Creatures came out of what seemed to be thin air. Animated and alive. They came without a warning and swept the world ...

Review RSS Feed Nichammon says
5 Nichammon

Sep 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It didn't feel like there was a real story, like I was just thrown into a world without a rhyme or reason of what to do or where to go I got to the point of having a pistol(don't know if you'd consider that a spoiler) and I had to fight the toughest zombie with 3 poison headcrabs in a cramped room and little ammo and health. I went through that room 7 times before i just gave up all together.

ChromaticRED says
5 ChromaticRED

May 31st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is one of the prime examples of how not to design a mod. Some of the technical aspects were great, don't get me wrong. But design in all aspects, especially level design, was supremely awful. To anyone who says this was 'Valve quality work', it seems you have never bothered to play any Valve games.

SNUS says
5 SNUS

Aug 9th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I couldnt stand the gameplay, not enough ammo and really bad aim. Except that it was a good mod.

saphiraDark says
5 saphiraDark

Jun 28th, 2011 0 people agree 8 people don't

i hate the game it is good and all but this is the only hl2 mod to ever crash my computer the hole game play is good but i can't play it, IT KEEPS CRASHING MY GAY *** COMPUTER THE ONLY HL2 MOD TO EVER DO THAT im really ****** right now because of this game

GIVE ME 10 DAYS TO COOL OFF THEN I WILL GIVE LIKE 8-10 RATING

S!C says
5 S!C

Dec 3rd, 2010 1 person agrees 7 people don't

baiscally a good mod, but the extreme headbob makes me seasick and john is the most usless and anoying companion ever, he gets lost and stuck so often it is incredible

wazanator says
5 wazanator

Nov 21st, 2010 5 people agree 7 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Graphically and story wise this mod is amazing however it falls short on game play.

The autosave checkpoints often have your progress being saved in a bad moment. Examples include a dark hallway in the first level with a fast head crab running around you. Another would be latter on in the sewers when your ambushed by a lot of houndeyes with little health left and John (your cheesy AI friend) blocking the path behind you.

The developers are also quite unfair at some points where they pretty much force the player to die to learn their mistakes. An example would be in the sewers when your traveling down a straight corridor and 2 vortigaunts spawn in, one in front and one behind. This wouldn't be so bad except you have no cover and many people do not realize there is one behind them as well till its to late.

Another critique would be that the enemy AI seem to have to much health, the hound eyes in particular seem to be quite bullet resistant. One should not have to fight a group of these at start with only a pistol that does next to nothing to them (at least 1-2 clips to kill one and ammo is very scarce).

My last critique is on the flashlights. Sure its interesting and I suppose realistic that only a few of the weapons have flashlights on them but this works against the game play as I found that I never really used any other gun then the ones with flashlights and once I ran out of ammo I couldn't even switch to them forcing me to try and fight enemies while blind in dark areas.

Overall the mod is actually quite good but if your like me and don't like really challenging mods that have you dieing every 5 mins then stay clear.

Akious says
5 Akious

Dec 10th, 2013

No review provided

OffyGhost says
5 OffyGhost

Jun 19th, 2013

No review provided

vIE888 says
5 vIE888

May 26th, 2013

No review provided

modderriffic says
5 modderriffic

Apr 8th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.4

783 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.