A realistic adventure with a focus on puzzles and logical thinking, based in a fictional lodge. You must uncover the secrets the place holds, all the while fighting for your life in the bitter cold of the Northern Rocky Mountains...

Review RSS Feed ☣Kaernk☣ says
10 ☣Kaernk☣

Apr 28th, 2013 4 people agree 0 people don't

I think this story is amazing! The house itself is so extremly well detaild and the layout is just epic!

The story is good and for once not original, which in my opinion is a good thing. I also love the scares! There are pretty few scares, but due to the fact that the wolf can sneak by on you at anytime in more or less every room is so spooky and is keeping you on the guard during the whole gameplay more or less. I even accidently ran right on to the wolf once. He took the way at the kitchen and I didn't hear him so I ran right on him :p

I also loved your cassettes and the fact that you can combine them and listen to them how many times as you like. I also loved the puzzles! I admit, some of them are a bit hard to solve. Almost too hard. I do like challanges thought.

And I agree with the others, add subtitles. I understood mostly everything, but I know alot of people don't

Not much bad I can say about it actually. A bit hard to solve some of the puzzles and subtitles should be added. Oh, and the wolf upstairs can spawn over and over again which is pretty annyoing to be honest and the story could sometimes lagg, otherwise awesome!

10/10 - Masterpiece

chronogyros says
10 chronogyros

Feb 26th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The attention to detail in this mod was admittedly overwhelming at first, but quickly became incredibly respected and adored. Not only that, but the story was well thought out, and executed perfectly. The tapes gave cryptic and at times comical advice, always trying to steer you in multiple ways. This mod had me running in circles for hours, but I never seemed to mind. The prospect of continuing the story drove me to keep going. Props to the developer for making this polished full conversion mod a reality.

10/10 Excellent.

hypershadic88 says
10 hypershadic88

Jul 4th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Still my favorite custom story, this one actually makes you think!
the ambiance and maps are truly perfect, what made this custom story
more tense and scary was the fact that it was completely grounded in reality, it could have happened! The use of wolves as the threat was
excellent, you even went as far as to have holes in the walls here and there to show how the wolves were able to enter the building. Another thing that is a testament to your amazing dedication to the custom story was that some people may not even know about the "night" portion, you can finish the entire custom story with-out suffering from one of the falls. I played through it a second time immediately to see if you could beat it during the day, and you can!

the pros:
The voice acting was superb, probably the best I've heard.
The cassette hunt puzzle was fresh and actually made you think.
The ambiance, oh my god the ambiance, this is where Bitterwood peak truly shined.
The story was amazing, finding out the truth of what happened in the lodge, it was an adventure to say the least.

the cons:
There was but one little hindrance, as I have absolutely no musical bone in my body and am probably tone death, the puzzle with the piano was the only part I looked up how to do, while I'll admit this isn't the game's fault, the music that plays during the game should have went away when you were next to the piano, because you have a hard time hearing what to play on the piano on account of the background music overlapping the cassette's audio.

Overall, this is a truly perfect custom story, that offers an original experience that no other has. 10/10

Rueppells-Fox says
10 Rueppells-Fox

Oct 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This TC is absolutely amazing and I'm finding it very difficult to even find flaws!

The level design for each area was really intriguing and your use of the standard ATDD models (and all those custom models) was interesting and really enhanced the gameplay. I enjoyed having the interior of the house in (mostly) one main piece - it made the whole aspect feel much more realistic. It's a shame that the highest level of detail comes at the cost of optimization (I have a slow computer), but it was a very immersive and detailed game even without the extra bits!

I can't think of anything to criticize since the only things I can think of a stylistic choices and not genuine criticism (such as the method you used for time transitions - showing the gradual change in darkness might cause more anticipation fear respones). But I'm not complaining (much) since these are really minor things and they didn't have a huge effect on my enjoyment.

Overall, I'm definitely giving this a 10/10 - you definitely deserve it!

GoodGamePlayer says
10 GoodGamePlayer

May 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome! I liked especially the level design. Well done!

VeteranGhillie says
10 VeteranGhillie

May 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing, is the only way to describe this XD

Gaviao says
10 Gaviao

Apr 28th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

read my comment!

LacieR says
10 LacieR

Apr 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous. This mod really stands out in the first place in the Design category. If this would have been ~2 hours longer, I would've happily paid money for it. All the focus on the details of the environment really helped me to immerse myself as the main character. The love for creating things really was flooding out of this mo... no, this experience. Even if the majority of this game was spent in the cottage, it was well-made enough to resist the need of varying environments. And he best thing in this? There was no unnatural things! Everything was real!

And this is why this is the best mod of early 2013.

Congratulations. You deserve all this.

SovietMentality says
10 SovietMentality

Apr 26th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I always love the new design, the bunker looked so cool! But the only thing I didn't like it the freaking wolves appearing and in random places and never leaving, i sometimes had to exit and re enter the house to escape

Painfull says
10 Painfull

Apr 26th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This. is. fantastic. The level design is fabulous, the storyline is intriguing and the atmosphere is very immersing. I am not finished with this mod just yet, but I do hope that this custom story would deliver til the very end of it! Great work! PS. I hate those wolves.

Community Rating

Average

8.9

37 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.