gore, and more risque/suggestive themes which the Classic Doom lacks.

Brutal Doom enhances the "demonic" feel of the classic one. First of all, the animation sprite of every single monsters has been modified to portray them as more sadistic, more unpredictable, and more "Hellspawn" than their original counterparts. These monsters can as well end your life by performing a "Fatality" on you. They as well have the capability of performing their respective finishers on their fellow demons (since this game contains "monster infighting"), and sometimes throw the victim's dismembered bodies towards you. A notable example includes the Baron of Hell ripping the fallen Marine in half. "Fatalities" not only apply to the Hellspawn, but also to the player. Upon picking the "Berserker" pack, or the "Demonic Rune", you have the choice whether to pummel your adversaries, or to perform different finishers, upon using the fist.

Now, let us discuss the weapons. This modification also enhances the notable weapons present in Doom. Not only that the weapons are polished with more fluid animation sprites, but some weapons have their secondary functions. When using the rifle and the shotgun, you can toggle the "aim-down-sight" to kill demons more accurate. The famous "super shotgun" has a secondary fire wherein you will fire only one barrel. In addition, you can also acquire weapons that cybernetic-looking demons use, such as the Revenant's shoulder cannon and the Mancubus's flamethrower. Unlike in the original counterpart, however, in this modification, you reload your weapons.

However, just like every single video games, both critically-acclaim, to the worst of the worst, this modification has also numerous flaws, and glitches. I will not mention them in my review to avoid further spoilers, but download the game and see it for yourself.

In the end, this modification not only enhances the "demonic" feel of Doom, but can also be a substitute for stress reliever, or can be a great tool for anger management. Instead of yelling a curse word on some random person, or destroying things for no apparent reason, this modification can be you saviour.

This concludes my review and remember...

RIP AND TEAR! RIP AND TEAR! RIP AND TEAR! RIP AND TEAR!RIP AND TEAR! RIP AND TEAR!RIP AND TEAR! RIP AND TEAR!RIP AND TEAR! RIP AND TEAR! YOU ARE HUGE, IT MEANS YOU HAVE HUGE GUTS!

Community Rating

Average

9.7

1072 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.