Run. Think. Shoot. Live. Source. Black Mesa is the Half-Life 2 total conversion of the original Half-Life game. Utilizing the Source engine and its endless array of possibilities and powers, Black Mesa will throw you into the world that started the Half-Life continuum and introduced Gordon Freeman to the world as a gun-toting, bullet-dodging Ph.D. in Theoretical Physics.

Review RSS Feed HunteR4708 says
10 HunteR4708

Sep 14th, 2012 125 people agree 18 people don't

This mod is amazing! Feels like i'm playing a Valve's game, not a modification.
Now i understand what people felt like in 1998.

JonathanPL says
10 JonathanPL

Sep 15th, 2012 75 people agree 12 people don't

It is a perfect game. Sure, there's few quirks such perfectionist like me would change, but even with that, the game is simply perfect.

I never knew You could make Half-Life 1, a legend, even better. And they did. They did and made my jaw drop at least few times.

The flares, the ability to beat the **** out of the zombies with the office equipment, the amazing art, sound and maps design (they'd easily win the contest in every single mentioned aspect), THE CHARACTERS!!! the gameplay, the small things that make you ask yourself "WHY NO OTHER DEV THOUGHT OF IT? GENIUS!". All of the HL holes and flaws fixed or filled. This is what DNF should be - a legend reincarnated, that came back and kicked *** like the original.

And BMS does exactly that, even ******* better!

It puts HL2 to shame. Also, it's the best looking Source Game. It's AAA quality game, for free. And it's a Half-Life. Great, new-old Half-Life! Eh... Sadly there's no 99/10 rating.

Sadly, because this mod deserves it. It's the best SP mod I have ever played, and I played a ton of them.

Thank You SO MUCH, Black Mesa Devs, and I hope to see You working in Valve soon.

Well, off to squishing headcrabs, jumping on the crates I put on them... and shooting soldiers. A lot of soldiers. DUR DUR DURRR

Thanks once again!

mr_mister says
10 mr_mister

Sep 14th, 2012 55 people agree 10 people don't

10/10

SlayerCK2 says
10 SlayerCK2

Sep 14th, 2012 37 people agree 6 people don't

Fantastic mod. Clearly all of the waiting was worht it :)

desperation4all says
10 desperation4all

Sep 14th, 2012 33 people agree 6 people don't

after years...Awesome again !

Urby says
10 Urby

Sep 16th, 2012 28 people agree 3 people don't

What is there to say?

Rebuilding HL1 from the ground up in a modern engine is no easy task and the 7 years development time really shows throughout. Even with the early ending this just feels so complete.

I think anyone who has played it should consider this to be a free game rather than a mod. The sheer length of it, and the consistently fantastic quality throughout is nothing to be sniffed at.

10/10, 100%, Game of the Year, Game of the Decade, Best in show, Gold Medal and whatever other gaming awards you can think of.

Thank You BM Developers. :D

SinisterExaggerator says
10 SinisterExaggerator

Sep 14th, 2012 22 people agree 2 people don't

I am amazed at how un source like this mod has turned out in places i nearlly mistook it for a current generation retail game it looks like it could look better than hl2 ep 3 might. And in total shock and awe i can honnestly say this is as good as hl2 if not better certainly better level design.It follows the main areas in Hl1 without trying too look exactly the same not like a HD remake but more an adaption of Black Mesa with the not soo limited engine.The gameplay is amazing it feels like Half Life fast paced and furious. A couple of bad bits the reload animations on some of the weapons like the glock and mp5 are not very good i dont know if it was a decision to keep them like in hl1 but i feel a little more realism wouldnt go a miss. This truely has been for me the best source mod i have ever played if not mod on this site.

SonicMercenary says
10 SonicMercenary

Sep 14th, 2012 20 people agree 1 person doesn't

:D waited 3-5 years and its what i been waiting for.... ALL OF IT !!!!

Kommun1st says
10 Kommun1st

Sep 14th, 2012 31 people agree 10 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

100000\10 ВЕЛИКОЛЕПНО!

boredgunner says
10 boredgunner

Sep 14th, 2012 13 people agree 1 person doesn't

Somehow, Black Mesa exceeds expectations. It not only is accurate to even the little details, but the attention to detail exceeds the Half Life games. Keep in mind that it has a few stability problems and is not complete.

Community Rating

Average

9.6

3222 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.