Welcome to Amaluuk research station, we hope your stay is a productive and pleasant one.

Review RSS Feed codemanj94 says
8 codemanj94

Nov 26th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great story, great map, okay "spookiness", and good interactive puzzles.

Pros: Story, Intro "cinematic", map design, puzzles, and monster.

Cons: Sounds, abrupt ending.

Lt_Commander says
8 Lt_Commander

Nov 26th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Well constructed horror, with a great homage to The Thing. The ending was a bit of a letdown though. Otherwise a great piece of modwork.

OJSlaughter says
8 OJSlaughter

Nov 25th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The Amaluuk Research Station is a seemingly lifeless place: one that would be creepy to explore in perfectly normal circumstances. The fact that you have just seen, in an opening cutscene, the death of several soldiers to an unseen entity lifts it beyond that however. The facility may seem lifeless but you know that is just a façade: there is something in there with you and it is going to kill you.

Couple that feeling with the atmosphere Black Snow creates out of eerie ambient sounds and, occasionally, brilliant set design and you get a game that can chill you to the bone. The low visibility of the bitter cold tundra that separates the game's many rooms, increases this feeling, making you feel isolated and vulnerable: especially as staying in the misty tundra too long causes your life to fall.

Black Snow is fundamentally a puzzler in the vain of the old Point and Click Adventures. You collect items in a scavenger hunt fashion and then combine these items with each other or the environment to proceed. A Monster provides some survival horror elements but that would be more fun to discover on your own, I will say that it doesn't do much to please you and will probably feel an afterthought. The puzzling can be weak at times: it is often not intuitive enough and it can cause a great deal of frustration.

There is a lot to enjoy in Black Snow and the few hours that you will spend playing it are definitely worth the download.

NightCurse says
8 NightCurse

Nov 25th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

good horror survival experience

Ueki says
8 Ueki

Jan 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Short but good hope that there will be more episodes

MarsShadow says
8 MarsShadow

Jan 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Pros-
This is a really scary game, and is very good at letting you get in the atmosphere, I honestly felt cold when I was playing. And not showing any clear monster makes it really freaky, just something lurking in the dark. I would really recommend this game

Cons-It is very hard to find out what to do sometimes unless you look at every square inch in the map, and sometimes it's too dark to see where you are going, that combined with the fact that there is clutter on the ground makes it hard to run away sometimes, and there could be a little more heaters. The only other problem I have is the ending, which is abrupt and unsatisfying, however you do good in making some loose ends, hopefully setting up a sequel. ("Don't leave" on the wall and the key in the block, and the "coincidence" of the lights turning off)

So overall, great, horrifying game that is fun to play, but could use some tweaks here and there and a sequel

wedjeus says
8 wedjeus

Dec 29th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is great !
horrific atmosphere, slow vision range, no flashlight, realistic environement... (Clarisse is pretty !)
The mod is short, the map is small, but you can be lost several times anyway.
I would have give 9/10, but...
The end is too abrupt and frustrating.

A great mod anyway, for peoples who loveto be scared in the dark

Boomsicle says
8 Boomsicle

Dec 20th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Holy ****. If this was done with no coding whatsoever then you've made a breakthrough on what the Source SDK can do!

Ziggylata says
8 Ziggylata

Dec 10th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing mod, everything was perfect about it.
The only thing I wish would have been changed would be the fact that its so short for the size that it is.
There should be more content and shouldnt have ended so abruptly...
Even if there was hidden story plots that ment for it to end like that.
I know there was a hidden backstory with the one lady and islamic guy but comon... You could've had so much more content..!

Gambini says
8 Gambini

Dec 1st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I gave up trying to finish this mod. That´s something sad to say because i was quite excited about fixing the snowmobile.

This mod is a strange combination of good taste in design and bad gameplay choices. It´s that kind of mod where you feel impotent. You are slow, helpless without any kind of defense more than running. Not only that, because as a parody to The Stanley´s Parable´s gallows humor: You´re being told what to think everytime you find something to look/interact. I was surprised I was allowed to savegames at my pace.

Still, almost everything is good looking and blends well with the environment. There´s plenty of specific props enhancing the feel of this artic base and color correction is more or less well applied. Lighting is mostly well applied too as darkness makes you feel uncomfortable so you end up following the light, like a bug that flies around a bulb. And I say mostly, because unfortunately there are a couple of dark spots that will give you a hard time at the time of advancing. I, for example, had to disable color correction because I entered this "the thing" building with -25 health, so everything was B&W and that got me wandering several minutes trying to find what to do, once color correction was disabled i could see a red light in the roof pointing me where to go. This was not too far from where I gave up, as I wouldn´t be able to make it to the next building because of the low health -this being a mere example of unbalanced gameplay-.

In short: more to look at than to have fun with but still worth your time.

Community Rating

Average

8.5

314 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.