2027 is a modification and a prequel to Deus Ex 1.

Review RSS Feed Jonas says
9 Jonas

Sep 28th, 2011 9 people agree 0 people don't

The level design is by far the best part, the levels are aesthetically consistent, impressive, and unique, and the layouts are intricate and facilitate exploration and effectiveness well. They're big without ever feeling empty, which is an excellent feat.

All of the system design tweaks and changes also worked really well, the new skill system was excellent (though Battle Training was still a bit more useless than I was hoping) and the perks were a pretty neat addition. Making the spy drone an item was a great improvement both in terms of the narrative and the gameplay, though I never made much use of it. The weapons were... well, I still suspect they were ripped out of a version of Counter-Strike, but either way they were nicely detailed, had excellent sounds, and most of all I loved the new implementation of recoil and how powerful it made the weapons feel, especially in combination with dust puffs where your bullets hit. Also loved the tweaks to the weapon mods.

Great economy, too - you actually really needed money in 2027, unlike... well unlike in any other Deus Ex mod I've ever played, as well as Deus Ex itself. Or Human Revolution, for that matter.

The only real let-down was the narrative. Really needed a proper intro to tell me who the hell I was playing as. Never really had enough time to get to know and care about the characters, so I never had any reason to like them or dislike them. The denouement in the end was cool, but it would've been cooler if I'd cared about what happened to any of the characters.

But I get the feeling the narrative wasn't a main focus during development, it seems the emphasis is primarily on the gameplay and especially the gunplay, and I can only applaud those priorities - it's a much more focused game than you expect from a Deus Ex mod, so what it does, it does really well. Completely worth the 11 hours of my life I spent playing it.

Madin says
10 Madin

Sep 25th, 2011 6 people agree 0 people don't

It's a completed Deus Ex mod.

MartinBergerDX says
10 MartinBergerDX

Dec 18th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Mod feature full and complete storyline. Much of the gameplay elements you saw in original DX are present here. There are augmentations, items, upgrades etc.

Number of skills is reduced and skills are refactored to be more useful. For example, throwing knives goes to Medicine skill. There are also perks you get based on total number of experience points.

There are items hidden in various places so looking around is recommended. Whole game is surrounded with decent ambient music which adds massively to overall effect.

As always you cant put everything in inventory so creating adequate combination of augs and equipment is essential to be able to handle any situation. You'll need area effect ordnance and defensive capabilities.

Cyborgs in this mod are real tough guys. When you shoot them you hear "clang". All enemies have greater area of detection, especially bots.

There is plenty of lockpicks and multitools around to unlock almost everything, provided you invest at least to Trained rank.

Story mechanics follows up DX. You will have several sides and you must decide whom to join in the end. It'll take you about 10 hours to finish this mod if you are detailed and thourough in you play style.

D_S says
10 D_S

Dec 9th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

2027 and The Nameless Mod are best two mods for the greatest game ever made.

St0rmified says
9 St0rmified

Sep 24th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Awsome Mod

BART1995 says
10 BART1995

Apr 25th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Офигенный мод! Прошёл уже 2 раза)))

ZwerPSF says
10 ZwerPSF

Dec 8th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Пожалуй лучший мод для одиночного похождения - большой, продуманный и с множеством нововведений.
***
Perhaps the best MOD for single adventure - big, thought over and with set of innovations.

7ty7 says
10 7ty7

Dec 3rd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This mod is the best thing to ever happen to a game. The degree of professionalsim easily equals the original. The same feeling of freedom as in the original, sometimes even more. Seriously, if you haven't tried this and you liked Deus Ex, try it out.

Peppigno says
10 Peppigno

Sep 29th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Great total conversion for Deus Ex. You MUST play this mod!

LiquidusWolf says
10 LiquidusWolf

Feb 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Probably, one of the most original DX's mod that has been made.

First I liked was the new skill points system and reorganization of it, which simplifies it but also add several new features, robotic system for example. Secondly, the new loot system, which gives a real fresh air compared to all other mods who kept old way of DX1 (Even TNM). The story is very good, I really enjoyed the fact about Magnus. And let's not forget about the omar, adding interest to the mod. The new graphics system is addicting and really adds a lot to the mood of the game.

The only flaw I found was the fact that is mod is way too short and maybe a little hard at the beginning.

Otherwise, this mod is a must for any real DX Fan. At this point, I consider it as a "Alternate past" of DX.

Community Rating

Average

9.5

82 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.