Your name is David Leatherhoff, and you're addicted to a strange drug. Lately you have started to experience illusions, dreams picking at your deepest and darkest fears. Finally, you go to Markland Hospital, seeking help. First, however, you make a stop into the bathroom, where another bottle of pills awaits you, standing out like a beacon in the night in your depraved eyes. When will it all stop?

Review RSS Feed DaveW says
6 DaveW

Dec 29th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

It seemed to start off alright, but then I got to the first 'real' level. It became a tedious hunting game where you were constantly searching for health, ammo, or buttons to open a door which would lead you to another button.

bluewario says
6 bluewario

Nov 1st, 2010 1 person agrees 4 people don't

You asked for a review so here it is:

Brace yourselves for a ride into evil itself.

Graphics: the goldsrc engine is nicely used in this mod, IMO the graphics were probably superior to any other HL1 mod at the time. Artistically, the creatures, weapons and locations are nicely done and varied.

Sound: from the creature and weapon effects, to the ambient sounds to the music, the sound is really well designed.

Gameplay: this mod is one of the most terrifying video game experiences I have played, this is where it shines the most. The creatures, move and sound terrifying and you seem to be the only one opposing all the surrounding evil.

Story: The story is not very strong, but the fluency of the levels is very well done. Although this is the game's weak point, it compensates it with having multiple endings.

This mod is a horror masterpiece. From the graphical to sound to game-play elements, they all convey a feeling of oppression and loneliness that enhance the dark atmosphere.

6/10

Sanmei says
6 Sanmei

May 31st, 2011 2 people agree 7 people don't

This is one of those occasions when I have to wonder if I'm playing an entirely different game from everyone else. The mod begins on a promising note, surreal and unnervingly bizarre. I felt like I was playing a FPS Silent Hill and I was loving it. Then, suddenly, I was asked to turn out the lights -- and Silent Hill went away to be replaced with Resident Evil. The transition was very sudden, literally with the click of a switch, and it never seemed to regain the Silent Hill aspects I loved. Maybe that's because I didn't finish the game, but I feel like I played through enough that I should have seen a change of flavor if one were forthcoming.

To say the mod is dark is an understatement. Without your flashlight, you're completely blind, and the flashlight in this game requires batteries, which aren't common and only add about 40 seconds' worth of power. Scarcity of resources becomes a huge concern very quickly as soon as monsters show up (which happens when you turn out the lights, and did I mention that lit areas are even more rare than items?) and you discover that most of them will happily take twelve bullets to the head before going down -- and being replaced by five more just like them. They move so quickly that using your knife on more than one monster at a time is suicide, and is difficult even for just that one.

To add to the frustration, backtracking quickly becomes a recurring theme as you push a button, then search blindly for the door that may have opened. Hours into the mod, I finally gave up due to this when a button failed to have any effect whatsoever. I backtracked through the small map and looked and looked, but eventually my flashlight went dead instead.

By that point, I had tweaked the console and enabled notarget because of the monsters and was playing in hopes of finding more horror. I didn't find that, but I did find invisible monsters with a ridiculous amount of health. That made me glad I stopped playing fairly, and that's just sad.

leonu45 says
6 leonu45

Sep 21st, 2014

No review provided

dmitrimalikov75 says
6 dmitrimalikov75

Mar 7th, 2014

No review provided

baseface2 says
6 baseface2

Jan 22nd, 2014

No review provided

Nwodatek says
6 Nwodatek

Jul 27th, 2012

No review provided

Allien says
6 Allien

Jan 5th, 2012

No review provided

denchara says
6 denchara

Nov 4th, 2009

No review provided

jesusmora says
6 jesusmora

Apr 13th, 2009

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.4

649 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.