Welcome to Amaluuk research station, we hope your stay is a productive and pleasant one.

Review RSS Feed medve says
7 medve

Nov 27th, 2012 4 people agree 0 people don't

more hints, more logic. the ambient and other sounds are excellent. could use more custom content besides retextured hl stuff.

malidir says
7 malidir

Dec 1st, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Nice mod, nice environment. Managed to create a good experience without a single shot!

The single issue is the ending. I mean, STOP WITH THE "all you did mean absolutely nothing" ending... You not only figuratively, but literally blew all our expectations on finding out more about the base, the floating spores, the stuff on the ground... Just don't.

Knights says
7 Knights

Dec 3rd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Frustration was on the high for the mod. Just because you know what's what doesn't mean the players knows. This mod had a good idea and I love you're thinking outside the box on it but the monster was scary at first but then became annoying. I wanted to explore outside but that was tarnished by freezing up. Those oil barrels should be able to be lit up to stay warm. The environment was good though with an interesting location but the level design was too boxy in design hidden by dark lighting. GG feels like it could of been worked on longer...

jimmynunchucks says
7 jimmynunchucks

Nov 27th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very cool mod! Nicely designed.

I loved the atmosphere the best, it's pretty mind-fucky and psychological.

morder553 says
7 morder553

Nov 26th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

scary =D

Chaos_Engine says
7 Chaos_Engine

Jun 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Black Snow was recommended by Markiplier, so I figured I'd give it a shot. I'm glad I did.

The environments are DARK. I've heard a lot of people complain about the lack of flashlight, but I found that one of the most terrifying aspects. Travelling into the darkness without a light source beyond some flares is tense and nerve-wracking.

Trust me when I say that it looks, and sounds, like you're trapped in the middle of the night in a frozen wasteland. The entire station feels empty... except when it doesn't. Those are some of the most terrifying moments, when you realize that aside from the black fungus chasing you in the dark, SOMETHING else is there with you.

All the while you're hoping, praying, and begging that the light is strong enough to stop the fungus from reaching you, because it HURTS when it hits you. I refer to pucker factor a lot when I play scary games; this mod has one heck of a pucker factor.

Now that I'm done gushing, why only 7/10 do I hear you cry?

Black Snow borrows very heavily from Penumbra, which is totally okay, because it works. However, there's another story entirely in the background, involving a field of sunflowers, and a black silhouette on the horizon. It screams and rages at the chance to be told.

This is then shattered by a completely purportless and abrupt ending.

That could work. It DID, with Bioshock 2. The story had reached a proper ending point in that game, and then caused one heck of a sucker-punch to the player. This time around though, the story goes largely untold. I think Black Snow was meant to be longer. Or there was a sequel in planning that never happened.

If their next project is the full Black Snow (as the post on the main page suggests), I'd buy it. I'd buy it, if nothing else to see how it was meant to end, because DAMN, this was shaping up to be just plain CHILLING.

The ending and short length, coupled with the lack of replay value and a couple glitches are what takes away a perfect score.

Play it anyway.

The_Phantom_Chicken says
7 The_Phantom_Chicken

Mar 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The atmosphere is superb. The arctic research station is devoid of any companions yet quickly you realize that you are not alone. The question is who or what is there with you? An interesting game mechanic is that of the fear of the unknown via darkness and the safety of knowledge via illumination. Often the darkness is where death resides and will result in a quick death for the player. It makes the tension powerful and there are moments when the lights flicker that you fear for life itself. This is the sign of a high quality horror/survival gaming experience and there are several within the Black Snow mod.

There are some rough edges to be found. Some items are of questionable value and importance, but I believe their inclusion to be for background story development and ambiance. The locked computers are a strong example of this. Why have these locked systems be usable items without any purpose being served when other computer stations are not usable? Also, the computer user interfaces and the x-ray display are not the easiest to use. For the computer systems it was not too bad but manipulating the x-rays is a pain that I still haven't mastered yet. While this may sound like problems abound, they do not. I'm just explaining a couple of rough points that could use some refinement in an otherwise worthwhile experience.

Give Black Snow a go. I probably spent about three hours on it due to trial-and-error and backtracking primarily. I'm sure it can be completed in an hour with a bit of luck.

Darth_Rhevar says
7 Darth_Rhevar

Feb 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The premise is pretty solid for the most part.

The game's premise is that you're with a rescue team dispatched to investigate a base with the personal that has mysteriously disappeared after a comn failiure. You soon find out that this place has gone through complete hell and you're team is decimated to the point where you're the only surivior and must find a way to escape the threat has killed your team, the personal, and soon you.

That's not bad set up at all! You really get the feeling of isolation that character is going through after everything goes south in this horror game. The monster is pretty creative and the atmosphere is definitly a thumbs up all the way through! The puzzles are innovative as well as the gameplay. One of the best parts is that there aren't any jump scares from what I've seen! That makes the experience all the more horrifying without those crappy cop outs.

This mod is above average and is enjoyable (Although not as good as say Nightmare House 2). The ending however kills some of the value. You think that with something this good and building up very well, we'd get a satisfying, conclusive ending...we do not. Instead we get the map, bomb blows you up, you die, game over. WTF?! Is that even an ending to begin with?! It seemed like the game just stopped and refused to go on after that point. Its downright LAZY and slap in the face to those who wanted an actual ending! Everything you do in the game becomes IRRELEVANT at that point!

Had the ending not been so abrupt and complete ******** than this game would've been an eight or nine but a 7/10 is the final score for me. I'd reccomend it if you want a scary experience which I definitly had (for the most part). But if abrupt and lazy endings bother you (As in there isn't an ending at all), pass on it because this game has no ending.

էurຮka says
7 էurຮka

Dec 2nd, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Yes great atmosphere, great details, well made monster and maps.

But only 7/10 because the story is heard so many times and I kinda figured it out before the game even started, and after seeing the fungi-growth-thingy under the bed I knew what to expect. Some researchers find something that happens to kill everything, and they end up being bombed up or saved and THEN being blown up.

Also I spent hours dying in the end with 15 health and a really dark black/white screen (what a stupid effect, what was anyone thinking) in the end to figure out the door code (the puzzle didn't help, I just got the numbers from there and tried all sorts of combinations on the lock)and I ended up getting no answers for anything. It just blew up.

Also I was told it was horror, played in the night with headphones loud, but it is not horror, just a scifi-thriller with a lame ending after getting frustrated on the da*n door code.

In summary, the story would have been better told right, none of the "notes" and computers had anything related to finding out what has happened. Also the game isn't scary enough to be this dark :|

alencore says
7 alencore

Aug 10th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.5

309 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.