Run. Think. Shoot. Live. Source. Black Mesa is the Half-Life 2 total conversion of the original Half-Life game. Utilizing the Source engine and its endless array of possibilities and powers, Black Mesa will throw you into the world that started the Half-Life continuum and introduced Gordon Freeman to the world as a gun-toting, bullet-dodging Ph.D. in Theoretical Physics.

Review RSS Feed JamesTelting says
5 JamesTelting

Aug 9th, 2013 0 people agree 11 people don't

the game was good but i lost intrest quikley and they forgot to put the tentacles in the middle of "Surface Tension"

jackh902 says
5 jackh902

Sep 14th, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't

Great game, but it's only half the game. I experienced minor, but big enough for me to close the game down.

Pros -
1) Glad they sorted out On A Rail, it was so boring in Half Life 1
2) Longer than Half Life 1
3) Harder too
4) Great voice acting

Cons -
1) Wasn't worth the wait
2) It's only half a game.
3) I don't see where Eli Vance comes into it, they never mentioned him i nhalf life 1

ToxicM says
5 ToxicM

Sep 27th, 2012 1 person agrees 9 people don't

The game has been made really well, it looks amazing and the team has done an amazing job to recreate HL1 in the HL2 engine. Level of detail is really really good and the accuracy of the recreation is perfect. Though, I unfortunately must say they have wasted a lot of time, effort and tallent on remaking HL1 in HL2 over so many years. The problem is that because they remade it so close to the original game most of us have played HL1 many times as I have, and after playing for about an hour I got really bored of playing HL1 again. The effort they put into remaking it as close to the original HL1 is what makes it bad to play. Unfortunately this is a remake so close to the original that you really get bored quick if you had played this game back in 1998 and again a few times since then. I think this mod would be a lot more fun if it had been re-made into its own new way, like new weapons more dynamic playthrough, rather then going with the 10 year old static 1 path option. Not everyone will agree with me, and thats ok, but when I can predict every single thing that will happen because I played this game before a few times, then I can not really enjoy it.

DarkGeneral says
5 DarkGeneral

Sep 15th, 2012 5 people agree 17 people don't

This is it? This thing took 5 years to make? You are trying to tell me that this thing took 5 YEARS to make? Please, tell me this is some kind of a joke.
Where should I begin?
Nearly two years before the release I saw the trailer and I made a comment that the crowbar animation looked too stiff, as well as the Glock animation. After realizing that the mod was, until that point, in development for at least 3 years, I had huge doubts that this mod, even when released, was going to be anything exceptional and of incredible quality.
The animations of the Glock and the crowbar are not anywhere near high quality.
Not to mention that they didn't even had the courtesy to make a new model for the shotgun except of just retexturing the old model(At least the model of the shotgun looks similar to that of Half-life 2)
The biggest disappointment is that they haven't finished the Xen levels, which was the thing almost every fan of this mod wanted to see the most.
Final thoughts: The level design is great and so are the models for the enemies. The gameplay is great.

Still it's a huge disappointment. Anyone who doesn't suffer from nostalgia will see this.

Final score: 5.5/10

If the Xen levels are great the mod could reach 7-8/10

artem_22 says
5 artem_22

Jan 6th, 2014

No review provided

burak41 says
5 burak41

Dec 15th, 2013

No review provided

GUNNA444 says
5 GUNNA444

May 20th, 2013

No review provided

SenatorGibs says
5 SenatorGibs

Oct 28th, 2012

No review provided

thetrap says
5 thetrap

Sep 30th, 2012

No review provided

Pingas123 says
5 Pingas123

Sep 29th, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.6

3230 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.