Welcome to Amaluuk research station, we hope your stay is a productive and pleasant one.

Review RSS Feed Mkilbride says
9 Mkilbride

Nov 26th, 2012 7 people agree 3 people don't

Mod would be perfect with a Flashlight.

As it is, you can walk past areas you need to visit, several times, wandering around in the dark loses the scare factor after awhile and just becomes annoying.

Also, I don't know if it's a bug, but that monster never "Goes away", i.e, he stands right in the only doorway of a room I am in, meaning my only choice is to die by him, effectively making that playthrough dead and I have to reload from some earlier point.

I love Puzzle games, I played Penumbra, Amnesia, and several other such games...But this lacks direction. It has atmosphere, and mechanics down pretty good. Story is one of those vague, Stephen King like stories, which is fun.

But it lacks direction. You're thrust into this world, with no idea what to do or why you're doing anything, and as far as I can remember, the character, you, don't have Amnesia. Reading around you can find out details about what happened and why you are there, but by direction I mean objects.

For example, you need a bottle of pills. There is 20 bottles on the shelf. You can run by, pressing E constantly and not get anything. But the Bottle you need is there, though they all use the SAME pill bottle model. The one you need, does not stand out, it is not another color, it does not have a name, it does not glow...this is simply frustrating. I don't want my hand held, but objects that you can pick up should be more notcable.

RjConn says
9 RjConn

Nov 25th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Few technical 'glitches' occurred for me, though overall was a great mod.

9/10!

Duckhead666 says
9 Duckhead666

Nov 25th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Extremely cool. Awesome mapping and spot on sound design complement gameplay that brings back memories of Penumbra quite nicely. A little hard to figure out which objects are significant and which are just scenery, making things confusing at times, but most of the puzzles are fairly logical and rewarding.

Short, but creepy as hell and definitely worth a try.

ElijahJamesAutumn says
9 ElijahJamesAutumn

Nov 25th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Overall this wasn't bad! I loved it actually. I found myself scared, sitting on the edge of my seat, fully immersed in the story. The story was decent, but the ending was abrupt and the gameplay was somewhat slow, short, and anticlimatic. The puzzles forced you to think, giving it a Penumbra Style to The Thing. A more "Tangible" Monster along with a Psychological Twist would be better, but the "Black Snow" was good. I like the ability to search the deceased (or are they?) inhabitants' laptops, giving you background information, allowing you to piece together what happened. A portable light source would be better than annoying HL2 Flares, like a flashlight, but it needs batteries? The immersion cell should've had more of a role than it did, but I enjoyed it. If we could get a DLC of the Prologue prior to Prometheus's Insertion or continue the story in the boots of John Matsuda. I believe this mod deserves a 9/10 for delivering a unique Survival Horror Experience. It was well worth the wait!

HoliestCow says
9 HoliestCow

Nov 24th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I wrote a long review explaining everything I liked, disliked then my Chrome crashed and I lost my review. I am now too lazy to fully re-write it so I will just do a basic one.

--- Positives

The intro was great and original

The Puzzle/Interaction system was great and fresh.

The atmosphere was unique.

The "Monster" was the first monster ive seen in a video game that I was truly afraid of throughout the entirety of the game.

The Detail in the various locations such as random notes, or person affects really helped immerse me into the game.

--- Negatives

The intro was good, but also left a lot of questioning, the only thing I got from what was happening was that, Im in the arctic and "**** Happened"

The Puzzles sometimes were very blunt and the items you could use were not always so obvious, such as the blow torch.

--- Over all I definitely think it was one of the better horror mods made in source in a long time, I definitely think people should play this if they enjoy scary games and want something new and fresh to play.

CuervoSp says
9 CuervoSp

Nov 24th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Really good work, I really like the atmosphere of the mod and the mapping is fantasctic too.

Nice work in general but with some bugs that should be fixed.

9//10

azgag says
9 azgag

Nov 24th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

great ambiance, the puzzles are nice as well.

LonelyAmerican says
9 LonelyAmerican

Jun 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Black Snow isn't one of your average horror games or mods. Not like FEAR, not like Silent Hill. It offers a different perspective from the eyes of a crewmember sent to repair a 'communications' disruption along with their team. In the not too distant future, you find yourself being hunted by a strange form of alien life, and seperated from your small crew. You are forced to find and gather supplies in order to continue pushing further. Your light is your only hope of survival. The cold isn't the only thing that can kill you. The soundtracks are quite well composed, the mapping is superior and the plot follows the script. I would have paid at least half-price if at all for this.

Moar_Cowbell90 says
9 Moar_Cowbell90

Nov 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

An amazing game! I honestly don't know where to start. It's incredibly atmospheric, and the story clicks together very well.

endosine says
9 endosine

Jul 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Almost like Playing The Thing except with great graphics and more bizarre story.

There's not really anything bad, i would suggest adding in a Flashlight which you could find batteries for.

Community Rating

Average

8.5

311 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.