Your name is David Leatherhoff, and you're addicted to a strange drug. Lately you have started to experience illusions, dreams picking at your deepest and darkest fears. Finally, you go to Markland Hospital, seeking help. First, however, you make a stop into the bathroom, where another bottle of pills awaits you, standing out like a beacon in the night in your depraved eyes. When will it all stop?

Review RSS Feed Prowler445 says
10 Prowler445

Dec 21st, 2010 14 people agree 0 people don't

An amazing atmosphere, sounds and great enemies. It gives you the perfect feeling that your all alone, but your not at the same time.

flippedoutkyrii says
10 flippedoutkyrii

Jun 11th, 2011 7 people agree 0 people don't

Probably the scariest mod I've ever played.

Giving this a try on Halloween night back in 2007, I was gripped with fear as the tension began to build the further I progressed.

It never lit up one bit as I fought frightening monsters in claustrophobic and atmospheric, derelict levels thriving with detail and the unknown. And to this day, the woodland level has to be one of the most horrifying gaming experiences I have ever had. By the end, I remember not getting much sleep that night, and my dreams were distorted and dark.

I know now, looking back at it, that many of the scares were cheap screamers, but no other mod or game has ever managed to pull off the same scares I went through that night. Give this a try, because by the end, even the most skeptical Atheist will be Afraid of Monsters. :)

DeathReaperGrim says
10 DeathReaperGrim

Apr 18th, 2010 6 people agree 0 people don't

The best mod I have EVER played so far... different routes, different endings, awesome puzzles, startling zombies and a theme that would make my heart beat louder and faster! 10/10 is well-deserved ^_^

Alberto309 says
10 Alberto309

Dec 21st, 2010 4 people agree 0 people don't

The best mod I've ever played!

Keep up the great work with other mods!

Thumbs UP! :D

GlitchKing says
10 GlitchKing

Nov 21st, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

Great job. It was possibly the scariest game I'v played since Fatal Frame. I made it through Knott's Scary Farm with barely uttering a peep and i could barely get through 20 mins of this game without a girly scream. Thank you for creating such a scary game.

Morelianos_attacks says
10 Morelianos_attacks

Jul 20th, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

A truly scary mod for Half Life. The zombie models are simple, but are worked enough to scare anybody a little. Most of the places are dark, and you have a flashlight that works with a battery that could end; this sums points for a horror mod. The maps are spectacular, with what I think are own made textures and well accompanied with scary and good fitting music. The main thing I would like to remark is the great plot: one with a nice psycological ambience. When you get into it, can be really scary for the player but allows for a great experience. I really liked the idea of 4 different endings, and none of them are crappier in even one aspect. This is, in conclusion, an excellent mod, and must be played by every horror fan and HL fan.

bigboss233 says
10 bigboss233

Sep 1st, 2008 3 people agree 0 people don't

Simple. Horror. Perfection.

A vast improvement from the original Afraid of Monsters. Among the plethora of added content are multiple paths, different endings, new monsters, and more. All the old environments have been given a graphical overhaul along with some much welcomed new ones. Even if you've played the original to death, like I did, this is still worth a play and a half. Rumpel still finds ways to instill raw horror like no other in the industry, both mainstream and indie.

|ېĸ³|Scouter says
10 |ېĸ³|Scouter

Jul 22nd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

WoW whats not bad to say about this mod everything about it is great such as the maps, weapons, models, animations, and the story its just all great

poshgaloo says
10 poshgaloo

Jul 28th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

My favorite HL1 mod of all time. Why? CAUSE IT HAS EVERYTHING THAT A HALF LIFE 1 MOD SHOULD HAVE! Scary as hell atmosphere, fantastic level design, clear directions, never tiring, never old, and over AOM:Director's Cut is just a gem. It's the perfect Halloween mod. Though Cry of Fear is much scarier in my opinion, this one is much funner. 10/10!!! Rumpel you really know to scare the **** out of me even when I'm expecting the scares!

RedFog says
10 RedFog

May 18th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The best survival horror mod ever I played. The best is the 4 endings which is based on the player's actions. There's only one bad point which is except weapons, other models are very low-definition that spider-like creature is the worst. But, I suggest that it is not very important that this mod has a lot of complex coding. The point I like the most is getting hurt self when the player shoot the final boss very early.

Community Rating

Average

9.4

649 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.