Run. Think. Shoot. Live. Source. Black Mesa is the Half-Life 2 total conversion of the original Half-Life game. Utilizing the Source engine and its endless array of possibilities and powers, Black Mesa will throw you into the world that started the Half-Life continuum and introduced Gordon Freeman to the world as a gun-toting, bullet-dodging Ph.D. in Theoretical Physics.

Review RSS Feed Elitesse says
6 Elitesse

Oct 22nd, 2013 3 people agree 4 people don't

I enjoyed Black Mesa, but there's nothing out there quite like HL1. The atmosphere, the weapon feel, the AI...all near perfect in HL1.
I don't think they really understand what made Half-Life so successfull at the first place. It's a poor attempt to rebuild (or reimagine) Half-Life using Half-Life 2's technology. Good visuals, poor gameplay.

OttoNL says
6 OttoNL

Sep 10th, 2013 1 person agrees 5 people don't

Stairs are super buggy, even worse then in hl2. Gun sounds are way to trebly and hurt your ears really quickly when using good headphones. Some voices are good, some are very bad. At some points music starts blasting making it very desorienting.
Maps and everything are good, but the finishing touches make or break it and I'm not convinced myself. Can't see how in hell this got a 9,7

SingleMom says
6 SingleMom

Sep 20th, 2012 1 person agrees 5 people don't

Good looking game with lackluster combat. Throw out the weapons and redo them from scratch.

TheUnabridgedGamer says
6 TheUnabridgedGamer

Oct 7th, 2012 2 people agree 18 people don't

A good if questionable experience. The mod has way too many difficulty spikes even on Easy. While more realistic, this still primarily plays like the original Half-Life, so there's parts where you'll be in the mindset of "I'm playing a game from 1997 remade to be all pretty and with a weapon that now has iron-sights!" or "I'm fighting for my life and the game thinks this is Demon Souls!"

Also, this is one of the few mods that has really shown me the Source engine's age. The animations can range between highly life-like to feeling so false they are immersion breaking.

So all in all, it wasn't an unpleasant experience, but eventually Half-Life's level design got annoying enough that I had to resort to No_Clip once again, just like in the original, when my patience was put to the limit. I navigated FEAR's maps and they all looked the same, and yet I had trouble here.

And a last minute suggestion to the devs: Let us skip the intro sequence if we want to get to the action. I actually set the game to windowed mode and got online with my D&D group while I waited for the gameplay to start. Yes it is significant and yes it is world building but if I want to skip it I should be damn well able to. There are times when we can't sit around for the intro drive or for Isaac to take nearly 2 minutes to swap between suits.

TheSilverKnight says
6 TheSilverKnight

Sep 17th, 2012 2 people agree 35 people don't

Not Enough Anime. Thus anime was added.

Alright i will admit it, i found the mod a tad bit dull, after playing half life one through several times, it never brought anything to the table. So Replacing some models and some sounds from Anime may be more interesting.

I would rather this be a community development so this is why this thread exists. I want you guys to decide what anime npc model replaces what npc model ingame. Although you need to reference it with either a npc or playermodel that is already rigged in garrysmod.org or in another mod out there already! All i need to do is decompile it and apply the npc's orginal animations, it's no big deal.

I don't care much for ripping out sounds from anime games so i wouldn't mind people contributing sounds for a model replacement as barney npc sounds wouldn't work very well with the girl from lucky star... But hey this project is just to make things a tad bit whacky. It adds replay value to the mod.

Rokiahi wearing a gas mask. I have no idea what anime she is from however she seems to fit a replacement for a marine.
[img]http://puu.sh/163Ct[/img]

[IMG]http://puu.sh/164kQ[/IMG]
[IMG]http://puu.sh/164mh[/IMG]
[IMG]http://puu.sh/164lX[/IMG]
[IMG]http://puu.sh/164lw[/IMG]

[IMG]http://puu.sh/165EM[/IMG]
[IMG]http://puu.sh/165Fh[/IMG]
[IMG]http://puu.sh/165FV[/IMG]

SassuWunnu says
6 SassuWunnu

Nov 8th, 2013

No review provided

DarkZilla says
6 DarkZilla

Aug 31st, 2013

No review provided

zeroyeee says
6 zeroyeee

Apr 9th, 2013

No review provided

Monsterface says
6 Monsterface

Jan 14th, 2013

No review provided

lehighsucks says
6 lehighsucks

Jan 13th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.6

3225 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.